June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hack - Day Twenty Second: Working Out Your Improvisation "Muscles"

in #writing6 years ago

Hello and welcome to the twenty second day of the June 30 days writing challenge. If you want to know all the details about this specific challenge, have a look at the introductory post. In short, I will be posting every day a short tip, or technique, or opinion, something that you can call a "life hack". Feel free to join the challenge and post your own life hacks. I will do my best to upvote each day at full strength (about $3 at the current STEEM price) 3 posts tagged #challenge30days (leaving a link to your posts in the comments will also help).

When In Doubt, Improvise

For a long time I thought improvisation is an immutable, innate quality in people, just like, I don't know, the color of the eyes. I was well over in my thirties when I realized improvisation is actually a type of response that can be trained, just like you train your body for a marathon, with really great benefits. It helps especially in stressful situations, when the mind seems to see no solution and grips, resorting to "fight or flight" responses.

About that time I started to frequent improvisation shows and I even had a one year long streak of weekly attendances to a local impro show. The actors even befriended me and I got to learn a few tricks.

One of them was: "In impro, you never answer with a No, even if you have no idea about the thing you're supposed to say. You always answer with a Yes, but. If you go straight to No, it just kills the show, because there's nothing left to chain to."

It really makes a lot of sense if you think about it. Instead of saying "No, I'm not good at blogging", you could go like "Yes, I do have some writing shortcomings, but... I can address them".

Or, to take it up a notch, you don't have to say "No, I'm not a rich person", because you can always replace this answer with "Yes, I don't have a lot of money right now, but... I'm working on it".

Replacing the No in your life with Yes, but... is really a powerful technique to improve your standard responses to stressful situations and to increase your ability to improvise. A few years later, when I started to take tango lessons (eventually I became a tango teacher and even lived off of it for almost a year, oh, the good times...) this "impro muscle workout" really served me well. Argentine tango, although it has a fixed set of steps, is a highly improvisational dance, and that's what really makes it so unique.

All in all, the life hack for today is: "if you don't know the answer, just go for Yes, but...".

I'm really curious to read about your life hack today. Leave a comment with a link to your post, if possible.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

This is such a great subject

I really like that to say YES but instead of a direct and boring NO ... that technique is applicable in all the senses of life.

yes is very important in your life, if you make a plan but if you don't improvise it, you my friend have wasted your time in making the plan, make a plan and act on it.

@dragosroua Sir i want you a question, as told that sbd is pegged to 1 $, now It almost reached to 1 $, my question is that, if the market goes future down, like BTC reaches to 4000$ , sbd will remain at 1 $ or it will also be affected ?

Well said No means all the options has been closed. Yes remain open the options for you. Where there is a will there is a way. Beside this some time you are not in the position to say yes as yes make you over burden and tense isn't it @dragosroua

It's great to improvise when you do not have a concrete answer, I apply when I'm faced with a work proposal that I do not know what to do, I say yes, although I should investigate more about the subject. hahaha the idea is to always get the job and solve.

Excellent idea, it is a good tip of which I had no knowledge

That's really a good mind trick. I am kind of a No type so intend to implement it and become a YES, but in the future.
By the way here's my post for the challenge:
https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@acesontop/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-twenty-one-honey-not-chocolate
Have a great evening!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61