Let's Start 2018 With A Bang: Join Me In A 30 Days Writing Challenge During January

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I cannot think of a better time to hone your writing and networking skills: STEEM is up 15 times year to year, from $0.17 to $2.7, SMTs are just around the corner and the crypto frenzy is just starting.

So I thought: what better way to hone your skills than a good ol' 30 days challenge?

The Tl/DR (too long, didn't read) version

Starting January first, I will write each day an article on a topic that I'm curious about, and about what I'm currently learning. I will tag these posts with #challenge30days and I will also monitor this tag. If you join me in this challenge, and if you tag your post with the same tag, #challenge30days, then I will include your post in a daily list about each day posts.

I will also select every day 3 posts and upsteem them at full power. My voting power at the moment of writing, based on the current price of STEEM, is about $2.8 (but that may have to be multiplied by $3, don't ask why), so it may be around 5 bucks each day. You may choose to keep it, power up and wait to buy a lambo with it, or you can just have your Starbucks coffee today, it's up to you.

The key word sequence here is: "write every day".

The extended version

I am big fan of 30 days challenges. When I joined Steemit, in October 2016, after my "Introduce yourself" post, I decided to continue with a 30 days challenge, right off the bat. It seemed to be the most effective way to test the suitability of the platform. I'm very glad I did it, because it gave me time to understand the various inner workings of this technology jewel and also calibrated my expectations.

The topic that I'm going to write about is market analysis and trading. I've been dipping my toes in it for the last few weeks, but I feel the need to make it in a more assumed way.

Now, I am not a trader, nor a market analyst. But I'm not a noob either. I've been doing FOREX trading for half a year and got out of it with both my testicles intact (without losing money, that is, but also without making any profit). After this experience I wrote a post on my blog summarizing my lessons, called 12 Things I Learned By Being A Forex Trader and that post is still visited a few dozens of times per day even now, 5 years after I wrote it.

When I started Forex, I took a few online classes about trading and I also read quite a few books on technical analysis (candlestick patterns, price action, from morning start to head and shoulders) so I know the basic concepts.

But it seems to me cryptocurrency is very different from regular pair trading in Forex. The transparency level (information about supply. inflation /deflation, etc), the technical details (minting via PoW, PoS, etc) all this makes the entire thing simpler and more complicated at the same time. So I will commit myself to write for 30 days at least one article per day on this topic, in order to brush up my trading and market analysis skill, and also to create some healthy habits.

So, you may choose your topic as you see fit. It may be something that you've always been passionate about, like drawing or cooking, or it may be something that you just started to learn.

The idea is to create the habit of writing about it constantly.

If you want to let me know about your assignment, you can also leave a comment to my post of the day, including a link to your post: this way chances to overlook it are significantly lower.

The first post will be on January 1st, so make sure you'll be up to it from the very beginning. The last post will be on January 30th, and on January 31st I will write, as usual, my conclusions about it.

Get ready :)


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

I am in. I want to start the new year off with a bang! Wish it started on the 2nd though lol

Welcome! Even the fact that it starts on the 1st is a test in and by itself :)

Your not wrong. I think I will write mine tomorrow and post on the first

Hahaah! Good one!

Just today, I was thinking of finding a contest and participate so that I can keep writing without any blogger blocks. I know from previous experience that you have done it before and I have participated before as well. This time, I have a chance to do it for 30 days. Great test of consistency.

Resteeming for more participation.

I am going to participate actively, so count me in. My reminder is set.

Screenshot_20171231-003701.png

Thanks

Count me in! :)
Since i started steemit, i really got curious and very much interested in the world of cryptocurrency, and for sure this will be my topic on this 30 day challenge. I have a lot of content on my hands, especially on my noobish cryptofailures. ;)

Welcome and good luck! :)

Must the writings be cryptocurrency? I am lookinh at other niche.

I think is going to be more of learning to the smarts who care than a mere contest. As a crypto trader, I believe in what i will learn from your posts

I assume your challenge I hope to live up to your excellent articles.

Welcome aboard :)

I'm in. It's just the right 'productive stress' I need to get some content development done. Something I've been thinking of for a while. Let the games begin!

That sounds awesome I will try to do that... usually i have been writing on topics each day, but around the holidays I've just been posting random blips. TY ! Resteemed

Thanks and welcome aboard :)

Fuck YEAH, I'm in :D !!!!

Did I get you right, you mean everyone should focus on ONE particular topic?

The idea is to write on a topic which is of interest to you. And write every day about it. Welcome :)

Nice :) I'm going to contemplate over a topic right now. ;)

This is a challenge I can dig. It's not going to be easy but consistency is the key. Count me in

Welcome aboard :)

great contest...love it...
@upvoted AND RESTEEM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54