My Advent Calendar – 2 December – Santa Parade

in #christmas5 years ago (edited)

Our spring has been a bit weird weather wise, with the temperatures up and down and more rain than you can poke a stick at. But our first two days of summer have been warm and summer like. At least until the rain started again this afternoon. But it was dry for the Santa Parade and the activities for the kids afterwards.

santa1.jpg

Before I start on the main story though, take a look at this bad boy.

lamb.jpg

Two and a half kilos of prime New Zealand lamb, hand delivered to us by that other bad boy, from Feilding, Mr @kiwiscanfly. When he came down to Wellington to pick up his new waterslides, he came that bit further to pay us a visit. Sitting round our kitchen table, we managed to get all his secrets out of him. I hope he realises he’ll have to keep us stocked up with lamb and steak to keep us quiet now. Bwa ha ha ha ha ha….

Had some for dinner - nom nom. Thanks J.T.

So back to the Santa Parade…

This is not the sort of Santa Parade most people will be accustomed too, with whiz bang floats and hundreds of people, packed ten deep. This is the Kilbirnie Santa Parade, just for our wee suburb.

So most of the paradees were on foot, the kids could get right up close to the action and see everything, and I (mostly) had nobody in front of me for taking photos.

The parade started with a police car in front, and then a highland band with bagpipes. I don’t know what it is about bagpipes, but they just get to me, and I was almost blubbing* before they even got to us. (And no, @meesterboom, not because they were awful, I like them.)
*crying like a little girl, or maybe a menopausal old lady…)

santa2.jpg

They were closely followed by the ladies of the Capital Marching club. I don’t think Marching is a very modern sport as they were all about 70. But they still had a spring in their step.

santa3.jpg

A lot of the paradees were kids from local groups – two dance schools, girl guides and scouts, a band from the high school, sports teams and more.

santa4.jpg

There were some performers from the circus school.

santa5.jpg

And a group from the Chinese Sports & Cultural Centre.

santa6.jpg

And for change of perspective, here’s a photo @frot took from our bedroom window, of the same group as they came out of the street I was in and turned the corner. You can see I didn’t have to walk far to get there.

santa7.jpg

And for another new perspective, here’s another photo he took, not zoomed in. It looks a little further in this shot, but it only takes two minutes to get there. Three if I have to wait for traffic before I can get across the road.

santa8.jpg

There was, of course, the obligatory fire engine from the local station, and later on, another vehicle with local volunteers.

santa9.jpg

And no Kilbirnie parade would be complete without the Snoopy and Woodstock ensemble, by a local architect.

santa10.jpg

Our MP (member of Parliament) was part of the parade with a mascot and a group of kids giving out lollies (candy) to the watching kids. And the three city councillors from our area also put in an appearance.

santa11.jpg

Afterwards, there were activities for the kids, including face painting, a bouncy castle (though nothing compared to @kiwiscanfly’s excellent selection), Santa’s grotto, and a group of fencers giving some littlies a chance to try it out. A swing band from Rongotai College (high school) kept the adults entertained.

All in all, a nice morning that everybody seemed to enjoy. There’s something to be said for small and intimate.

Advent-Calendar-Day2.jpg

What will my festivity for tomorrow be?

Thanks for reading and listening

Photos by me and @frot.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

I envy your warm weather right now with our winter setting in. What a lovely parade. I don’t know why but when I hear the bagpipes I get emotional, especially if they are in a marching band.

Good to know that it's not just me, and I'm in good company with you and Andy!

Bagpipes get me too - bloody things!!!! And its still raining up here - no sunshine for the last week - come on summer wheres the sun!!!

We were lucky then, with our day and a half of summer. Another 5 days of rain to look forward to, including a gale on Wednesday...

Wonderful photos of what looks to be a fun and interesting Christmas Parade @kiwdeb It is great to have you back, my kiwi cousin. I have missed you. I've also missed tucking into a prime New Zealand leg of lamb. Just as well you didn't show me images of that 'bad boy,' cooked and ready to carve. That would have been too cruel........I will have to put my order at my sister's in when we cross the creek next year.

I am looking forward to satisfying my longing for 'Home' when we place our feet on terra firma after being away for way too long. And of course, it would be great to catch up with you and Andrea again. (U & R )

I wish I could say that I didn't include pics of it cooked for that very reason. But I have to admit to not having that foresight. I just got stuck in without thinking of photos! You probably also don't want to know that we'll be enjoying leftovers for lunch all week.

I'm guessing there will be a long list of things you'll be wanting to catch up on when you're here. Hey, I wonder if we could arrange a Steemit meetup in Roto-Vegas?

You are forgiven for 'getting stuck in' without giving a thought to taking photos of that succulent, tasty and obviously delicious lamb dinner Deb. Think of me when you indulge in those leftovers (lol)

A steemit meetup in Roto-Vegas sounds great to me. I'll let you know as soon as we know what time of the year John and I will be over.

Looks like a nice day for the parade, parade weather is truly past us here, Winter is taking a grip early

I loved the snoopy and red Baron float

but the leg of lamb tortured me it is so hard to find Kiwi Lamb here

We've had a lot of rain, but have been lucky to have a few fine days too. So who knows what kind of summer it will end up being? Sorry for the torture...

Well wishing you a beautiful summer
No need for Sorry enjoy the lamb 😎

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Lol, they are awful!! Awful!!!

My friend lives in Kilbirnie. Kilbirnie, Scotland. There looks to be some differences though ;0)

Oh, I dunno, maybe not that different. It's raining in both Kilbirnie's as we speak. A difference of nearly 20 degrees in temperature though.

Yeah, and your Kilbirnie looks that wee bit more civilized too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02