June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hack - Day Twenty Three: Thinking In Scenarios

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to the twenty third day of the June 30 days writing challenge. If you want to know all the details about this specific challenge, have a look at the introductory post. In short, I will be posting every day a short tip, or technique, or opinion, something that you can call a "life hack". Feel free to join the challenge and post your own life hacks. I will do my best to upvote each day at full strength (about $3 at the current STEEM price) 3 posts tagged #challenge30days (leaving a link to your posts in the comments will also help).

If This, Then That

Yesterday I wrote about how to enhance your "improvisation muscle" and it seems many of you found that technique interesting. So, today we're continuing almost in the same direction, talking about "thinking in scenarios".

Before diving into it, let's stop for a second and try to imagine the price of STEEM tomorrow. We're in a bear market for some months, so the price might be going down. But, just as easy, it might go up. Thing is, we don't know yet. But, somehow, because the flow of events created a certain "weight" in our minds, we're biased towards the bear potential.

Suppose the price of STEEM suddenly goes up tomorrow, what would be your reaction? Well, because you've been expecting a dip, you'll be more likely happy, and, above all, completely unprepared. And you might start selling your stash, thinking you just escaped (from the potential bear crash in your mind obviously). And suppose STEEM keeps going up, crossing the $5 limit.

Alas, you're out of STEEM now, because you sold it all when it was $1.8.

You see where we're going here?

Thinking in scenarios prepares you for as many courses as action as you ca imagine. The more, the merrier, as they say. So, even if the flow of events created a mental bias towards a bear trend, let's not rule out a potential reversal. And have some plan in place for it. Obviously, I don't know what that plan would be for you, but there should be some plan.

When you extend this behavior to other areas of your life, something very interesting will happen: instead of seeing the world in black and white, you will see the world as a beautiful gradient of shades. "If this will happen, then I will do that".

"If I will lose this flight, I will catch the next one"

"If I'm getting caught in traffic for this meeting, I will just phone to say I'm late and I'll take the tube"

"If I will get rejected by this girl I like, I will just cope with it. And move on, because the world is full of interesting and nice people waiting to be discovered"

All of the above sentences are examples of "thinking in scenarios".

Of course, it will take some time to get your mind used to think like this, especially if you're an emotional type. But the time spent in mind training will be time well spent.

And of course, not every situation in your life would be as easy to analyze and generate scenarios around it, as the examples above.

But the mere fact that your mind is now trained to think in many potential courses of action will prevent your from getting into a "fight or flight" type of reaction.

I'm really curious to read about your life hack today. Leave a comment with a link to your post, if possible.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Hi Dragos,
Not planning on selling my Steem for the moment, as the price is too low in my opinion and I have just a few coins, but I have a scenario of $10 a coin and about a thousand to sell so that's what keeping my "alive" through the bear market.
https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@acesontop/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-twenty-third-every-paycheck-s-5-should-be-yours
Have a great weekend!

I like your positivity. I hope to have some coins then.

Positivity never hurt nobody...

I like your challenges a lot, they are interesting and every time you publish one, I immediately read them.

We need to remove emotion in cryptocurrency. But how does that overcome.

Yes you are right, we need to hold, but here the situation is little bit different, I'm using steemit to support my family and to full fill my needs. and for that, it is necessary for me sold some of steem,
yesterday I sold 60 steem for 1.36 $, i had to pay some bills, and there wasn't any other way :(

Thinking in scenarios is helpful. I will try and practice it always.

This challenge is a great push to we young steemians who love to write and it encourages our work.
This is my life hack write-up: https://steemit.com/blog/@pholarinwha/the-life-hack-challenge

I hope you find it catchy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55