Unboxing my 63 oz binge - Part 6-6: My honey hole LCS trip: Panda International Silver Trade Unit

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

The binge continues
This is a continuation of my unboxing of my 63oz binge. This is part 6 of my second trip to my honey hole LCS! I got so lucky the first time I wanted to push my luck. This place is over 3 hours away, and only open M-F and only if the market is open. That takes away much of the time I could get down there, having the markets closed around the holidays makes it tough. I knew this was likely to happen, in the past he has had Hoffman & Hoffman rounds, Golden Analytical Bars, lots of interesting stuff. I tend to buy anything he has that older and looks like it might carry a premium.

Running Total 62oz
JM Bullion Order that Started it all | Provident Order | First JM 10oz Bar | 5oz Silvertowne Bar | 1oz Engelhard bar | 2012 Religious Holiday Bar | 2015 Religious Holiday Bar | Year of of the Rooster | City Liquidators | Western States Refining | 1984 A-MARK THE LIBERTY | Pan American Rounds | TRI-STATE REFINING | Iowa Hawkeye Round | Rarities Mint America The Brave | 1982 Monex International LTD | +1 1982 Monex Intl LTD | OPM Rounds | 1984 A-MARK | 1987 Sea World Holiday Bowl Round | America America International Silver Trade Unit |

Panda International Silver Trade Unit

IMG_0381.JPG

IMG_0382.JPG

Details

Trade Units were commonly used in the 1980s as a way to identify that they were a private mint and not associated with the government.

All unconfirmed but

  • Minted in 1982?
  • Thickness 2.9mm
  • Diameter 39mm

Price Spot +$15

Looks like about $30 USD. Given spot at $15.5 this is a huge markup. I think I am going to have to follow through and sell at the end of this unboxing to get some cash back into my war chest. I think there is another trip coming to in the next few weeks where I could hit the store again. Not sure if a premium is tied to spot price very closely or if the relationship is more inelastic.

I will continue to look at the final 8 ounce - up next the final ounce, number 63! Follow along for the last vintage rounds from my binge!!

Please consider signing up for @dustsweeper to avoid losing upvotes to dust. (Currently capped at two dustsweeper votes per day)!

Stack on!!



SttemSilverGold.jpg

image (1).jpg
(^^ made by Willsparks88)!

Sort:  

That is a hefty premium. Are all Trade Units or only the Panda Trade Units?

It's interesting - not sure if its a thin market or if it will sell quick. I am starting to get together a sale pile to see if I can get some of the premium back.

Three hours each direction or round trip?!! Either way, that is commitment.

That panda 🐼 is purdy cute. 😉

Well, its 15 min from my in-laws house, just so happens they live that far away. Hard part is the the M-F till 5pm, only when the market is open. Hard to get there.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41