June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Twenty Third: Every Paycheck's 5% Should Be Yours

in #challenge30days6 years ago

It's almost the end of June and it's 16°C outside when it was supposed to be at least 22°C at this hour so it must be something wrong with the weather, but there's nothing wrong with my routine of making a daily post for the writing #challenge30days which I squeezed in my daily routine. If you had a bitter morning or will have at the moment of reading, considering that we live in different time zones, take a look at my previous post from the challenge and read something sweet.

Today I will shortly, but briefly, "expose" one of my favorite life hacks or incentives that kind of keeps me going forward paycheck to paycheck and reminds me that money are not just for paying rent, buying food, gas, insurances or whatever dries the monthly wage. It's is something that makes me feel that I am my own best investment and that I should treat myself every month and not just once a year in a vacation or on my birthday.

Ever since I started working and had a monthly paycheck I always had something like 5% from it dedicated only to myself and to the feeling of fulfillment that makes me when I buy something new. Whether it was some fishing gear, a CD, sport carpets for the car or whatever my mind would find attractive to crave for one month I would give it. It's not a big amount of money that I dedicated to this kind of special shopping, but it feels like I am celebrating Christmas every month and it feels like I'm not living just to pay bills.

ice-2367072_1280.jpg
image source

So it doesn't have to be expensive if you don't have too much money and you don't have to make loans to buy it, but there's always something in your bank account that can pay you for a cool t-shirt or a concert ticket. And that's something that gets you out of the existing condition into the living one. At least once a month you should afford to put yourself a smile on your face and get some new stuff or go somewhere with that 5% if you're not into spending weekends on the couch.

By no means I am encouraging materialism and any other obsession that might trick us into believing that "stuff will fulfill us", but I found that rewarding myself every month with something like the things I mentioned above made me feel that I'm not working only for the money and every day living. Even when I was poor I kept this habit and found resources to "treat myself every paycheck." There's always something to be passionate about and eager for no matter the bank balance and if it's not you can always make it happen.

Treating yourself is the best treat you can have and it's not selfish at all to put yourself on the first place at least once a month, so try my "monthly treat" trick and don't forget to upvote the post if you like it and resteem it if you consider someone should read it.

PS: If you like this writing challenge feel free to read the introductory post of @dragosroua and join the fun with your life hacks posts. If you find this man cool enough why not check his steem.supply app and see when you will be paid and how high is your potential growth on the Steem platform. I would encourage you also to give him your witness vote as he "really witnesses" and cares about our favorite blogging platform.

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

I hate sugar but I love ice creams!! this is how I suffer :)) this is for you image!

my type of life hack: try things which you do for the first time!
if you don't remember what was the last thing you have done for the first time, then you are spending the wage to JUST live...

I hope you enjoy your life; well, I enjoyed your post

Thanks for stopping by. Regarding ice creams I like them also, but my stomach not anymore. It seem a good idea to post an ice cream image for the idea of treating yourself.

I like this life hack of yours and will try it out myself starting with my paycheck at the end of the month. Thank you for sharing and I hope I will also be successful in trying to pay 5% to myself. :)

Glad you like it. There's nothing more important than yourself so give it a try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72