Book review, with a musical bonus – Alex Bledsoe’s Tufa novels.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bookreview7 years ago

I love my tablet. So much so that when it started playing up, I bought another one pre-emptively. So now I have two tablets and they both get used!

But handy as they are, I don’t get an engrossed in a book in the same way as with an actual book. So recently I’ve started going to the library again. I read really fast, so I go through too many to buy them.

The other good thing about the library is just wandering around picking books up at random. You find things you’d probably never come across looking online.

That’s how I came across Alex Bledsoe.

doll-1921810_640.jpg

What if, once upon a time, the head woodsman of the Queen of the fairies did something so unforgivable that she banished him?

What if she sent him and all his kin to the Appalachian mountains, long before any mortals were there?

What if they were still there in the 20th century, keeping to themselves, and nobody knew who they really were?

What if they were known as the Tufa, but their heritage was a mystery?

What if they still retained some of their abilities, including a somewhat fluid relationship with time, the ability to fly and immense musical talent?

Talent so huge that each and every one of them could have had massive careers in the outside world, but only at a price.

Are you intrigued yet?

If so, you have to read these novels:

• The Hum and The Shiver
• Wisp of a Thing
• Long Black Curl
• Chapel of Ease

THE-HUM-AND-THE-SHIVER.jpg

I’m not going to give away any more; I’ve probably given away too much already. But after I read the first one, the next week I was back at the library looking for more. I’m on my way to the library to grab the last one today.

And then I’m keen to get onto his other series:

• Eddie Lacrosse
• Memphis Vampires
• Firefly Witch

Check out his website for more on the other books and to download the first chapter of “The Hum and The Shiver”

Musical Bonus

This is the band Tuatha Dea performing a number inspired by “The Hum and The Shiver”

Thanks for reading

Pic 1 from Pixabay, 2 from Alex Bledsoe’s website, video from Youtube.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Some of my previous ENTERTAINMENT posts:

Benefits of joining a community choir ~ Wearable Arts Award Show ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976 ~ Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983 ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988 ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994 ~ If crying in movies was an Olympic sport ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001 ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 2001 to 2007 ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 2008 to 2014 ~ Remembering those who passed away in 2016 ~ 60 years of my favourite music – some randoms ~ 60 years of my favourite music – more randoms ~ 60 years of my favourite music – Kiwi classics ~ My fiction-trail competition 1 entry – Time to buy a Purple Hat ~ My fiction-trail competition 2 entry – The Broken Man ~ My choir singing on the streets of Wellington ~ Voices from the Front – a story of Gallipoli ~ RIP Kiwi comedian John Clarke aka Fred Dagg ~ Some New Zealand music ~ Pumpkin pie story contest entry ~ 60 years of music - Musicals I’ve been in

Sort:  

That's a very intriguing teaser! I wish that I would have the same sort of following if I ever get published haha! I really envy your ability to read quickly, my friend. I feel a bit hampered by my sluggish reading ability that it often affects my productivity in terms of going through stuff on a deadline.

There are pluses and minuses of reading fast. If I were to be an editor, I might read too quickly to pick up on everything I need to. And each book comes to an end so soon!

But, if you're an editor, you can re-read the story a bunch of times to see if you missed anything. You can re-read a story 5 times at the same rate an average person takes to finish it once.

Oops, I thought I was 3 days behind in answering my comments, but it's 5!! How did that happen? True, re the reading 5 times. Though I realise I actually mean I could be a proof reader. Being a good editor needs quite different skills.

Ahhh, magic... anew author to enjoy. Will purchase on my Kindle... but still have to murder my way through 'Blockchain Revolution'...I am sooooooo farking tech'ed out.
Edit: Oh yeah, you should try and claim some commission for the traffic you are sending his way {grin}

Blockchain Revolution sounds more like hard work than enjoyment! Maybe swap between the worthy book and something a little lighter???? Mmm, commission...

Oh my gad.

I should maybe clarify these are not pretty "fairies at the bottom of the garden" stories. They are gritty and interesting dramas, with a lot of edge of the seat stuff.

Thank you for the clarification !

You good girl :) thanks

I've heard of Alex Bledsoe before but have never read any of his books. I may have to add him to my growing reading list. I do love a good fantasy that almost makes you forget it's not real.

There is still a good dose of gritty human, um I mean fae, nature in them, so they feel like they could be real.

Yup, it sounds like it's right up my alley then! Thank you for the review and the recommendation.

I live in the Appalachian mountains so you've got me intrigued. I also enjoy fantasy genres. I'll be looking this one up. Thanks for the review.

Yes, I thought this might be your cuppa tea, in more ways than one. Enjoy!

@kiwideb
Nice Job!
Keep the good work up!
Thanks for sharing

Thanks. I've just been looking at your blog and you have some interesting posts there too.

cool!

Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51