NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #48 - Google Seems to Know Me too Well

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Notes From an Amateur Writer #48

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story form, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.

This is post 17 in @dragosroua's January 30 day writing challenge.



Google Seems to Know Me too Well

enter image description here

I thought I would check out what would happen when I did a search for Notes From an Amateur Writer in Google. I hadn't ever tested Google out before on any thing specific to my own writing blog, so I was curious. Now I know that people wouldn't be putting that term into Google, as it is very specific, and if they knew it they probably also knew my website here at Steemit. But like I said, I was curious.

The above screenshot was taken when I tested it out yesterday. The first two that show up are from my page. Well that was a good sign that someone else didn't have more sway with Google when it came to the name of my main blog. There were more from my own blog further down the page also. But it was the third suggestion on the list that had my attention.

What was Google trying to say about me, and my writing style? Notes on Writing Weird Fiction, really? Thanks Google. But then again, weird is good. I like weird.

Turns out the link goes to an essay that was written by H. P. Lovecraft back in the 30's, so my false sense of feeling insulted diminished even quicker after that. Maybe this was my six degrees of separation with a truly famous and inventive author.

Notes on Writing Weird Fiction - should any one be interested.

The End of the World - This is my favourite weird piece of writing that I have written.



Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Links to earlier works

- Fiction

My Fiction Writing Collection
Writing Myself Out of Existence
When the Levee Breaks

- Blog Posts

Notes #1 - #39 - Notes From An Amateur Writer Collection
Notes #40 - Read, Write, and Face the Future
Notes #41 - What Are Some Of Your Favourite Books?
Notes #42 - Website Review: Fiction University
Notes #43 - Seeking a Community Of Writers
Notes #44 - What Are Some of Your Favourite Characters?
Notes #45 - When Madness Came Knocking
Notes #46 - Why Do I Write?

-Ramble On (Humour based travel blog)

Introducing My New Travel Blog
Making a Deal With the Devil

-Poetry

My Poetry Collection



Sort:  

I've searched for my name once or twice before as well. No shame in that. The End of the World was a top favorite of mine for a while but it was usurped by a string of other stories you did. That's the thing about putting out quality work every time, you're only going to overtake your previous ones. I think that's the dream for us, writers, no?

I've Googled my name, but it's such a common name that I don't exists in Google's eyes. But at least my blog does. Google has awareness of it, therefore it is one step up from non-existence, lol.

My writing did improve over the last six months. And that was in that batch. But I do like the story for its uniqueness in terms of what I consider my usual style. But yes, the dream is to keep improving, absolutely.

Improvement is something that feels never ending. Being the best at something only cause complacency.

I agree. Always strive to improve.

Front page results are always nice! And it doesn't hurt to be associated with Lovecraft.

I don't think google likes me very much. I managed to find a couple of posts from my website on the first page if I googled the exact title (which no one will ever do), but most of them are a ways down the list.

I see a glimmer of hope, though. I just googled my name and found myself halfway down the 4th page! Previously I didn't show up until page 6. Ah, the joys of sharing a name with someone famous.

Btw, if I might indulge in a moment of shameless self-promotion: I posted a short story yesterday which hasn't gotten enough attention. Since I know you have a lot of followers who like to read fiction, I thought I would post the link here.

I would also be grateful if you would pop over and take a look, and maybe even resteem if you think it's worthy. Here it is: https://steemit.com/fiction/@shawndove/hidden-forever-a-short-story

I don't write a lot of short fiction, but I might be persuaded to try it more often if there's an audience for it here.

Front page, but on a very specific wording. I don't show up for my own name. It's very common. But it least for my blog name it knows who I am. And yours has shown improvement, from page 6 to 4. It's not easy, but that is a climb up the Google ladder.

Thanks for letting me know about your short story. I do try to scan through my feed everyday, but I seem to miss some posts unfortunately. I'd be happy to read it and let you know what I think. Also I may as well mention it here because I think it is relevant - I am starting a writing and reading based curation post that I will put out once per week. I know there are lots of people posting their 'favourite' posts etc, but none that are specific to our niche area.

So it will be posts like your story that I will be looking for to help share. So do keep writing. Starting out at Steemit is a hard slog. It still is now, but yes, the audience has improved for me.

It must be incredibly difficult to keep up when following so many people. I'm only following 68 people so far and already I'm getting a bit overwhelmed. Sometimes I skip past things by accident, or just don't have the time to read everything that I want to. Well, I could read them all, but I'd rather miss a few and take the time to leave comments on the ones I like.

A writing and reading based curation post sounds awesome. I am looking forward to that!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Really nice, I like this post of yours.
By that, you are very important now.
You should check it out with more of your posts.

Yes, Google knows me, even if it's just a little bit. Still, it is better than nothing. Thanks for your comment.

I can live with that :)

Neat! You’re building a brand around a phrase. Google results can be funny, since of course google knows it’s you searching and I belueve the search algorithms account for that. You might try a few more tests, like using a different search utility or using an incognito window and see if it gets you the same results. (Or have someone else try the search and report what they get. Want me to?)

Yes, I was hoping Google would recognise the blog name, but wasn't completely certain I had it to myself though. To be on first page multiple times was good. But again, one would have to know the title of the blog. Most searches wouldn't go down that path.

I hadn't thought of the fact that Google could have given me the third one, and it could have been different if someone else did the search. Still, it confirms they think I'm weird, or into weird, lol. Not far from the truth really.

Yes, go for it. Let me know what you get.

I get the same results as you do, in both Chrome and IE. So yup! If anyone enters that keyword string, they find your Steemit posts. I also tried it by removing "notes from", and then your posts did not come up. So I think you own that phrase, @naquoya!

Okay, so isn't just me then. That would have been deflating! So now that Google recognises the name, seems like a good time to build the brand. And all I can think of to do that is to write, write, and write some more. I think I can manage that. Thanks for helping me out with some research.

My pleasure! And I concur. Write, write, write! Plus, you're good at it. That makes all the difference.

I went back and read Part One & Two. You know I like weird, and it didn't disappoint. I loved this line: ...office folks locked themselves up for crimes they never committed

Thanks for taking the time to reread that story. I did the same also after reading your comment. I did like that line, and was really pleased with it when I wrote it. Thank you for noticing it.

Google already edits/wants to correct everything I tell it, so maybe it was sending you a message too!!!

You can never be completely sure, can you? Trying to tell me something, that's for sure.

Everything is from the Universe!

^~

Mysterious way :)

Thank you so much for this nice post .

Weird is amazing! it can catch up reader's attention.. Thanks @naquoya for your writings :)

Weird is good in my book. Glad you agree :)

@naquoya i have contest right now about mind games i have riddles and if u can answer it all and explained it well you can win up to 10sbd.. I know you are good at it because you are a writer . you can also support it if you want thank you so much

I'll take a look.

Its my pleasure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52