Suggestions category - Weekly report: #19

in #utopian-io5 years ago

This is a weekly report of the Suggestions category. It contains basic stats, tips and interesting open source projects to start contributing. Also, I will show you the most common mistakes of this week and how to fix them.

In this post:

  • Category summary
  • Top scored contributions
    • Contest for the Suggestions category
  • Common mistakes and how to fix them
  • Interesting open source projects
  • Useful posts

Category summary


source

  • Week: 8 (from Feb. 21 to Feb.28)
  • There were 10 contributions and 8 have a chance of being rewarded, or have already been rewarded.
  • The average score was 49.25
  • There were a total of 7 unique contributors in the category.

Number of reviewed and rewarded contributions

Average score

Number of reviews by Moderator

This week we had the 2x more contributions than the previous week and 80% of those have a chance of being rewarded, or have already been rewarded.
The average score was good but it must increase if we want outstanding contributions.
We did not have a Staff Pick this week.
Almost all contributions were reviewed by @syedumair.

This was the last week of February, that means that I have to send the prizes! :D
As @tykee suggested me, I am going to set the min score to 50. So, contributions will have more chances to win! (Starting next week).

Spread the word
Make a post about the contest, add some info about Utopian and the Suggestions Category and paste the link in comments. I will send some liquid STEEM to the best one.

Remember that upvotes are never guaranteed.


Top scored contributions


source

Since we did not have a Staff pick, these are great post to read!

Contest

Prize: 10 STEEM every month (+ the Community Bounty, which is 60 STEEM).
Total Prize: 70 STEEM
How? Submit a contribution to the Suggestions category. A contributor can submit more than one contribution per week. If your contribution got a score higher than 60 you get points.

ScorePoints
100 or Staff Pick5
90 - 994
80 - 893
70 - 792
60 - 691
0 - 590

When? At the end of every month I will send 75% of the Total Prize to the winner and 25% to the second place.

Round 4: February
Points

  • 100 or Staff Pick: none [5 points]
  • 90 - 99: none [4 points]
  • 80 - 89: none [3 points]
  • 70 - 79: none [2 points]
  • 60 - 69: @harry-heightz [1 point]

Ranking

AuthorPoints
@blockchainstudio3
@mattockfs1
@harry-heightz1

Congrats @blockchainstudio, @mattockfs and @harry-heightz. I will send you the prize as soon as possible!

Community Bounty (CB)

A big thank you to @emrebeyler, @tdre, @blockchainstudio, @amosbastian, @leotrap, @tobias-g, @utopian-io, @syedumair and @knowledges.
The CB is real thanks to them.

Disclaimer: The prize is taken from my personal account. This is an unofficial contest. It is only for the Suggestions category. You must not complain to Utopian about this contest. If something is wrong with the points, or if the rules are not clear, you should write to me, not to Utopian.


Common mistakes and how to fix them


source

The aim of this section is to show you the most common mistakes found this week. Followed by a short description and tips when applicable. Usually, I split the section in two: Contributions with a score of 25 or less and Contributions with a score of 50 or less.

1 - Contributions with a score of 50 or less

1.1 - The impact on the functionality and usability of the project is low

If the overall of your post is excellent, but your idea has little impact on the functionality and/or usability of the project, you will get a few point less. Try to suggest unique, original and useful features.

1.2 - The possible solution was not described in sufficient detail

When you propose a new feature, it is great if you add a possible solution although this is not mandatory. Explain how to implement it.
You can add a pseudo code script with your possible solution and detail in which file it should be added.
If you do not know how to code, you can explain in details how this new feature should works. Where should be implemented? In which component of the app? In what position? Why is that a good position for that feature? What happens if you click on it?
Mockups are useful. Edit your images, try to follow the pattern design of the app. For example, if the app use Material Design, try to follow the rules of Material Design and add Icons which are listed in their site. Do not paste a random image/icon that you found on Google.


Interesting open source projects


source

In case that you want to contribute on the Suggestions category but do not know any project, check this list.

1 - CoinGecko (@coingecko)

As you may know CoinGecko is officially on Utopian. They are "one of the earliest and largest cryptocurrency ranking websites in the world, active since April 2014. They now track close to 3,000 coins from over 200 crypto exchanges, with millions of visits to their website and a multitude of applications using their free API." [source]
Website: https://www.coingecko.com/en
Free API: https://www.coingecko.com/api/docs/v3
Repository: https://github.com/coingecko/cryptoexchange

2 - dPoll

Created by @emrebeyler (vote for Witness), dpoll.xyz is an experimental application on the top of the STEEM blockchain. It has an account based voting system, where accounts may vote specific questions asked by other STEEM accounts. [source]
Website: dpoll.xyz
Repository: https://github.com/emre/dpoll.xyz

3 - KnackSteem (@knacksteem.org)

KnackSteem was created by @knowledges, one of the most experienced Utopian CMs.
It is a steem based project that uses the steem blockchain as means of rewarding its contributors.
KnackSteem is aimed to reward great and passionate article writers, hard-working individuals willing to promote their culture and interesting, original skills. It aims to remove the need for mediators and encourage cultural activities and sharing your passion with a wide audience, getting rewarded in the process. [Source]
Website: knacksteem.org
Repository: https://github.com/knacksteem/knacksteem.org

Useful posts


As always, if you need help, comment below or chat with us on our Discord server.
Consider voting for the Utopian Witness.

