Bulgaria Is Beautiful #15. My EPIC Walk To Vihren Peak (2,914 meters)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1637.JPG
Let me take you to a walk to the second highest peak in Bulgaria - Vihren (2914m. elevation). It is located in Pirin mountain. I took the picture above in the middle of the hike, which started at Vihren hut (1950 m. elevation). Honestly, the last thing I expected to see were cows, but when they showed up the atmosphere became majestic.
Lets start from the beginning of the walk.
IMG_1618.JPG
From the start I dived into another world, as the snow season is still far away and the place was already frozen.
IMG_1619.JPG
My favorite mountain guide was with me. She is truly the most amazing dog I know.
IMG_1622.JPG
It was a long walk to the top (about three hours) on a rocky path. IMG_1631.JPG
I am not the sporty type of person and it was a bit hard, but with each step the view was getting more amazing. And then, the cows appeared like mystical creatures in the mist.
IMG_1638.JPG

IMG_1636.JPG

IMG_1632.JPG
How can one resist to take a selfie in such a moment?
IMG_1634.JPG
This was the place to stop, take a snack and enjoy the view before we hit the real hiking.
IMG_1639.JPG
Here you can see the actual angle of the hill and another peak (possibly Todorka), showing through the clouds. This part was definitely the most tiring one, but the motivation to make it to the top and to not look weak in front of the group made me going.
IMG_1642.JPG
Voilà! We reached Vihren!
IMG_1649.JPG

IMG_1652.JPG
We were lucky that the mist was low and above it was not only sunny, but hot! Those are the friends I hiked with.
IMG_1657.JPG

IMG_1645.JPG
We enjoyed the view for a while and had to go back. It took us another two-to-three hours and walking down is hard works as well.
Here is the view at the lower-part of the mountain. Looks like another place.
IMG_1660.JPG
I am really grateful and happy for the opportunity for this walk. Have to give credit to the actual mountain guide who invited me - Nikolay. If you are in Bulgaria and want professional guide service, check out his site Split The Mountain.

Thank you for joining me in this trip. Remember to always be respectful to nature when you are there! Share this only with people who you know will act the same. It seems that the more popular beautiful places get, the more damage they take. It is up to us to act in the right way when we are there.

Check out the other posts in my #BulgariaIsBeautiful series for more breath-taking views.
#1 Marchaevo
#2 Polska Skakavitsa
#3 Zemen's Pit
#4 The Living Water
#5 Rhodope Mountain
#6 Devetashka Cave
#7 Beglika Dam
#8 WakeЪп! Festival
#9 Sokolov Kamik
#10 Pirin Mountain
#11 Sokolna Hut
#12 My Annual August Adventure/Part One - Irakli
#13 My Annual August Adventure/Part Two - Irakli
#14 My Annual August Adventure/Part Three- Beglika Festival

All the best!
Gabby~

Sort:  

A really wonderful post you have written here and the photos are fantastic! The mountains are wonderfully captured in your photos. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted, resteemed.

Thank you so much! It is a pleasure to share them.

Upvoted and resteemed

thank you for those beautiful photos, enjoyed so much watching them. And going so high, must admit you are brave girl :)

just get a bike and ride down ;),. looks awsome tho

It will be a suicide for sure. Will not last more than 5 seconds. The snow is not enough to cover the rocks.

pends how good you can ride a bike yea :)

Nice pictures!

Would you please put some gaps /space between your pictures? Then I will resteem it.

Done. A resteem is highly appreciated! Thank you for the tip for the gaps between the pictures :)

there is gaps..

One of the best post i've seen here so far. Thank you.

Aww. Thank you! <3

Love your story and photos very much. I am also attached to mountains and hiking :) Following you

Fantastic photography! I hope to see more from you. I occasionally post a few myself, feel free to check my blogs whenever you find time.

Will do :)

"And then, the cows appeared like mystical creatures in the mist." XD

It is trueee :D Moo!

source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30