You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes #23 - It Is Sometimes An Appropriate Response To Reality To Go Insane

in #writing7 years ago

I totally get what you mean, brother. If one wants to be considered as an individual, there has to be sacrifices with regard to fitting in with the tribal mentality that society has forced upon us. This is coming from someone who has had trouble fitting into groups.

It's so great to hear that you're continuing this series. You really do a nice job honing your craft, and all of the work you put into it shows in your work. You've been hitting everything out of the park, and it's no small feat. All of that could be traced back to those extra miles you take.

Sort:  

I have always had a strange relationship with groups. I was brought up in a very strict/dominant one. That is where it all started for me. Then I just noticed that they are everywhere, and the relish the opportunity to diminish the individual. So yes this highly influences my writing, and my interests in general. I'm not surprised to read that you have had similar experiences. Creative types can struggle with this I think. Creativity is an expression of the individual will, or soul, or heart. Whatever it is, it is the person's, not the group's.

Whilst I no longer have a strict timeline, nor do I feel the need to 'have' to write, I certainly will if I feel inspired. And I think I have learned to look around and notice more, so inspiration is more easily obtained. But we'll see what happens.

I guess that's why I struggle to maintain a stable footing in a group is because I yearn for that individuality. It simply doesn't want to be tied down, I guess.

It's great that you took that away from the challenge. I'm hoping to learn some lessons as well when I follow your example and go down the same path, mate.

I think you're right. To me the individual is the life blood of what's real. Of what is worth pursuing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51