30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Fourteen: Sunday Stillness

Sometimes Sundays seem so still. Silence slowly surrounds secluded sights, seldom surrendering. Serendipity surges. Seconds simply stop.

Apart from the fact that all the words in the above paragraph are starting with the letter "S" - which, I assure you, was on purpose - that subtle feeling that I tried to describe is real. I know you've been there, and not only once.

Sunday is for sitting still. For stopping activities, thinking, doing and just be there.

When I was younger, I didn't like that. The constant need to spend my energy made me hate Sundays, days that people just wasted - in my humble opinion.

Later on, when I became an entrepreneur, I always took advantage of Sundays, but not for resting. Nope, I was escaping into Sundays to do even more work. Now, that everybody was on a full day break, I was finally getting the silence required to work more, and more, and then even more.

For years, this made me feel good about myself.

But then I realized that being is topping doing anytime. And that being, or just allowing yourself to exist, without goals, without deadlines, without productivity tricks, was way more difficult than doing. As counterintuitive as it gets, yes, sitting still was harder than crunching task after task after task.

And so, my relationship with Sundays changed drastically.

I now try to respond to this stillness proposition. I try to accept the pause. I try to internalize that any rhythm needs a pause between its beats. Otherwise there won't be any rhythm at all, just a continuous noise.

Even in the Steem blockchain, there is a 3 seconds pause between every block.

Enjoy your Sundays, folks.


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I especially love the calm of a rainy autumn Sunday as today.

Sunday Stillness. Excellent. Day 14. Good post @dragosroua

actually every person has its own way of thinking and have different opinions we all need a best day for good rest without that we wont get fresh enough

We all need to rest.
I take this on Sunday. Do mostly nothing.
There eere days when i used to work but not any more.
The longer it lasts, the better

For Lot of us sunday means funday But if you have a big dream then you have to work hard even more. So have fun in your own way.

Sundays are so calm and peaceful, people are resting and more if you live in a town like me, you have to enjoy Sundays and stay at home watching some movie

I’m on my way to Italy again so for me the Sunday is done 😂😂
Enjoy the rest of the Sunday

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @dragosroua! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97