30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Six: Revisiting The Harry Potter Trees In Turia

One of the places that fascinated us when we first visited Valencia, 6 months ago, was a small group of strange trees in the Turia park. They had a bizarre trunk, swollen at the bottom and thinner at the top, a lot of thorns and curiously shaped leaves.

They looked straight from a Harry Potter movie set. Hence, we called them "the Harry Potter trees".

Today we revisited that place, in a short walk after lunch. That's how the small forrest looked like:


IMG_1899.JPG


It was the same and yet, we had a different feeling.

The park was almost empty (probably because of the soccer game between Valencia FC and Leganos, probably because there was siesta time, or probably because in the autumn there are simply less people in the town). The sun was shining in an unexpected clear sky window, after a night filled with "gota fria" sessions. The grass under the trees was humid, but not too much, almost like dew drops on the morning.

We sat down on the grass for a few minutes and soaked in the sun.

Last time we saw it, this place was part of the "remote and exotic places" category, as opposed to the "places we can see all the time" category.

Now it felt familiar. We knew we can just take a 10 minutes walk if we want to stay there again. It was part of our proximity, part of our immediate story.

I wish I had something more clever to end this article with, but I don't.

I'm just dumbly fascinated by how we can make places we saw only a couple of times feel like "home".

Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Great challenge so far keep up guys

They are odd trees huh?

I know what you mean about strange places close to home. I took a wrong turn while out on a run a while ago and discovered cool stuff just around the corner from my house.

It just goes to show, you don't have to get on a jet and fly around the world to go on an adventure of discovery. And then make that discovery your own territory. ;-)

Home is a state of mind :)

how we can make places we saw only a couple of times feel like "home".

What a nice summary of the entire experience.

ammm nice challenge

Glad you are close to ‘ far and exotic’ places 😊

Are you doing an autumn challenge? that I like nature

Visiting places where there are trees, animals makes you feel right at home

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28