Notes From an Amateur Writer #42 - Website Review: Fiction University

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

enter image description here



Notes From an Amateur Writer #42
WEBSITE REVIEW: FICTION UNIVERSITY

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story form, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. This is my attempt to help coalesce my writing ideas and knowledge into usable form. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.

This is post 7 in @dragosroua's January 30 day writing challenge.



Website Review: Fiction University

I read Janice Hardy's book Understanding Show, Don't Tell (And Really Getting it) last year, and made a blog post on it at the time. I was impressed by the book and felt that it assisted me on the key writing topic of show, don't tell really well. A book I would like to go back to again and soak up the information at yet a deeper layer and follow up with a more specific book review.

I mention this book because today I am sharing Janice's blog site which I have looked at many times and believe it could be a useful resource for other emerging writers.

She calls her website Fiction University, and it contains many articles of use to an author's further education.

Sections include:

  • Planning Your Novel
  • Writing Your Novel
  • Common Writing Problems
  • Editing Your Novel
  • Selling Your Novel
  • The Writing Life
  • Regular Columns

To show writers ways to build a solid foundation for their writing. To provide tips and advice they could take right from these articles and apply directly to their work in progress. I wouldn't just say "show, don't tell" -- I'd give clear examples and advice on how to do that, so every writer could bring the story they wanted to write to life. - Janice Hardy

There are plenty of very good writing websites out there, but I have found this one to be an accessible one, written by knowledgeable fellow writers who are passing on their expertise in a way that I believe many other budding writers could benefit from.

As can be seen from the list of topics above, the website breaks the writing process down into its important sections. Each of these includes many articles that go into more details, and are written by experienced and published authors, including Janice Hardy.

I highly recommend this website, and wouldn't be surprised if it does become a regular to check up on as you learn the art and craft of fiction writing with all that that entails.



Images from unsplash.com and used with permission.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Links to earlier works

My Fiction Writing Collection

Notes From An Amateur Writer Collection

My Poetry Collection



Sort:  

Definitely worth checking out! I took a look at the recent ones and it's something I'm interested in doing a deep dive on. Always great to improve one's craft! Thanks for sharing it, mate!

I've been meaning to spend more time there. I think it can be useful. Another resource for people to consider.

This looks like a really great resource.

Thank you!

It really is a useful resource. One of the ones that i'm glad I stumbled upon. Hope it helps.

It’s always good to get another’s point of view. The greatest help for my poetry has come by posting in critique forums, of course there are good ones and bad ones. My favorite is The Waters Poetry Forum.

Yes, there are good and bad, and it's not always easy to know where to look, so recommendations always help. Such as yours here. Critiquing assistance is a big part of developing as a writer. Thanks for the comment.

Good recommendation, thanks!
I browsed through the site and I particularly like the idea of 'writing prompt Sundays'. That's good for amateur writers like me who could use a little writing boost weekly.

Getting great writing prompts is a very useful tool. It pays to have access to lots, then you have a better chance to find ones that really grab you. If it helps you to put pen to paper (or cyber equivalent) then that is always a good thing.
Glad you liked it.

I am not so much a writer but trying to improve so thanks for sharing this and I have bookmarked the site for future reference

You're welcome. You never know when some of these websites may come in handy. Thanks for the visit.

I need to save this post for when I write my first book ;) lol

At least you'll know where to turn when you do. Look forward to your masterpiece :)

great post @naquoya
I love writing.

What sort of things do you like writing?

This post has received gratitude of 0.48 % from @appreciator thanks to: @naquoya.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54