June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hack - Day Seventeen:Replace Re-Action With Action

in #writing6 years ago

Hello and welcome to the seventeenth day of the June 30 days writing challenge. If you want to know all the details about this specific challenge, have a look at the introductory post. In short, I will be posting every day a short tip, or technique, or opinion, something that you can call a "life hack". Feel free to join the challenge and post your own life hacks. I will do my best to upvote each day at full strength (about $3 at the current STEEM price) 3 posts tagged #challenge30days (leaving a link to your posts in the comments will also help).

Just Breathe Three Time Before Engaging In Something

There is a very interesting study about the speed of thought (you can find some details in this article) which states that although we're perceiving our thoughts as being instantaneous, the process is actually taking a few good hundreds of milliseconds. And I'm talking about the thinking here, the actual activity of making sense of the surrounding reality and acting upon it.

Our brains are somehow misleading us to believe that it all happens instantaneously, but there's actually a gap. And, well, I find this to be an incredible blessing.

Because in this gap we can make a choice. We can decide if we're going to react, like from a reflex, or act, like founding our actions in a reasonable process.

Too often, especially when our emotional field is disturbed, we're reacting. We're just doing things on autopilot, like yelling back to someone, or running, or avoiding confrontation, or whatever. But this process is not really on autopilot, like you can find out from the article about (it's all scientific and stuff, so I'm not mumbo-jumboing here).

There is this very, very small gap, in which we can squeeze some conscious responses.

I'm not getting into more details about this topic, because I think it will take years for me to exhaust it, but I will just say that a simple activity, like not responding immediately, can have a tremendous impact. Just breathing three times before responding, like when somebody is asking you to do something, can have a big impact. Breathe, breathe, breathe, and then answer.

It will somehow enlarge your field of vision, what you think are the available choices, and your entire life. It will just feel more livable. And it just takes 3 breathes before engaging in anything highly emotional.

I'm really curious to read about your life hack today. Leave a comment with a link to your post, if possible.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I have to admit that sometimes I could breathe ten times and I will still react, so I will need some practice.

Here's my post for today:
https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@acesontop/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-seventeenth-keep-your-plans-away-from-your-mouth

Have a great evening!

delayed response is actually the best way to respond. it gives your brain some thinking time. and breathing helps take more blood and gets you relaxed. it makes you more logical and most times, gives accurate judgement.

here is my link for today's hack
https://steemit.com/life/@t-flames/30-days-life-hack-day-17-spirituality

There is an old age saying "Think before you act". We do not know who said it first but we know that must have been wise man.

This importance of this fact cannot be overstated. Our actions are driven by reason as well as emotion. Reason night not necessarily be the best option all the time but we still need those few crucial microseconds to make a choice, the consequences of which might be from life changing to none.

Informative post .
Thanks for your information .

Good job , carry on .

Thanks for sharing @dragosroua
Upvote you .

@dragosroua am just starting out and dont really understand it fully, but I like challenges and will give this one a shot. Expect my post soon

I find that very effective since one steemian mentioned that. In everything you do take a pause and do not rush into things. It is a continuous learning process though because at times I still easily flare up forgetting about taking a breath and a pause.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43