Suggestions to improve user experience on Activity Diary Android App: Improve the Diary section of the app.

in #utopian-io5 years ago (edited)

Repository

https://github.com/ramack/ActivityDiary

Components

The activity diary is amazing. I've been using it since the beginning of this year and it has been helpful.
However, I had some issues with the diary.

There are two issues to be precise.

  • Inability to delete an activity registered in the diary.
  • How the dairy is being displayed.

Proposal Description

Inability to delete an activity registered in the diary.

The reason why this is an issue for me is because, starting an activity on the app is quite loose. By loose I mean too easy to execute. Often times I make the mistake of starting a wrong activity and once I stop that activity, it registers on the diary.
If on the diary I'm able to delete this unwanted activity, it wouldn't have been a problem.

My suggestion.

To solve the problem of unwanted activity, it's either users have to be extremely careful when starting an activity, so they don't start the wrong one. Or, another way is by initiating a confirmation protocol. That is, when a user wants to start an activity, he has to confirm if that's the activity he wants to start.
Again, even with that protocol initiated, some people might still end up starting the wrong activity.
That's why in my opinion, it will be great if activities can be deleted off the diary.

Here is a mockup of my above suggestion.

Creating a mockup for this suggestion would be a little tricky. Now, you will have to assume that I've clicked on an activity and I want to confirm it.

So here's how the confirmation dialog box could be on the app;

After the activity has started, it registers in the Diary;

Screenshot_2019-02-23-08-08-25-567_de.rampro.activitydiary.png

From the picture above resting is the activity I just started 4 minutes ago. Now, that was unintentional. So I want to delete it.

Clicking on that activity would show me more details of the activity. That is if I added a picture or a note. So to access the delete option, I will have to long-press on the activity.
So assume I have done that here's the delete dialog;

DIARY DIAL.png

How the dairy is being displayed.

Another issue I had with the diary was how it was being displayed. Every activity you perform in a day within a time frame is registered in the diary.
The problem is how these activities are displayed in the diary. It's in a list format. What this means is that, if I want to check out an activity I did probably several months ago, I will have to engage in intense scrolling, which I didn't quite fancy. Although there's a search tool, I don't think it solves the problem completely.

My suggestion.

My suggestion would be to replace the current diary view to a calendar. Now with a calendar, dates would be easier to sort. I can easily go back and forth in time to view all the activities I have performed.
If the diary is in a calendar format, I can just pick a previous date and check out the activities I performed that day, that is if I tracked them that day.

Here is a mockup of the above suggestion.

This is the current view of the Diary;

Screenshot_2019-02-23-08-08-25-567_de.rampro.activitydiary.png


Here is how it would be like if my suggestion is implemented.

Now the diary is a calendar.

On the calendar you will see some dates in red color. What this would signify is that I recorded an activity or some activities that day. While the dates in black means no activity was recorded that day.

Benefits

  • Being able to delete activities off the diary would help users delete irrelevant stuffs from the diary. Especially those caused by the mistake of starting a wrong activity.
  • The confirmation protocol would help to reduce the risk of starting a wrong activity
  • The diary in calendar format would enable faster and organized navigation.

GitHub Account

https://github.com/HarryHeights

Sort:  

Hello @harry-heightz!

I have used activity dairy myself for a few months and I do believe that deleting an activity will be helpful for the users.
Having a calendar will also ease the navigation process.
I do hope that the PO takes note and implements these features.
Thank you for this well formatted and nicely explained contribution.
We are already looking for your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @syedumair! Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @harry-heightz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 98 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey, @harry-heightz!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Hi @harry-heightz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42