30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Twelve: Riding The Wave Of Change

I started this challenge with no fixed topic, the only requirement being to write every day.

I confess I started it because I knew it will help with the move. For those of you who are not following for long, I decided to move to another country (Spain) and, knowing how stressful this entire process may be, I decided to write every day, just to keep myself accountable.

So far it works. I wrote every day and I feel grounded and lucid. Pretty much everything that was planned was done and, in the last couple of days, I felt like I was starting to breathe. Things seem to be gently falling into their designated places.

I can't believe we're in Spain only for 12 days. It feels like we're here for months. So much stuff happened, in such a short amount of time.

And one of the most exciting things happened today: I ran again.

For the last few months I switched running with yoga. Meaning I didn't run for more than 100 days. Don't get me wrong, yoga did wonders for my body and my health and I'm 100% signed up, so to speak, but I really missed running.

So today I did a short 3km run on the beach, with the friend who's hosting us until we can move in our rented apartment. The weather was great, not too cold, not too hot, the sand wasn't too humid, but not too dry either, just enough to put some small problems, and the sea was really calm. I didn't feel tired at all, on the contrary, I felt energized and light.

After the run I did my usual 8km walk to the coffee shop, took a little desayuno, a cup of cofee, some tostada con mantequia and an aguacate sandwich, and then started my work day in coffee shop in Ruzafa.

Change happens all the time. It's only that our brains are wired in such a way that we're craving continuity and predictability. We're afraid of change, actually, exactly because it happens without us being in control.

But the moment we realize change happens anyway, managing it becomes much easier.

It's like the difference between trying to resist to a wave, and riding that wave. When you resist, you spend energy and you'll be defeated anyway. But when you ride the wave, you're moving forward and, if you're careful enough, you can see the world from atop.

For a few months, I was on top of the yoga wave, and that was ok. Today, I started to ride the wave of running again, and it just felt natural.

What waves are you riding these days? And what waves are you resisting to?


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Yoga and running- excellent
I wonder and amazed how you drag time out. Must be excellent in time management.
I paid for gym membership and not been for few weeks now. Should get back asap.
Thanks for sharing. This is inspiring

Writing about your daily routine can be interesting. it gives others the chance to know about you more. Good work.

its always nice when you come back to something you love, and find its still there for you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16