Blood on the Moon - serialised EXCLUSIVE for Steemit! - 17

in #writing7 years ago


Blood On The Moon Cover

Amazon link

My third novel was finished and published in time for Halloween and I had a launch at Waterstone's at Sheffield.

The full book cover, done by the wonderful, talented, brilliant Paul Mudie

Other Images from Pixabay or Google (Free Usage)


Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part14

Part 15

Part 16


Ch1 Jessica (Rabbit) has entered the Lion’s Den – Wolf’s Den – of her own accord and is neck-deep in her greatest desire (Be careful what you wish for).

Ch2 Red is speaking to a Wolf she knew from long ago and has been astonished once by his revelation.

Ch3 Jessica is in over her head, no other human in sight and is bouncing from one encounter to the next - including in the dream-state.


“Introductions then,” Falco said. “Jessica this lady is Selene. She will be your mentor, your guide and tutor until you are deemed fit to run with us unaccompanied.”

Selene nodded politely but said nothing.

“Selene will teach you our ways and our First Laws. She will help you to find your path amongst Wolf and Hume and she will teach you many things about us, many fantastic things. I will not drone on, but I will leave her to dress you appropriately for dinner. I expect to see you soon.”

With that short speech, he gave a slight nod to Selene and left the room.

Selene sat on the only chair, beside the window.

Jessica sat herself on the bed and waited.

Eventually, Selene spoke. “Falco is your sponsor. I am your mentor. You shall be allowed to live here for as long as you are learning. After that, you must negotiate with Falco or find other lodgings.”

“I have my own house, couldn’t I go back there?” Jessica was puzzled.

“Not for the time being. Depending on how well you do at your studies and also where your house is situated, we may go and stay there from time to time, but not on a permanent basis.”

“How long do you think my studies will take?”

“Before you are experienced enough to be let loose on your own?”

“Yes.”

“It could be a few months, but it could take years - although I don’t anticipate you being that slow. There is something about you, Rabbit.”

“So you will come with me to fetch my clothes then?”

“They are already here, or at least some are. That is what was taking Paul so long last night. He fetched them. I have had a look through and there are a few nice things, but not many that are suitable for the dinner this evening. That being the case, I shall lend you something of mine. Get dressed; the dressing room is through that door. When you are dressed, I shall come back for you. Don’t be long.”

Selene left the room and Jessica investigated the dressing room.

She was no sooner dressed than Selene knocked on the door again. Jessica opened it and Selene turned and walked along the corridor. It was obvious that she expected Jessica to follow.

Just a few steps down the hall, Selene stopped and opened a door, and then she stepped back in order to allow Jessica to enter.

The room was probably the same size as the bedroom she had slept in, but without the dressing room and bathroom partitions, it looked larger. It was decorated in subtle style, comfortable and elegant. Jessica was quite astounded when she remembered that there was actually a bar beneath them.

“Now we shall begin your lessons.”

“Is there any chance of food? I haven’t eaten in hours.”

“Yes, it is being prepared; we shall eat in a few minutes. First, are there any questions that spring to mind immediately?”

After a moment’s thought, Jessica asked, “What will I be learning?”

“Numerous skills, Rabbit. I shall teach you how to rejuvenate, how to grow strong - even stronger than you can imagine. I shall teach you how to cleanse your body of any sickness - although you will most likely never become ill. Under my wing, you shall become a creature of myth and legend and more so. The stories of werewolves don’t even come close to what we actually are.”

As Selene spoke, she became more animated; obviously she loved her subject and enjoyed lecturing on it.

“If you learn well, you will never know old age and infirmity. You will never become ill; sickness and diseases will be shaken off without you even knowing symptoms. Not even the modern and devastating blood diseases can touch us.” Again she paused but this time she listened intently.

Jessica sat and watched. Selene stood and crossed to the door and she opened it for the man bearing a tray of food.

When they were alone again, Selene continued. “You will also learn to harness, accentuate, and moreover, appreciate your five senses. As you saw, I heard him a long time before you did. My eyesight is also far beyond yours. Night time is our friend. It conceals us when we are hunting and as we make our escape. Our sense of smell too is more than you could imagine, we have not lost touch with our senses over the centuries, and we have not made the effort to evolve our natural abilities away. We have kept in touch with them and use all of them to help us in our daily existence. To touch as a Wolf brings great pleasure also. You have such a treat in store, I am almost jealous of you. Our skin is vibrant; the feel of the very air as we walk naked is an almost orgasmic experience if you concentrate.”

Selene closed her eyes as though experiencing the very thing that she was describing. It really did make Jessica want to try it right at that very moment too.

“And last but certainly not least, our sense of taste. The difference between Hume and Wolf taste sensations are indescribable. The flavour just of plain food is glorious and it never wanes. The exquisite taste of fresh blood on my palate is enough to make me salivate at the merest thought of it.”

Sort:  

we have not lost touch with our senses over the centuries,

I love that line. We have lost much, and it is storytellers like you that remind us of what once was, and can be. Your stories have so many of these little gems, I love em.

Thank you for noticing them. I smile when I see the things I put in, sometimes. Just a little snippet of wisdom here than there :)

Thanks for your work @michelle.gent Followed...

Wow you sure do have a lot of works here on Steemit!

This is the first one I have read in this series....

I may just go into this series from the beginning!

SteemOn!

Steeming ON!

Thanks @quinneaker, yeah, I have a thing for writing. I seem to have settled into this 'more productive than I've ever been' phase and I'm loving it.

Thanks for reading and I do hope you'll let me know if you read from the beginning :)

Wow more productive than ever!!!

Thats what I like to hear! My favorite game is PRODUCTIVITY been that way for about 9 years now!

Productive play is what I ike to call it and thats why Steemit is the only social media I have ever gotten into. I can "play" while also still being productive.

Now my "play" has led to speaking at SteemFest and significant financing!

Great to hear your Steeming On and loving it!

Looking forward to meeting you and having a productively fantastic time at SteemFest!!!

Haha! I'm so pleased you're enjoying this Steem-powered ride too!

I've been on a few social media platforms and to compare them is doing a great disservice to Steemit.com because there really is NO comparison. They just don't hold a candle to Steemit.com.

I think I'm productive and then I look at what you're doing with your community projects, feeding thousands of people at a time and then the guys developing Steemit behind the scenes... mind = blown!

I'll keep doing what I'm doing, because it's enjoyable and I think I'm getting good at it now, and I'll admire you guys from afar.

Good work! See you soon! Steemin ON!

Yes I am and I am also pleased you are too!!!

Yay =)>

Yes nothing compares and I totally agree Steemit is DA SHIT!

You are doing very well here, producing quality content and getting really high value support. Congrats on that its quite productive ;-)>

Yes I am doing quite a lot. I have a LOT of responsibility and MANY projects going on while simultaneously taking care of SOO many people.

If it wast my purpose and true vision then I couldn't do it, I literally "work" 12-16 hours a day mostly 7 sometimes 6 days a week. I find great purpose and fulfillment and it keeps me going.

Grateful to get to know you here and looking forward to meeting you in the flesh at SteemFest2!!!

Well, you know what they say, find something you're passionate about as a job and you'll never 'work' a day in your life :)

It certainly looks like you've done just that. Kudos to you :)

Can't wait! See you soon!

Yes indeed!

Well said!

Full Steem Ahead!

Congratulations @michelle.gent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @michelle.gent, im steemit writer and developer. Please support me. Best regards.

How about you put those extreme copy and paste skills away and create good content instead?

I just started on steem but i'm really surprised as to how rewarding it can be for creativity. Really nice write!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74