Blood on the Moon - serialised EXCLUSIVE for Steemit! - 29

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


Blood On The Moon Cover

Amazon link

My third novel was finished and published in time for Halloween and I had a launch at Waterstone's at Sheffield.

The full book cover, done by the wonderful, talented, brilliant Paul Mudie

Other Images from Pixabay or Google (Free Usage)


Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part 13, Part 14, Part 15, Part 16, Part 17, Part 18, Part 19, Part 20, Part 21, Part 22, Part 23, Part 24, Part 25, Part 26, Part 27, Part 28

Chapter 7

Red went into town the following evening. She knew where friends and acquaintances of Darius liked to hang out and since his club, SlaughterHouse had been closed down, there really was only one venue worth visiting.

The Late Lounge was a sublimely fashionable club; it was select and classy, unlike the majority of the other clubs in the town which catered to the less discerning drinking public. Where the other clubs sold alcohol hand-over-fist at bargain-booze prices almost, The Late Lounge sold Cristal and fine whisky to shrewd and sensitive palates and the restaurant downstairs was always full.

Though it was not necessary to entice people up to the club, the restaurant had a policy of complimentary free entry for selected and regular clientele. Red headed right to the restaurant.

The maître d' saw her as she arrived and smiled in greeting. “A table for two madam?” He asked. But his smile slipped a little as she shook her head and told him, “Just for one please.”

The smile returned as she passed him a note as his tip when he seated her at a good table, close enough to the bar to ensure speedy service and far enough away so that she was not disturbed by loud conversation.

Red ate her meal in peace and watched the room from her vantage point. She was tucked out of the way just enough so that she could see who arrived and left but was not immediately obvious to anyone not looking for her.

By the time she got to her coffee, she had seen a few Wolves that she had hoped to and a couple of others that she had not expected to see. The club upstairs was beginning to get lively and the music, though muted, was audible as the restaurant emptied and the ambient sounds diminished.

Red was not the last to leave and the maître d' was still attentive and he asked if she would care to be shown upstairs to the club. There was a door marked ‘Private’ and he opened it and waved her past the receptionist who smiled and nodded as she went up the stairs to The Late Lounge.

It was as though she had been wrapped in a blanket of sound. The music was louder as she climbed the stairs up to the club. She assumed that the acoustics were designed around the bend in the staircase because as she rounded the corner to make the last steps, that’s when the sound altered and it enveloped her.

She had wondered if her dress, a long and simple, but elegant cotton jersey gown was too dressy for the club but she found that she fitted right in. The ‘beautiful people’ were dressed in a wide and varied array of colours, fabrics and styles, but all were fashionable, classy, elegant and most importantly, the ‘In Crowd’.

The youthful and also beautiful members of staff were attentive and polite and when the owner appeared at the DJ box, to cheers and toasts from patrons around the room, she was surprised at how young he was. He worked the room well and it was obvious that the venue was not the only draw – one of the main attractions was the host and his own brand of entertainment.

Red sat at the bar and sipped her drink. She was mildly surprised when her elbow was nudged and the barman handed her a refill. “That is from the lady at the end of the bar.” He said, nodding towards a tall blonde woman who was standing with a group.

Red thanked him and raised her glass to the woman who nodded once and smiled. Red had no clue as to who she was, or if she had ever seen her before and from the distance, with other Wolf and not-Wolf milling around, she couldn’t get a fix on whether she was or wasn’t Wolf.

Red turned back to watch the dance floor.

“You’re Luke’s wife, aren’t you?” The woman had come to talk.

Red looked at her to see if she could gauge her angle and because she didn’t see any spark of jealousy or guile, she decided to answer. “Yes.”

“Is he here with you?”

“No, he’s away on business.” Red said and it was almost the truth.

“So while the cat’s away...”

Red smiled then, a sweet and amused turn of her lips and she looked at the woman. “Yes, something like that.”

“I’m Etienne, I’m pleased to meet you at last, Red.” She held out her hand to Red and she shook it and held it for a moment as she got the feel of the woman. She was definitely Wolf and not malicious – or not yet.

“How do you know Luke, Etienne?”

Sort:  

great post. Seems very undervalued to me. Thats why I 100% upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you, appreciated.

Each time i read your stories, i always feel like i'm in it, watching every scene.. Totally captivating..

Wonderful! That's always what I hope for when I'm writing, that the reader can 'see' what I 'see' in my mind.

The other woman?

You know me better than that... I won't tell ;)

Well, you can't blame for trying...

Great fiction story, I really enjoy reading it! Please also find some time to check out my “To the Flower of Eternity” story.

Thank you for reading. I can't give individual critique, however, sorry :)

So, maybe Red is not to sure about Etienne - "She was definitely Wolf and not malicious – or not yet." - Some one to get close to and see what her motive is. It is strange she knew Red and Reds Husband (Luke), but Red does not seem to know or remember her. I wonder what is going on. I think Lord Grey is setting her up.

Red is always on edge, she has many reasons to wonder whether a Wolf is out for revenge and has to be wary.

perhaps you could consider print it and sell it as a book?

UK
USA

My first book was printed in 2010. I shared it on Steemit last year :)

Enjoyed reading it. Following you now. :)

why donvote you to give me, what is wrong with my comments,
you have to be a little professional ,,,
I know who works behind blocktrades and I know all,
apvote blocksctrades most of my friends, and their articles all copy paste from google ,,,
it's all fake
@michelle.gent
if I am wrong I do not want you donvote -1%,
but please donvote-100%,
but if power is not wrong you have to take responsibility

I gave you my advice on how to earn my vote. You were disrespectful in your response to my advice.

I worked full-time for two years on writing my first book. I then shared it here, on Steemit and gained a good following. I produce good, original fiction and share it, which is why I get upvoted.

You arrive here on Steemit, post copied content and you expect me to reward you for that.

You expect me to upvote you, but you don't post anything of your own, original work. I would rather find the person that wrote the article you stole and give THEM the upvote.

You may as well stop following me now. Mute my account so you'll never have to read my work again.

I'll be doing the same. I'm not interested in people that come to Steemit.com and are not interested in giving anything to this community, but want to take as much as possible.

I won't be upvoting you - ever and I won't be able to see your response, because I'm muting you.

by hating me
maybe today you are very happy,
but have you ever been hated by others ,,
hope you are happy ,,
maybe you are proud of your article, I know who blocktrades and I have never seen anyone interested in your article,
there are many other articles that are better than your article,
blocktrades, michelle.gent, two users and one player

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87