Bulgaria Is Beautiful #12. My Annual August Adventure/Part One - IraklisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

For the last six years, each August I go on an adventure to the seaside and the mountain. Usually the trip is between 7-20 days and is mostly spent in the wilderness camping.

This year the trip started at Irakli. It is one of the wild beaches in Bulgaria, although in the last couple of years there have been some urbanization, but hopefully the forest will remain wild. What I totally adore about the place is the forest which is very hospitable.
IMG_1173.JPG
There are many bivouacs in the forest and usually I go in a place which is 20 minutes by foot from the beginning of the beach. The further you go, the wilder it gets. It is not everyone's cup of tea. The beach is nudist, which feels great, as the freedom to go around butt-naked and see others people do the same, gives a feel of freedom and natural habitat.
IMG_1172.JPG
The forest is full of animals - this year there were a lot of boars, which stressed me out in the beginning, as a herd walked by my tent and I got scared. I put my food high up in a tree, so the boars do not eat it, but it turned out that there is a loir in the same tree and it ate a bit of my food. I was able to photograph it one night.
IMG_1186.JPG
There are also jackals in the forest and sometimes they howl at night. I realized that we are the ones disturbing the animals, so I am grateful for their hospitality. Here is a sunrise view from my tent.
IMG_1165.JPG
IMG_1164.JPG
And here is a view to my tent.
IMG_1171.JPG
The last two days, I slept on the beach and was able to capture these pictures.
IMG_1191.JPG
IMG_1196.JPG
IMG_1201.JPG
And here are some shots taken during my walks on the beach. Some people go to camp at Irakli for a couple of months, so they have the time to create things like this.
IMG_1184.JPG
This fight was hilarious.
IMG_1174.JPG
The sea was quite stormy, but this guy managed to stand up for some time.
IMG_1176.JPG
A flock of birds passed by. It was majestic, but my camera was not able to capture a lot.
IMG_1182.JPG
I spent only seven days at Irakli, as I had tree more places to visit during my 20 days trip. I did not have time to take a lot of pictures, but I am so happy that I made some new amazing friends. After Irakli, I hitchhiked to Gardina camping to surprise a friend of mine for his birthday, but I did not take any pictures. After that I went to Burgas and was supposed to take a train to Plovdiv, but there were no available tickets in all classes and in the buses as well. Me and my friend Emo had no choice to hitchhike, which was a piece of cake. Here is a picture of us at the art-center street of Plovdiv - Kapana.
IMG_1202.JPG
Our next stop was Orehovo village, which is located in Rhodopa mountain. My next #BulgariaIsBeautiful post will be related to it. Here is a teaser, to keep the interest high.
IMG_1204.JPG

If you enjoyed this trip, you may be interested in the others in the sequence. Here is a list for your convenience.
#1 Marchaevo
#2 Polska Skakavitsa
#3 Zemen's Pit
#4 The Living Water
#5 Rhodope Mountain
#6 Devetashka Cave
#7 Beglika Dam
#8 WakeЪп! Festival
#9 Sokolov Kamik
#10 Pirin Mountain
#11 Sokolna Hut

Thank you for your time.
Best wishes!
Gabby~

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabchik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gabchik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43