30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Twenty Seven: A Time Of Introspection (Yes, It's Actually My Birthday)

This 27th day of the 30 days writing challenge that I'm almost finishing is a special one. Not because it's the 27th day, there's nothing special about this, but because today is my birthday: I'm turning 48.

Every year, on my birthday, I try to do this exercise: I try to remember what was my life like about a year ago, then about five years ago, then ten years ago. I try to go into as much details as I can and then stay silent for a while, letting it sinking in.

Then I imagine how my life will be in one year, in five years and in ten years. I'm almost always wrong in these projections, being either too optimistic, or too pessimistic. That's why I won't disclose anything about my (potential) future.

But I will try to share a bit about my past.

10 years ago

  • I just sold my first company and was trying to enjoy the life in the suburbs (a villa, a nice car, mowing the lawn, etc)
  • I started to travel around the world and had my first thoughts about becoming a digital nomad

5 years ago

  • I was already a published author, and living way cheaper than 10 years ago, because I had to move out from that house and drastically change my circle of friends, habits and living standards
  • I learned Argentine tango and that was the beginning of a very positive change in my personal life

1 year ago

  • I was deep into crypto projects (STEEM being one of them)
  • I was getting out of debt after my latest business failed, and decided to move abroad

And right now I'm writing this from a new city, in which I moved just 3 weeks ago.

I think the morale is that you never know what's going to happen. You may build high hopes, you may project audacious goals, but in the end we have very little control over what's happening to us. The only part that we have control over is how we react to what's happening to us.

I'm trying to focus on that part now, knowing that, whatever happens, if I have a balanced inside, the outside will, eventually, follow.

Steem on!


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Congratulations my friend! And remember that one year ago you run 47 km to celebrate your 47th bday 😜 ...go to Valencia old river and have a run there!

Thanks but I'm out of shape. Focused too much on the move and left running behind. Planning to restart training now, that things are falling gently into their places. So no 48 km run for me this time. Will make it up for the next birthday :)

Of course! Enjoy the rest of the day!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy Birthday!. Hope you had a great day in your new city

Thanks, we already had a very nice and cosy anniversary :)

Nice post.
Happy Birthday!

Are you settled in your new hometown yet?

Happy birthday Dragos! Very interesting exercise, I will try it!

Happy birth day youngster, may you have many more and may they all be happy.
It appears that I'm two decades older than you are come January.
Imagine that.

Thanks a lot, many happy returns for you too, master :)

you're welcome qwasshoppah.

Happy belated birthday Dragosroua its been awesome actually following your blog and updates. Yes thats how life is, we may never know how it will turn out. I wish you brighter and more fulfilling years to come. Happy Birthday again, where is the cake?

Thanks a lot, no cake for now, but, in my defense, we had pizza yesterday evening :)

All the best for you!
I very much like your birthday meditation! Better than to ignore that special day or to become sentimental.

Wishing you the happiest of birthdays, @dragosroua! 🎂

Happy birth day

Happy 27th... ha ha day of the challenge. Great post. Balance inside is all that matters. Even if it doesn't seem to be reflected on the outside...yet. Happy Birthday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26