June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hack - Day Twenty: Creativity - Go From A To B In 5 Mental "Fractures"

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to the twentieth day of the June 30 days writing challenge. If you want to know all the details about this specific challenge, have a look at the introductory post. In short, I will be posting every day a short tip, or technique, or opinion, something that you can call a "life hack". Feel free to join the challenge and post your own life hacks. I will do my best to upvote each day at full strength (about $3 at the current STEEM price) 3 posts tagged #challenge30days (leaving a link to your posts in the comments will also help).

How Can You Go From "Cabbage" To "Electric"?

As a kid, I loved to play games. Like all the kids in the world, I presume. But not always was I fortunate to have other kids to play with, so I had to resort to some tricks to keep my mind occupied when I was alone. One of these "tricks" was to play with words, or concepts, in a non-linear way. I think the term today will be "disruptive thinking".

For instance, I was picking two random words, like "cabbage" and "electric". The game was to go from the first word, to the second word, in 5 mental "fractures", or intermediary words. Here's how such a game would have be:

  1. cabbage - cabbage makes you thirsty, so the first word from the sequence is water
  2. water - water is fluid, so it can flow through pipes, the second word from the sequence is cylinder
  3. cylinder - there are a lot of cylinder-like objects around us, but the most interesting for me was a rocket, so the third word is rocket
  4. rocket - a rocket can obviously take you to another planet, so the fourth word is planet
  5. planet - a planet can revolve around the sun, just like electrons are revolving around a nucleus, and move around, generating electricity, so the fifth word is, obviously, electricity.

So, here's the sequence:

cabbage - water - cylinder - rocket - planet - electricity

I used to play this game a lot, picking random pairs of words and trying to find all sorts of combinations. As a grown up, I even play this in the subway or during long flights, or when I wait for someone who's being late.

It's been great for my personal creativity (it really helped me during my early days as a blogger, as I never ran out of topics to write about) and improved my ability to improvise in stressful situations.

I'm really curious to read about your life hack today. Leave a comment with a link to your post, if possible.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

@dragosroua, a small typo turned rocket into a racket :)

st.png

lol, thanks for the heads up, corrected

Hi @dragosroua, I liked today's hack abd plan to try it with kids. I keep them engaged by playing different games and this one would be a nice addition. Thank You!

Steem On!

Hi @dragosroua, Previous time i posted 2 article to participate in your contest . But may be you did not noticed my post as i am new in this contest. Did i break any rules of contest? please let me know that i can be a part of your nice contest. Thanks

Amazing, finding words and making meaningful sentences and relevent sentences is interesting, it also increases you vocab.
Interesting game.

I've never heard of that associative word game before but it sounds like it be fun either in a group or alone and would help pass the time. I can also see where doing it would help your mind stay quick as you would be able to come up with more things to say as others are talking.

Having a series of associated but different topics is an interesting idea, too. I'll have to try that and see what comes out of it. :)

Hi again,
It's me with another post for the challenge
https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@acesontop/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-twentieth-test-the-water-with-your-own-finger

Will try your hack of the day with my blogging around here. Sounds very creative.
Have a great day!

This is amazing man, i need to follow this i think.

Hi dragosroua .
How are you ?

Your game is interesting , i really like it .

Thanks for sharing @dragosroua
Upvote you .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43