30 Days Challenge Fall 2018 - Day Ten: The Power And Toxicity Of Lists

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

5 ways to wash your dishes.
7 less known tips to make your dog happier.
10 unexpected food benefits of avocado.

Lists.

They're everywhere.

They'e the secret sauce of the internet, the sugar in the donut, the juice in the steak and the sting in the wine. And, like all these things, if abused, lists we'll make you feel high and, at the same time, nauseous.

My first big hit as a blogger was a list: 100 Ways To Live A Better Life. It happened almost 10 years ago, when all you needed to get viral was mention on reddit and when digg was making the rules of the game. Out of curiosity, does somebody here even remembers digg? Well, I thought so.

After the success of my first post, I wrote a sequel, 100 Ways To Screw Up Your Life which was also a success, but not as big as the first one. Just 10,000 impressions in the first 24 hours, as opposed to 25,000.

Both posts served as a foundation for my first two books, which are still available on Amazon if you're curious, and which were also translated in Farsi and Korean. And actually printed and published by a Korean publishing house. And actually sold a few thousands copies. Well, those were the days.

Anyways.

The thing is that, during the last 10 years I kinda grew a love and hate relationship with lists. On one side, my blog benefited big time from them, but on the other side, I kinda felt that seeing the world through a "lists-only" lens was making a huge disservice to this wonderful collective hallucination we're calling "reality".

Somewhere in between I can digest them. I can see both the benefits of the disadvantages.

And what better way to go through those than, well, a list?

So, let's see the benefits, first:

1. Quick to digest

Lists are usually bite sized chinks of text, which are giving the reader the impression that the time required to go through the whole content is shorter. And time is a very expensive commodity.

2. The illusion of order

A list will always give this impression of order, because our brains use categorization as one of the primary tools for making sense of the world. So a list will give us the impression of "order in the chaos".

3. The illusion of control

Lists are making it easier to localize ourselves in the current information flow. We're at point 3 and number 4 should come after this. And this "localization" gives us the illusion of controlling the environment.

And now, the disadvantages.

1. They're abused

Because of the above mentioned qualities, lists proliferated way more than I would like to see them around. They're pretty much everywhere and, just like sugar, they give you an illusory high, followed most of the time by a low.

2. They're deceiving (most of the time)

Putting together some pieces of information in a numbered way is much simpler than doing thorough research and crafting beautiful sentences, and yet, we tend to think that people writing lists are smarter. In my experience, that's not always the case.

3. They're limiting

Because we get so addicted to this type of content, we miss out on other, more complex and educative types of content. It's like we're getting a digest of the reality, instead of the full package. And that's limiting.

So, do you have a list to share? Care to write one? About any topic your want.

I'd be curious to look over it.


Previous posts in the challenge:

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Now that tons of new tokens our joining the market from EOS blockchain maybe we need a useful token list and a useless one :)

Hello @dragosroua, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Great lists about lists lol. Impressive set of books on Amazon. I didn't know that about you. Now I am intimidated to continue the writing challenge. Not really but I am impressed @dragosroua

Thanks for the nice words, appreciated :) By all means, do not feel intimidated!

I've been reading a lot of history recently ( just to relax in a constructive way and as a new foundation for the blog when I get back to writing ) so here is an idea: Top 5 Roman Forts in Dacia.

How about "10 most important battles in world history"?

I bet you will find tons of those on the internet

Yup, but challenge is to do a list, not a new list. It can be always unique.

Nice! Another great task to get started writing.
Thanks a lot for sharing!

Oof. I totally missed the first 10 days. It's okay. I'll keep a look out for topics I want to write about in the near future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28