June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hack - Day Fourteen: Improve 1% Per Day

in #writing6 years ago


1-2-2.png

image source: DragosRoua.com


Hello and welcome to the fourteenth day of the June 30 days writing challenge. If you want to know all the details about this specific challenge, have a look at the introductory post. In short, I will be posting every day a short tip, or technique, or opinion, something that you can call a "life hack". Feel free to join the challenge and post your own life hacks. I will do my best to upvote each day at full strength (about $3 at the current STEEM price) 3 posts tagged #challenge30days (leaving a link to your posts in the comments will also help).

The 1% Per Day Compound Rule

.Way too often, when we want to change our lives, by learning a new skill, improving our finances or health, we start with a big push, followed, almost always, by exhaustion, lack of motivation and boredom. We try to get to that peak by one big jump, and, because we're seldom make it with one big jump, we're out of energy. And we just stop.

Another approach, one that actually works, is to get better at whatever you want to improve with only 1% per day.

Suppose you want to learn FOREX trading (that's a real example, by the way, that's how I did it). The initial impulse is so strong, and the area that you have to master so big, that you just rush into it, full throttle. At last that's what I did, in the beginning. Needless to say that this was a very expensive way to learn FOREX trading, because, obviously, I lost some money.

So I changed the approach and started to educate myself, around 30 minutes per day. I learned the basics of candlesticks patterns, price movement, financial education and emotional control. It took me about 1 year, but at the end of this year I was flat, meaning I recovered my initial loss (and regained my self-esteem).

Since I already know this is working, I apply it in many other areas, like, for instance, learning Spanish. I already told you that I'm into it and I'm using an app, Doulingo, for that. I'm not practicing more than 20-30 minutes per day, but I practice every day (or at least I try, and when I miss a day, I make it up the next day). I'm already comfortable with basic sentences and I know this will just get better. I don't aim at more than 20-30 minutes per day, but, like I said, I do my best to practice every day.

Another way to visualize the effectiveness of this technique is to look at your trading portfolio and try to make just 1% more each day. I know that, for many of the newbies in crypto ("when moon?") 1% is a ridiculous percentage, but if you make 1% each and every day, at the end of the year you'll end up with a whopping 37.8% profit, which, by any standards, is a very consistent gain.

I'm really curious to read about your life hack today. Leave a comment with a link to your post, if possible.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Slow and steady wins the reace
You can't learn everything in one day, you can't win the champion by doing practice for just one day? A hardwork is required to get the task done, I really like approach, Small things combine to form a big thing, like the way our small but daily effort will give us great result :)

Consistency is vital to success.

No risk no game .

You can try anything truly , you must be success in your life .
Best of luck my friend .

Thanks for sharing @dragosroua

Upvote you .

I am always afraid to et in this because many mentioned if you cannot afford lose the money don't touch it. But I'd we learn without using it it is waste of time.

Posted using Partiko Android

best of luck for those who want to participate

Thanks @dragosroua. This post came at the right time. I had similar experience. I couldn't reach my expectations. I was sad and abandoned the project. Then, yesterday I decided to give it a try again. The suggestions you made in this post will be helpful to me. I am going to implement them and hope to get positive results.

Hi Dragos
Feels good to comment your #challenge30days post with another life hack post that I wrote today so feel free to check it out.
https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@acesontop/june-30-days-writing-challenge-life-hacks-day-fourteen-the-square-breathing-technique-is-the-perfect-replacement-for-counting
Have a great day!

But how much is the 1%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67751.75
ETH 2620.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72