My Advent Calendar – 13 Dec – Finishing the Xmas cards (and a special one just for you)

in #christmas6 years ago (edited)

Today I was keen to get the New Zealand cards mailed. These go to my elderly aunts who are mostly not online. Each year there are fewer of them, but I still have some. Then one to my sister in law’s parents, and a couple of old friends still get “real” cards.

In the end I only posted half a dozen, which makes for a short and not very interesting post.

But… there are some friends I’ve decided to send e-cards too. No, not a passing greeting on Fakebook. But a nice one, with personalised greetings. I am, of course, talking Jacquie Lawson.

lawson1.jpg

Those of you who have come across her lovely artwork will know exactly what I’m talking about, and may not need to read on. But I’m about to introduce the rest of you to her work.

Up to this year, I had received some of her cards, but never sent any. But in April, I forgot to plan ahead and send a card to Australia for my cousin’s birthday and thought “What the hell. I’ll spend the money to get a Jacquie Lawson subscription and send her a really nice e-card.”

It’s actually not at all expensive – it came to $NZ20 for a year’s subs, for as many as you like, and I’ve already sent 10 since then, excluding Christmas ones.

Her website describes her cards as “Beautiful and artistic ecards for birthdays and special occasions, with a whimsical humour which will delight everyone to whom you send them.”

Never a truer word spoken. The art is top notch, the animations are lovely and they all have a musical accompaniment.

I’ve discovered that some people hate them, so they’re not to everybody’s taste. But I find them charming.

So here’s my offer…

If you would like one, post a comment, then message me in Discord with your email address and I’ll choose one I think you’ll like.

Advent-Calendar-Day13.jpg

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class
Day 4 – Last minute book buying
Day 5 – Last choir rehearsal for the year
Day 6 – Choosing gifts for the Xmas game
Day 7 – Xmas lunch with my exercise class
Day 8 – Xmas spiced nuts
Day 9 – Xmas tree time
Day 10 – Last arthritis class for the year, and a sugar free brownie recipe
Day 11 – A choir performance
Day 12 – Taking marinated chicken wings to the choir Xmas party

More Xmas planning tomorrow…

Thanks for reading

Top image from Jacquie’s website.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

That is a beautiful card and beautiful offer. I actually never contacted you on discord yet^^

My name is the same there, so should be easy to find me :-)

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Who hates them? Give me their names and I'll send them one of my cards!

Thanks. Happy holidays to you too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67241.85
ETH 3492.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68