30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Nineteen: The Surprising Benefits Of Gratitude

We're not always getting what we want.

But, most of the time, we're getting what we need. The "problem" is that what we need is almost always coated with a rather bitter layer, that makes us unhappy.

Let me explain.

Like many of you know, I've been an entrepreneur for almost 18 years. Unfortunately, my last business, a co-working space, failed abruptly (well, failure is part of the game, so to speak). The "technical" reasons of the failure are not relevant now, what matters is that, after the business went down, I realized I had a consistent amount of debt.

For a while, all my bank accounts were frozen and I started to pay off, month by month, to cover the losses.

After about a year, I paid off all my debt and my bank accounts were finally unfrozen.

During that year, I was really frustrated. At times, I was even victimizing myself. Not being able to use my bank accounts was making me feel insecure and bitter.

But at the same time, the fact that I wasn't able to use my bank accounts made me look for alternatives.

And that's how I got into crypto.

When I realized what a beautiful thing this whole universe is, I went full monty on it, so to speak. I read tons of white papers, I tested code, I got involved with projects (STEEM is obviously one of them) and, slowly, I became an early adopter.

As you can see, what I wanted was to keep using an obsolete, centralized money transfer system, but what I actually needed, was to learn about a new way to generate, spend and transfer money. All that frustration was the coating that I had to consume until I got to the core. And oh, the core was so sweet and healthy...

And here's where the gratitude comes in. I'm not upset about the failure. I'm not frustrated that I went into debt (as a matter of fact I'm really happy that I paid it back, to the last cent). To be honest, I'm grateful that all this happened.

Because if it wasn't for this failure, if it wasn't for my inability to use banks, I would never learned about crypto, let aside get involved so much with it.

We're not always getting what we want.

But, most of the time, we're getting what we need.

Let's stop, every once in a while, and think about it, while keeping a subtle, but constant gratitude feeling.


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Sometimes being suddenly pushed out of your comfort zone makes you realize there are other great paths out there. Struggling shakes your thinking and forces you to look for alternatives usually leading to new different and fascinating challenges which would have never been here otherwise.

Great Day 19 post. Thanks for sharing this with us. I think attitude is everything. Some people are bitter and resentful. Some are thankful and grateful. Often times their experiences are the same or similar, only their outlook on life is different. Steem On! @dragosroua

Thanks for sharing this @dragonsroua... realizing that failure is a catalyst and maybe life's way of hinting at alternatives can be contagious.

that was an enjoyable read, and thanks for the reminder to be grateful..feel as if I can never have too many:)

Thanks, glad you resonated with it :)

Lessons from life
Thanks for sharing and reminding

@dragosroua Yea, its a fact that one wants never ends. Man keeps wanting . In every situation we pass through, it is an experience that molds us to be better in life! Thank you for this piece. My gratitude for giving what I need.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @dragosroua, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much that you are providing information to the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94