Bulgaria Is Beautiful #18. Vazov's Path To Skaklya Waterfall

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2014 copy.jpg

Two weeks ago I had an adventurous weekend.

On Friday I went out to party at a Dubioza Kolektiv concert. Afterwards I ended up at a friends (Ivan) house. Met some cool people. Some I knew, some I got to know.

On Saturday I was about to head back home when a friend (Ogi) offered to celebrate his birthday in Stara Planina mountain. I had no warm clothes, which was fixed easily as Ivan borrowed me some of his. Needles to say, I looked ridiculous, but when it comes to spend time in nature I have no problem making this compromise. We had a great time at the birthday party, which took place in Trestenaya hut! You can check out my post about the hut's host.

On Sunday, just before we were to head back, the cool new people from Friday appeared at Bov train station and offered to join them on a walk to Skaklya waterfall. We were still in an adventurous mood and took the offer. It was a nice coincidence to see them at the same place.

IMG_1926.JPG

Ivan Vazov is one of the most respected writers of all time in Bulgaria. The path to the waterfall is called Vazov's path, as he lived in the area for some time and the terrain inspired him to write some of his famous stories.

IMG_1931.JPG

IMG_1938.JPG

IMG_1939.JPG

IMG_1941.JPG

IMG_1947.JPG

I was amazed by this rock and its similarity with a profile with a crown. Check out my post about it.

IMG_1951.JPG

IMG_1957.JPG

IMG_1958.JPG

My personal favorite Geranium 💚

IMG_1965.JPG

The walk included a lot of hiking, but it was worth it, as the view was pretty.

IMG_1966.JPG

IMG_1971.JPG

IMG_1977.JPG

IMG_1991.jpg

IMG_1989.JPG

IMG_1996.JPG

The walk to the top takes about hour and a half and it is tiring. At the last 30 minutes there are railings to help.

IMG_1998.JPG

IMG_2012 copy.jpg

At last! The top is reached and it has a view to Skaklya waterfall.

IMG_2017.JPG

IMG_2014.JPG

IMG_2013.JPG

IMG_2015.JPG

If you are wondering where the waterfall is, here is some guidance 😅

Did not stay for more there than 10 minutes, as it was getting late and it was quite windy. As Jack Sparrow says - "It is not the destination so much as the journey".

Here are some pictures from the way back.

IMG_2020.JPG

IMG_2003.JPG

It all ended where it started - train station Bov . Those are some wonderful people and I am grateful to know such enthusiasts!

IMG_2032.JPG

At the end I got back home Sunday night after a harmless night out on Friday.

Got to love those unplanned trips. They make me feel alive and free. Next week I got a call from Ogi with an offer to go to my favorite Rbodpha mountain. My next #BulgariaIsBeautiful post will be about it and I promise some breath-taking views, so stay tuned!

Thank you for joining me in this trip. If you enjoyed it, an upvote and a comment will be appreciated. They keep me motivated to continue sharing my adventures with you all!

Check out the others in the series:
#1 Marchaevo
#2 Polska Skakavitsa
#3 Zemen's Pit
#4 The Living Water
#5 Rhodope Mountain
#6 Devetashka Cave
#7 Beglika Dam
#8 WakeЪп! Festival
#9 Sokolov Kamik
#10 Pirin Mountain
#11 Sokolna Hut
#12 My Annual August Adventure/Part One - Irakli
#13 My Annual August Adventure/Part Two - Irakli
#14 My Annual August Adventure/Part Three- Beglika Festival
#15 My EPIC Walk To Vihren Peak (2,914 meters)
#16 A Walk In My Neighborhood
#17 A Rain Of Golden Leafs

Best wishes!
Gabby~


💃 Upvote 👣Follow 📢 Resteem
Sort:  

Hey @gabchik I am a curator from the new Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 13th November. Your post will be awarded with a 25 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Hope to see you there! Here's a post which explains things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/whaleshares-curation-is-live-every-monday-23-59-london-time

This is amazing! Thank you so much. Have to go to bed, so I will not be able to make it. Love whaleshares and the way it works. Truly honored <3

My pleasure. Looking forward to your next posts!

your post is really good and needs more attention but unfortunately things are all based on money on stermit

I try not to concentrate too much on the money :) hopefully more people will see it though.

Congratulations @gabchik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful pictures, thank you so much for sharing. Look forward to seeing some more! What kind of camera are you using?

You are welcome! Thank you for checking it out. I use Canon IXUS 300 HS, but have to admit that I do edit and enhance them, so you can all have a better experience.

You did an excellent job at that. Do you prefer to take pictures of people or places?

Places with people :D mostly places, but when there are people they give an idea of the scale.

Is that near or in Lakatnik, then?

Looks like it :)

I thought so! Love that area :)

Nice post about place / Travel @gabchik

good article with info, Thankx for sharing. @gabchik

You are very welcome :)

Nice post...

Congratulations @gabchik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60