30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Seven: Sand Castles

When I first saw a traditional Tibetan buddhist mandala I was mesmerized. The precision, the craft, the color choice and the hidden symbolism, all that put me in a state of awe. Also, the hypnotizing moves of the monks creating them, by delicately putting together colored dust, in a long (and probably painful) process, was just as fascinating. It was hard to believe that such a beautiful thing was made only by putting together colored sand on a flat surface.

Later on, I saw a documentary about the making - and the destroying of them. Because, as I was about to find out, all those beautiful things were reduced to just plain dust, seconds after they were finished. Completely. It was part of the entire process: after a mandala was considered complete, then the flat surface on top of which it was created was simply erased.

I didn't know that. I was convinced, for years, that those mandalas were somehow preserved or otherwise kept in a safe place, but no. They were destroyed, and then a new mandala was started.

Impermanence is a central theme in Buddhism and the creation and destruction of mandalas is just a training in accepting that nothing lasts forever. Whatever you start, it will end. And whatever ends, will make room for something new to start.

For some reason, I remembered those mandalas while looking at this beautiful sand castle on the beach today.


IMG_1719.JPG


We are still expecting some rain - not as hard as the "gota fria", but still - so that castle will soon be destroyed too.

Just like those mandalas, tomorrow, the guy who built it, will start another one from scratch.


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

It really is quite fascinating to think so much effort and finesse goes into it only to be destroyed. Strikes a hard and deep lesson, nothing indeed lasts forever

Interesting about Mandalas.
Impermanence as you mentioned is the essence of buddhism.
Thants whay they taught when I went to vipassana meditation. Needs lots of practice to realise this and get enlightened.

Nice post @dragosroua. Impermanence is powerful concept to help us in this materialistic world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32