30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Thirty: The Silence Before The Crypto-Storm

Today is the last day of the 30 days writing challenge of this fall. Congratulations to all who joined and finished (or just tried, you're much better off than someone who never even tried something like this)!

For me, the challenge paid off. I started it as a tool to maintain my mental clarity during the move, and it worked. As I write this last article, I realize what a diverse concoction of topics, words and styles that was. But then again, so was my actual life during this amazing last 30 days.

Things are settling down, though, so I decided to pick, for my last entry, a topic that should be a lot more familiar both for the platform itself, and for my followers here: crypto-economics. Precisely, trading analysis. Or, simply put, price.

I've been following closely the price of crypto-assets for the last few months, even though I stopped posted daily market snapshots. I'm well aware of the fact that Bitcoin is the new stablecoin and that STEEM is on a descending channel. There are a few pieces of information that shows we're approaching a "tipping point". Something's gotta give.

But, to be honest, it's not very clear on which direction the balance will tilt.

The low volatility of Bitcoin, the sideways trading of the entire market, the delay in ETF approvals, as well as the highly touted Bakkt launch, in December, are all symptoms of a sudden move. But in which direction?

It's easy to get biased and hope for a bull run. Especially after a year long bear market.

But a bull run is not a given. As Bitcoin's price gets more and more squeezed into a tight band of a couple of hundreds dollars just above $6,000, the pressure on the market increases. The mere fact that we're not seeing neither bulls, nor bears, forming a clear pattern, keeps both options on the table.

So, to make a long story short, I believe we're very close to a consistent market shift. Less than 30 days, I'd say, which means that this Christmas we're going to have a lot of crypto-news.

Scenario 1 - the bears take the lead

If $6,000 is broken, that will probably lead to a massive sell-off. All traders who kept their precious Bitcoin for the entire year, betting on the $6,000 resistance level to hold, may get into panic selling and that may push the price below $4,000. At this level, I guess the overall interest in the crypto market will shrink dramatically and the mere loss of volume and interest will generate another year long bear market.

In this scenario, STEEM will trade between $0.5 and $0.3, probably close to the $0.3.

Scenario 2 - the bulls take the lead

If, somehow, Bitcoin's price will go above $7,500 (which is, in my opinion, the only relevant resistance for a bull run), then we may see $8,500 on the charts before Christmas. The bull run will trigger another FOMO which will propel the price beyond $20,000 in less than 6 months.

In this scenario, STEEM will trade within the $4 - $6 corridor, probably closer to $6.

What are they key events for each scenario?

For the bears to take control I guess tighter regulation, including another postponing of ETFs, along with more FUD about "bad crypto money" may tilt the balance.

For the bulls to take control, Bakkt impact, including huge exposure in media and relevant increase in usage and liquidity, may pave the way.

Time will tell. And by time, I really mean that we're less than 30 days away from a major market event.

That's it, that was my 30 days writing challenge. Starting tomorrow, will be back to my regular crypto articles routine, thanks again to all who followed and commented.

Steem on!


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I think that the crypto markets have strong manipulators and that they are actually pushing prices up or down and not news that much. On a smalk percentage new have also an impact but overall I think that cords are pulled from behind the curtain. It's interesting to see what will happen the next two days as the total market cap will be close to what it was last year on the same time when it started going up strong. Fingers crossed for the long awaited bull run.

Congratulations on completing another 30 days challenge :) I'm very curious if things will shake up in the following month

Good post number 30. Its been fun following your move. I've also enjoyed participating, once I do today's post it will be 30/30. I think my follower's are ready for something new ha ha. I fear a big drop in Steem. Entry barriers associated with hardfork were exactly the wrong thing at the wrong time. But on as a practical level, Steem will likely just follow the crypto market.

Did not manage to write this time but was nice to see your landing while reading your daily post.

Are you excited about the Price of Steem?? Should I load up on as much as i can get @dragosroua or do you suspect we will have lower lows? I foresee Steemit being much higher in price, but thats just my perspective.
1541933725491.jpg

Like I said, I'm neither excited, nor sad about it, I just think it's poised to move very fast in the next 30 days. In which direction, that I don't know...

... all quiet on the crypto front

everything has its end and this time it came to the challenge that you promoted.
I participated several days however the occupations of daily life made it impossible for me to follow their rhythm.
Thanks for the support!!

Excellent analysis.
Only time will tell. Hope for the best.
Enjoyed reading all your posts over the last 30 days.
Thank you @dragosroua
Hope you continue posting similar posts

I hope of all things that we enters into a bull run.
As for the challenge, I thought you said you'll share some price for those who followed. What happened?.
And please be kind enough to we the commentators too, a small prize would do a Thanksgiving.

Gracias.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, with an #analysis like this, I just #expect the #worse. So that, if it gets #better i will be way cool and if it doesn't, I will be okay still. Thank you for this #info and that's how the 30 days challenge ended! I enjoy #reading and #commenting your #post. No lies!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64