You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #53 - Finding the Right Character For the Job

in #writing6 years ago

Oh man, I love your character selection process. Mine involves me picking blindly and shaping the story based on the characters, most of the time. I can't believe how you're candidly telling the characters your story. Aren't you afraid that they're going to steal your ideas and run away with it?? As your self-appointed legal counsel, I advice you to only divulge arcs that is pertinent to the character you're interviewing.

I was half-expecting that you would take Connor's ideas then turn him down, since the character has evolved in a way that it's not befitting him anymore haha!

Sort:  

There were several directions that I could take this in. But ultimately I wanted to show how knowing your character intensely helps determine the quality of the material itself. I guess it was a metaphor of the author writing the character and thinking deeply on who he really is.

As for the legal protection - I thank thee for looking out for me. Next story I write that involves a criminal I will call you first. Can't be too careful.

Oh for sure. That totally translated well here. I really like how you explored the idea, as with all your other writing.

I'd tell you to not trust anyone because I could very well be said criminal. But, trust me. Trust me completely.

You sound like the voice of reason, so I will trust you. Trust you to keep helping and supporting :)

Oh you can definitely trust me with those two things! That's what a Lead Naquer does! It's literally in the job title.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51