My Advent Calendar – 19 Dec – Gingerbread men for Paleo, keto or other special diets

in #christmas5 years ago

This post from @redheadpei reminded me that I haven’t made gingerbread men for a few years. So I felt inspired to have another go and see if I could make them keto friendly. This recipe uses almond flour and can be adapted for other special diets.

gingerbread0.jpg

Aren’t these gingerbread men lovely in their cute decorations? Yeah well, those are not mine, those are from Pixabay…

If you’ve been following me for a while, you may have noticed that my area of, ahem, expertise is making recipes for special diets into something yummy. My skills in the areas of decorating, presentation and photography are weak at best. Nobody’s ever going to make one of my recipes and be disappointed cos theirs doesn’t look as good. It’s all about the taste! So let’s get stuck in.

Ingredients

• 2.5 cups (280gm) almond flour
• ¼ tsp sea salt
• ½ tsp baking soda
• 1 tsp cinnamon
• 2 tsp ginger powder
• 1/8 tsp ground cloves
• ½ cup sweetener of choice – I used lakanto to make it keto, but use whatever works for your diet plan – brown sugar or honey would work, or maple syrup
• 1 egg
• ¼ cup / 2 oz / 55g butter, melted - or coconut oil works too)
• 1 tsp vanilla extract - I didn’t have any, so used ½ tsp vanilla powder instead)

In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. In a smaller bowl, mix together the wet ingredients. Stir wet ingredients into dry, until it all clumps together. If it doesn’t quite bind together add a tiny bit of water, a drop at a time, till it does. It should look roughly like this.

gingerbread1.jpg

Shape into a rough log, wrap in baking paper and chill for 1-2 hours.

gingerbread2.jpg

Roll out, between two pieces of baking paper, to about ¼ inch / ½ cm thick. Then use your cookie cutter to cut out shapes. You will need to be very careful as the dough doesn’t hold together well, being without gluten. Use a spatula to carefully lift your shapes off the baking paper and onto your lined oven tray.

Then gather up the left over bits, reshape into a new ball, and roll out again. I rolled out about 3 times, then got bored. So what was left got made into balls and flattened. These weren’t at all pretty, so no photos of those! But here’s what one of the trays looked like before baking. I used a few sugar free chocolate bits to decorate some, and some cut up dried strawberries on others.

gingerbread3.jpg

Bake for 10 to 12 mins at 350F / 175C. Don’t try and move them off the tray till they’re quite cool, by which time they will be a bit more sturdy. Here’s some of the cooked ones.

gingerbread4.jpg

For a keto dessert, I’d probably serve them with some whipped or clotted cream. If you’re not as low carb as that, feel free to decorate with whatever you fancy.

Enjoy!

I have no idea what tomorrow’s activity will be, so we will all be surprised…

Advent-Calendar-Day19.jpg

Day 1 – Carol singing with the NZ Symphony Orchestra
Day 2 – Kilbirnie Santa Parade
Day 3 – Posting overseas Xmas cards & a Xmas themed exercise class
Day 4 – Last minute book buying
Day 5 – Last choir rehearsal for the year
Day 6 – Choosing gifts for the Xmas game
Day 7 – Xmas lunch with my exercise class
Day 8 – Xmas spiced nuts
Day 9 – Xmas tree time
Day 10 – Last arthritis class for the year, and a sugar free brownie recipe
Day 11 – A choir performance
Day 12 – Taking marinated chicken wings to the choir Xmas party
Day 13 – The NZ local xmas cards & some e-cards
Day 14 – Planning the Xmas menus and best dessert ever
Day 15 – Making gluten & sugar free Xmas cakes
Day 16 – Xmas dinner with the Possums
Day 17 – Cranberry smoothie & other nourishing Festive breakfasts
Day 18 – Green Eggs & Ham

Thanks for reading

Top pic from Pixabay, rest by me.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

So glad you made the gingerbread men, Deb. They look delicious and are inspiring me to put the kettle on and have one of mine with a cuppa tea. U&R

I keep meaning to ask - what does U&R mean? (I hope I'm not going to look like an idiot, asking that)

It’s short for Upvoted and Resteemed. 😊

Ahhhh - of course! I knew it would be dead simple once I was told! Thanks for your support :-)

How come they are "all" smiling :-) :-(

proxy.duckduckgo.jpg

Because they are full of the joys of life, having no idea what is in store for them! Or maybe it's because my cookie cutter has sticky-outy bits to make indents...

They look so cute I havent had a gingerbread man for ages but these look so tempting and tasty

Which bit would you bite off first ;-)

I guess depends on my mood if grumpy the head of course if in a good mood maybe the feet

Your recipes are great! Gingerbread men are more fun playing with than actually eating them... I did that as a kid!
Looking forward to your surprise recipe tomorrow.
Regards always!

Ha ha, I can just see you with a gingerbread army marching down the table and having battles!

Hahahahaha... I guess am guilty!
Regards always.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

They look pretty good except for the one with no face - that ones kinda weird and he will be forever hungry :D

Yeah my cookie cutter sometimes didn't go quite as deep as others. But the sad one was the ones whose legs fell off when I was trying to get the cutter back off again...

Lol legless men!!! It's what we all need hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44