30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Three: Pushing Things To Happen Versus Letting Them Happen "Through" You

6 years ago I founded "Open Connect", a pitching project with an entrepreneurial twist. It was a weekly meeting (every Thursday), usually in a Starbucks, in which people had 4 slots of 1 minute each, to present a product, an idea, a promotion, or just to say something interesting about their lives.

The whole project started as an experiment, without any expectations. In time, it evolved in a community with more than 5,000 members (at its peak), with branded events in 4 other cities and with a continuous streak of 4 and a half years.

4 and a half years in which I was MC-ing every Thursday a 3 hours long event. At times, it was intense. As the project grew, I felt more and more overwhelmed and I started to spend more and more energy with it.

I remember that, at some point, I was really tired after such an event. A friend, called Florin, came to me and said, after watching me carefully:

-- I see you're tired.

-- Well, I think it's normal, I've been doing this for more than 3 years now, every Thursday, I replied.

-- I know that, but even if you do this every day, you shouldn't be tired. I think you are pushing things to happen, instead of letting them happen "through" you.

I confess I didn't understand at that time what he meant by that. But I did my best to follow his suggestion and to practice detachment. Because that's how I interpreted the "letting things happening through you" approach: be detached and trust the outcome.

And here's where it gets interesting...

A couple of days ago we landed in the new city where we decided to move, me and my girlfriend. We didn't have anything planned out, other than a short stay at an Airbnb, during which we intended to see as many apartments as possible. We did our best to leave behind everything that we didn't need and we left the country with just two trolleys.

We were gently strolling them towards the airport exit when I heard a voice:

-- Welcome to Valencia!

I look behind and, to my surprise, I see one of the entrepreneurs who used to come at Open Connect (and later on at Connect Hub, the coworking place built on top of that community).

-- Hi, Patrick (not his real name, but you got the idea). What are you doing here? I asked, bewildered.
-- Well, I live here, he smiled.
-- Since when?
-- Two months now.

To make a long story short, I reconnected with Patrick, he invited us to lunch the next day, recommended a lot of key people in the city (from legal to real estate), and that made the entire beginning of our new adventure way smoother.

And that's when I finally understood what Florin meant by "letting things happening through you".

There is a subtle balance in the Universe that we can't perceive, let aside influence. We may push hard, we may do everything we can, we may give everything we got and still, things may not happen as we want them to happen.

Sometimes all we have to do is to step aside and let these subtle forces work without any obstruction. Just let the flow of events unfold, without expectations, without worries, without pressure.

And if our current "checks and balances" with the Universe are in good order, then we will experience a fluid existence, one in which things are just happening, exactly as they should and exactly as we need them to happen.

And all is left for us is to enjoy them.


This post is part of a 30 days writing challenge I'm doing between October 15th and November 15th. Read all the details here and if you want to join, use the hashtag #challenge30days. I will upvote at 100% 3 posts each day.

Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Happy to hear you met someone known to help with your relocation.

I feel that I learned something important today! I'm one of the people that strive for perfection (is limited areas, as I don't have opinion on areas that don't matter me) and in that strive I try to "push things to happen"

This is sad yet true...

We may push hard, we may do everything we can, we may give everything we got and still, things may not happen as we want them to happen.

Now, I hope that I take a wise look on things before starting them. It's wise/better to let things happen without interfering.

Very well written @dragosroua
Glad to hear things settled quickly for you.
May be thats why they say world is small

Great challenge, great idea.

Awesome way to start in your new city! and well written Day 3 :)

... doar ca a trecut data de 15 Octombrie iar eu eram in turneu, studio ... dar nu conteaza ... faina initiativa @dragosroua

Sedere faina sa ai acolo unde esti acum. Numai bine

https://musicoin.org/nav/artist/0x52d244ce64e458b3ed0775603e582b19ff644feb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32