Unboxing my 63 oz binge - Part 6-4: My honey hole LCS trip: 1987 Sea World Holiday Bowl Round

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

The binge continues
This is a continuation of my unboxing of my 63oz binge. This is part 4 of my second trip to my honey hole LCS! I got so lucky the first time I wanted to push my luck. This place is over 3 hours away, and only open M-F and only if the market is open. That takes away much of the time I could get down there, having the markets closed around the holidays makes it tough. I knew this was likely to happen, in the past he has had Hoffman & Hoffman rounds, Golden Analytical Bars, lots of interesting stuff. I tend to buy anything he has that older and looks like it might carry a premium.

Running Total 59oz
JM Bullion Order that Started it all | Provident Order | First JM 10oz Bar | 5oz Silvertowne Bar | 1oz Engelhard bar | 2012 Religious Holiday Bar | 2015 Religious Holiday Bar | Year of of the Rooster | City Liquidators | Western States Refining | 1984 A-MARK THE LIBERTY | Pan American Rounds | TRI-STATE REFINING | Iowa Hawkeye Round | Rarities Mint America The Brave | 1982 Monex International LTD | +1 1982 Monex Intl LTD | OPM Rounds | 1984 A-MARK

1987 Sea World Holiday Bowl Round

IMG_0383.JPG

IMG_0384.JPG

The Game

  • Between the Iowa Hawkeyes and the Wyoming Cowboys played on Dec 30, 1987
  • Iowa Hawkeyes 20 : Wyoming Cowboys 19
  • Attendance: 61,892
  • The Wyoming Cowboys would be back in 1988 for another appearance in the Holiday Bowl
  • I can't find anything else about the round

The Price

I thought my initial research found this coin carried quite a premium, but now it appears to be rather generic at $2-3 over spot. I will dig a little further to see if I can find older auctions that will give me a better feel for a price.

I will continue to look at the final 8 ounce - up next is the America America International Silver Trade Unit . Follow along for some more vintage rounds!

Please consider signing up for @dustsweeper to avoid losing upvotes to dust. (Currently capped at two dustsweeper votes per day)!

Stack on!!



SttemSilverGold.jpg

image (1).jpg
(^^ made by Willsparks88)!

Sort:  

An interesting round with a story behind it. Not very common for a simple round. I think there should be another round, with the Iowa Hawkeyes.

Agreed - not sure if how you got them back then but pretty cool piece. There is another round for with the Hawkeyes on one side.

No orca! Missed opportunity. 😉

Totally agree, its a good looking round, but an orca with a football would have been better.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44