June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hack - Day Nineteen: Write A Short Story About Your Future Self

in #writing6 years ago

Hello and welcome to the nineteenth day of the June 30 days writing challenge. If you want to know all the details about this specific challenge, have a look at the introductory post. In short, I will be posting every day a short tip, or technique, or opinion, something that you can call a "life hack". Feel free to join the challenge and post your own life hacks. I will do my best to upvote each day at full strength (about $3 at the current STEEM price) 3 posts tagged #challenge30days (leaving a link to your posts in the comments will also help).

It's Just A Story, So You Can Write Whatever You Want, Right?

One of the most interesting self-help exercises that I know of is to project your existence into the future. Like really painting a picture of your future self: how your life will be in one year from now, in five years or in ten years.

And one of the easiest way to do this, while still keeping that "living in the moment" mentality is to write a short story, with you as the main character.

Because it's a story, purely fictional, you can write whatever you want. I even suggest to go crazy about it and give yourself super powers, Marvel-style. Be a super-hero, and save the world.

One of the best moments to do this is in the evening, right before going to sleep. The story shouldn't be too long, but not too short either. Whatever you can squeeze on paper in, let's say, 20 minutes of free-writing.

And, equally important, after you finish the story, you should just throw it away. That will prevent your ego to grow too much, while still keeping the benefits of this: increase self-esteem, creativity and the ability to improvise.

This life hack is "borrowed" from one of the most popular posts on my other blog, so feel free to stop by and get some more inspiration, if you feel like.

I'm really curious to read about your life hack today. Leave a comment with a link to your post, if possible.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Hi,
I haven't wrote yet a story of my future self, but I wrote a few minutes ago a post about my life hack for today and this could be my morning story:
https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@acesontop/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-nineteenth-eggs-the-perfect-breakfast
Have a great day!

Write the vision, make it plain upon tables, that he may run that read it.

A short story about your future self gives you a guide to achieving your set goals. That's a good one there. I especially love this part

Because it's a story, purely fictional, you can write whatever you want. I even suggest to go crazy about it and give yourself super powers, Marvel-style. Be a super-hero, and save the world.

I want to marry someone, and i want a lot of money for that, that's it.

Nice clean emotional outlet - mine is writing a letter and then burn it. Works every time..................

Well, as by now i'm struggling to get noticed on this platform, I am thinking to make some tutorial for my Pakistani brother and sisters to teach them what the real way of working here on steemit, I'm also having a problem in pursuing this, but I will start doing it in coming days.

Hi dragosroua .
How are you ?

Nice post , thanks for your information .

Keep good work of every moment .

Thanks for sharing @dragosroua
Upvote you .

That's owesome because everyone in this world want money.
Nice

I will marry someone who is very rich. I want to be a rich man quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61