Watch the presentation of Utopian on SteemFest
Tune in to the Utopian.io Open Source Radio Show, coming to you live every Wednesday at 8 PM UTC on Utopian Discord server. Host: @jedigeiss
Tune in to the Utopian.io IdeaHub Radio Show, coming to you live every Monday at 8 PM UTC on Utopian Discord server. Host: @jedigeiss

@favcau

Sort:  

Thanks for providing the Suggestion category weekly overview. The week seems good with a decent amount of contributions. The category has stirred a bit compared to what we were facing months ago.

I appreciate that you considered my suggestion on the contest. Suggestion category is one of the most complex categories on Utopian. I know most people view it as the easiest, but you and I know that, for a post to get above 70 scores, the idea has to be a top-notch. That is why I think, a consistent contributor that is making decent contributions should also have the chance to benefit from the contest.

As usual, I appreciate the tips you provided. But, I think you could add the links to posts that have the issues you are trying to solve. Maybe that would help a lot of people to get the faults, and improve over time.

Again, I appreciate the effort. Stay great and have a good week!

Please note that while the CM hasn't changed the footer, I am not scoring #iamutopian posts based on the questionnaire. They have their own metric, and that will be the case until we go live with the new guidelines and new questionnaire, which will be comprehensive enough to reflect these types of posts.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you tykee.
I don't add the link because, in general, people doesn't like to be mentioned when they did something "wrong".
In that section I expand the response made by the moderator, with more tips or examples. So, I believe that the author knows that I'm talking about their post.
Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for your review, @tykee! Keep up the good work!

Hey @blockchainstudio, thumbs up for winning the contest. I deeply love what @favcau is doing in the idea category. Well done.

Thank you for your support! :)

ps: I'm waiting for your contributions.

Alright. I will contribute one of these days.

@ckole, thank you! I won twice in a row, so I may have to take a rest :) Of course, I've also been donating. Thanks.

Hi @favcau, thank you for the prize. I feel shame a bit that I got the prize with this low score :)

But I have some reasons. First, I intentionally didn't participate actively, since I also hoped that others win the prize. Second, more importantly, I think some of my posts were too undervalued. To be honest, I don't think they were properly treated. Of course I understand that the value on the suggestions can be very different depending on people. But a unique (and important, of course this is subjective I have to admit :) suggestion on a project that is heavily used in so many apps gets virtually lowest score, even lower than a usual suggestion (of feature which already exists on other apps) for an app that is not widely used? This really doesn't make sense to me. Ironically it was one of my best suggestions to me.

To be clear, I'm not taking about the score itself. The score itself isn't that important actually. Voting is also not that important. Even the maximum vote can't cover contributor's time-value. Reviewers should carefully choose expressions. This is not only for their comments but also for review system message.

For instance, "This contribution adds nearly no value to the open source community and ecosystem or the specific project." shouldn't be chosen unless it's unarguably apparent. Of course I know it's just auto-generated message for the lowest score for that evaluation section. But I still think that message itself should be rephrased.

In sum, I sometimes (of course not always) feel that a review is done just for review. I really wish if there could be a review system on reviews. This may be one reason why we don't have many good suggestions. But I know reviewers don't get paid well so this is very difficult to solve. Another reason of not many good suggestions may be the lack of PO's response. If they don't care, contributors lose motivation.

ps. I'll donate 15 STEEM again (but if possible, please start it from May since I think until April some bounty is already secured). I originally planned to donate much more, but I'd like to keep some for my too much undervalued suggestions this time :) By the way, how did steemsql that @arcange agreed? If it's given as well, I'll donate more. Thanks.

I feel shame a bit that I got the prize with this low score.

Rules are rules, you finished in first place, so you are the winner.

I think some of my posts were too undervalued. To be honest, I don't think they were properly treated.

I think that I know what post are you talking about, but please, write this on Discord, link the post and tag the moderator. I know that you are not complaining but you deserve a better response.

For instance, "This contribution adds nearly no value to the open source community and ecosystem or the specific project." shouldn't be chosen unless it's unarguably apparent. Of course I know it's just auto-generated message for the lowest score for that evaluation section. But I still think that message itself should be rephrased.

Indeed, it should be rephrased. I am not a big fan of using a questionnaire to score a contribution, but this is what we have at the moment. I beliave that this will be improved. For example, I prefer this feature more than some fixed options.

In sum, I sometimes (of course not always) feel that a review is done just for review. I really wish if there could be a review system on reviews.

We (CMs) always check the comments made by the Mods. If you sometimes feels like that, then there is a problem of comunication in our side. If this happens again, please contact us on Discord.

I'll donate 15 STEEM again (but if possible, please start it from May since I think until April some bounty is already secured).

Sure. Thanks.

By the way, how did steemsql that @arcange agreed?

I told him that in my opinion those subscriptions will be more useful for Analysis contributors since our contributors barely use those services. I suggested to our Analysis CM that he could give a subscription to Staff picks authors, but he never replied back.

Thank you for your feedback.

Hi @favcau, thank you so much for your kind word. While I also thought about asking on discord, but if possible (unless rejected) I don't want to bring up the issue too publicly. While it's true that I was quite discouraged, I'll try to submit suggestions again if I have a good idea. Thank you so much!

Hi, @favcau!

You just got a 0.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @favcau!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @favcau!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95