Unboxing my 63 oz binge - Part 5-5: My honey hole LCS trip TRI-STATE REFINING

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

The binge continues
This is a continuation of my unboxing of my 63oz binge. This is part 5 of my 32oz buy at my honey hole LCS! This place is over 3 hours away, and only open M-F and only if the market is open. That takes away much of the time I could get down there, having the markets closed around the holidays makes it tough. I knew this was likely to happen, in the past he has had Hoffman & Hoffman rounds, Golden Analytical Bars, lots of interesting stuff. I tend to buy anything he has that older and looks like it might carry a premium.

Running Total 39oz
JM Bullion Order that Started it all | Provident Order | First JM 10oz Bar | 5oz Silvertowne Bar | 1oz Engelhard bar | 2012 Religious Holiday Bar | 2015 Religious Holiday Bar | Year of of the Rooster | City Liquidators | Western States Refining | 1984 A-MARK THE LIBERTY | Pan American Rounds

TRI-STATE REFINING

IMG_0299.JPG
IMG_0298.JPG

Tri-State Facts source

  • In 1973 Lorentz Opdahl started a small business extracting silver from X-ray and other film products (Tri-State) in Hawarden, Iowa. The business prospered. In 1976, Opdahl purchased a gas-fired smelting unit and moved it to his farm near Hudson, South Dakota.
  • In December 1980, much of the Tri-State business moved to Sioux Falls.
  • Tri-State experienced financial difficulties in 1981. It was suspected these difficulties stemmed from internal problems and a private investigator was hired. This investigation led to a 1982 confession by an employee that he had stolen silver from Tri-State.

Price

These look like they carry a bit of a premium on eBay, somewhere around Spot +$5. I know I have a few others buried somewhere in the stack. I will have to dig them out and get a group shot later.

I will keep unboxing the binge below, next up is an Iowa Hawkeyes Round. Follow along for some more vintage rounds!

Please consider signing up for @dustsweeper to avoid losing upvotes to dust. (Currently capped at two dustsweeper votes per day)!

Stack on!!



SttemSilverGold.jpg

image (1).jpg
(^^ made by Willsparks88)

Sort:  

Oh! An eagle that looks like an eagle! Amazing!

I agree actually looks good, after so many bad designs out there

Good looking silver round! I always guard myself against the urge to binge... but I tell ya... it is a forever struggle!

Let the stackitus flow through you and embrace the binge!!

I am glad you have broken this silver buying binge down because I am sure it would have sent some's stackitis into overdrive. Haha! It is a great coin and I like the eagle and liberty bell on the back.

Its been bad for me too! Digging into each one hasn't made it any better. I just want more!!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You just planted 0.16 tree(s)!


Thanks to @nateonsteemit

We have planted already 3675.00 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19191.12
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65540.54
ETH 2608.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65