Blood on the Moon - serialised EXCLUSIVE for Steemit! - 11

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


Blood On The Moon Cover

Amazon link

My third novel was finished and published in time for Halloween and I had a launch at Waterstone's at Sheffield.

The full book cover, done by the wonderful, talented, brilliant Paul Mudie

Other Images from Pixabay or Google (Free Usage)


Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10


Ch1 Jessica (Rabbit) has entered the Lion’s Den – Wolf’s Den – of her own accord and is neck-deep in her greatest desire (Be careful what you wish for).

Ch2 Red is speaking to a Wolf she knew from long ago and has been astonished once by his revelation.


The blinds moved very slightly, an almost imperceptible movement that would have been missed or dismissed as imagination if she did not know that she was being spied upon. But why would a Hume be spying on her? She kept herself to herself, she spoke to the neighbours in the same polite and cheerful manner, but only in passing and she did not get into gossip or conversations with any of them.

Why was that man so particularly interested?

Red’s paranoia was on full alert as she entered the house and just before she turned on the light, she went back to the door, opened it and... There! She caught him as he brushed the blinds aside to get a better view.

She stood on the doorstep and waved.

The blinds swished back into place and she laughed. It was amusing for the time-being but it was also something else that she had to keep an eye on. It wouldn’t do for him to be spying on her, especially if he had been around earlier as she was dispatching Ryan Colwick.

Chapter 3

As Paul left the room, Jessica hastily snatched up her coat and followed him. He seemed somehow despondent as she skulked behind him.

“Paul?”

“What?” He barked at her.

“Am I being a nuisance to you?”

“Actually, yes you are. I don’t know what I expected when I bought you here tonight, but I did think that it would all be over by now, whatever the outcome.”

“Oh, cheers for that,” she said sulkily.

He turned back to her. “Hey never mind Rabbit, you’re still alive for now and that’s gotta be good. You did throw a bit of a surprise into the ring back there though.”

“When?”

“When you took your coat off and squared up to Falco, then threatened to take as many as you could with you.”

He laughed in genuine humour.

“I don’t think he was expecting that, which is why he asked if you’d brought weapons.”

He continued walking and Jessica followed again.

“But it’s a good thing that you don’t have any. He’d have killed you there and then if you had.” He said with a sinister edge to his tone.

“Oh,” was all she could say.

“I must say, it took a hell of a lot of guts to stand up to him. You’ve earned a bit of respect at least.”

He stopped and looked at her again. He seemed to be appraising her.

“I didn’t think much of you when I first met you. You were hanging around with that group of sluts.”

“My friends, you mean?” she said, and her tone matched his previous one.

“Hah! They’re not real friends. They have no loyalty for each other. I’ve been through all of them, they’re all easy and not one of them was worth a second go.”

“I thought you only went with Ellie?”

“No. She must have given me a really good review because they all came sniffing round in their turn. All except for you, Rabbit.”

He looked away from her, as though he could hear something that she couldn’t and he frowned. He ignored whatever it was and looked back to her. “And yet you were the one that was most fascinated by me. Don’t you fancy me Rabbit?”

“I’m not just fascinated by you; it’s all of your kind. But you were the first that I noticed, I must admit and no, I don’t fancy you.”

Jessica also looked up the corridor in the same direction as he had, but couldn’t hear anything.

At the last door, Paul stopped; he reached down to take hold of her hand. She realised that he was anxious about something and that he wouldn’t tell her what it was. He looked back down the corridor and Jessica followed his gaze.

The creepy man from before came around the corner that they had just turned and they both watched him as he walked towards them.

“Go in then, don’t wait for me,” he said and waved his hand at them in impatience. Jessica felt that he was annoyed at something, perhaps the fact that he had been dragged away from her before she confronted Falco earlier.

She kept a firm hold of Paul’s hand as he led her through the door. She was surprised to find that the room was a reception area.

There was a beautiful and elegant desk directly in front of them, with a beautiful and elegant, if somewhat stern, woman sat behind it and Jessica presumed that she was the receptionist.

She also realised with a start that the woman was werewolf too. So far, she realised, since they had come upstairs, she had encountered no other humans.

Sort:  

Captivating.. I'll be looking forward to read the whole story from the beginning

It never fails to engage you. I'm learning lots ! -have an upvote

(little though it is at he moment. lol)

Is weasley man a werewolf too? I thought he was just a scumbag.LoL. Is Red going to meet Jessica? Is the Science werewolf and Paul related? Connections I feel are about to be made soon. Like Ash I find myself like Jessica, but not only her this Paul guy seems to be pretty intriguing.

I'm not telling! You're going to have to carry on reading. :)

Going to keep reading. Love to read, to not read is to not live. I, as you can probably tell, like to guess, to guess at everything. I feel great even if my guess is wrong.LoL.

Truthfully... I don't remember how it goes.

Once I've written something, my brain is on to the next thing :)

And that is storytelling, listener, and storyteller losing themselves in the story.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Sep 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Good post! I'm going to follow you to see more post like this and for support us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41