June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Eight: Keep An Activity Log

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to the eighth day of the June 30 days writing challenge. If you want to know all the details about this specific challenge, have a look at the introductory post. In short, I will be posting every day a short tip, or technique, or opinion, something that you can call a "life hack". Feel free to join the challenge and post your own life hacks. I will do my best to upvote each day at full strength (about $3 at the current STEEM price) 3 posts tagged #challenge30days (leaving a link to your posts in the comments will also help).

Keep An Activity Log

This is different from journaling, which has its own entry in this challenge (meaning I will write about it later on) and it's mostly related to whatever you call "work".

Now, you may already use some sort of a planner, or a task manager, or a fancy app for keeping in sync with your colleagues. That's fine.

But on top of this, I found it very useful to just write down a list of what I'm doing each day. After each small task, I just write down in my storage of choice (more about that in a bit) whatever I did. As for choosing a storage, I would go for the simplest journaling app. I use one called MacJournal, actually, for almost 10 years, and it's still going on strong.

So, at the beginning of each day, I copy whatever I have in my past entry into a new entry, and delete whatever I already did. Here's an example of an entry:


  • Wednesday
    -- wrote 3 articles on Steemit
    -- answered 2 emails for possible cooperation
    -- monitored my witness server
  • [here I just leave some space between what I did and what I want to do]
    -- to read this interesting article on mining Bitcoin on Raspberry Pi
    -- buy milk
    -- do this errand, etc

Now, next day, Thursday, I just copy ALL the content of the entry, but delete what I already did. Here's how the Thursday entry may look at the end of the day:


  • Thursday
    -- wrote 2 articles on Steemit
    -- read this interesting article on mining Bitcoin on Raspberry Pi
    -- monitored my witness server
    -- bought milk
  • [here I just leave some space between what I did and what I want to do]
    -- do this errand, etc
    -- to renew this domain name
    -- to pay your Internet bill

As you can see, it's really lo-fi, the most basic way of keeping track of what you're doing.

Now comes the interesting part. If I would want to know when exactly I did a specific thing, I would just do a search on the specific journal (or you can do a search in the folder where you keep these documents, if you're using text files and not an integrated app). I never lose track of a specific task I did, which comes in very handy, especially in the work related stuff. Apps may crash, todo lists may have limitations, but a lo-fi, simple and bare lists of what you just did is way more resilient.

Sometimes I even look back at a certain day and realize I did way more than I planned to.

Not to mention that the very habit of writing down the things you just did will, in time, build a subtle sense of accomplishment that will boost your optimism, and yes, also your productivity.

I'm really curious to read about your life hack today. Leave a comment with a link to your post, if possible.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Easy methods are usually the ones that work best. I tried specific apps in the past but you end up depending too much on too much technology for every different thing. I ended up using a similar method with Google as I get an additional reminder on email for the tasks.

Hi Dragos
This is my Friday hack:
https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@acesontop/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-eight-take-the-big-one-down-first
Honestly, I haven't even imagined that I would post that often on the topic. It's really challenging.

Hi @dragosroua

How are you ?

I think its a useful addition .

This is very interesting challenge , u really like it .

Upvote you . I always try to follow your post .

And thanks for sharing @dragosroua

Seems the activity log will work well for me. I used a planner before but I couldn't maintain it.

Sad to say I have never ever maintain any activity log :( but now i'll try to maintain it.

you are doing good to keep your activity log maintain.
That's way you are punctual and posting everyday :)

I think this is a useful addition..

Very interesting challenge...
I hope i can join and accomplished this challenge...

Have a great day, @dragosroua...☕☕❤
Resteemed!😀

You got everything mapped out for you. I don't have any Activity log cos things might change for me along the way.

My Today's life hack is about annoying spammers and how not to waste your valuable time responding to the. Here is the link to the post

https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@yungchief/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-eight-fake-friends-and-ways-to-spot-and-avoid-them

Thnks..I did not write alot because I am learning to write.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43