Unboxing my 63 oz binge - Part 5-6: My honey hole LCS trip. Iowa Hawkeye Round

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

The binge continues
This is a continuation of my unboxing of my 63oz binge. This is part 6of my 32oz buy at my honey hole LCS! This place is over 3 hours away, and only open M-F and only if the market is open. That takes away much of the time I could get down there, having the markets closed around the holidays makes it tough. I knew this was likely to happen, in the past he has had Hoffman & Hoffman rounds, Golden Analytical Bars, lots of interesting stuff. I tend to buy anything he has that older and looks like it might carry a premium.

Running Total 40oz
JM Bullion Order that Started it all | Provident Order | First JM 10oz Bar | 5oz Silvertowne Bar | 1oz Engelhard bar | 2012 Religious Holiday Bar | 2015 Religious Holiday Bar | Year of of the Rooster | City Liquidators | Western States Refining | 1984 A-MARK THE LIBERTY | Pan American Rounds | TRI-STATE REFINING

Iowa Hawkeyes American Argent Mint LTD Round

IMG_0307.JPG

IMG_0309.JPG


American Argent Mint Ltd Facts

I think I have a few others from American Argent Mint LTD, but I have never had much luck in finding much out about them.
Two sources point to their location as Utah
One source points to their location as Provo Utah
Like a lot of mints, they seem to have closed shop abruptly in the 1982 range.

Price

There has only been one other round sound like this on I could find on eBay - and it got a nice hefty $37. I think the premium is coming from the college sports memorabilia not from this mint. This makes the second high dollar piece I scored. This is basically a 2:1 piece for me and if I can convince myself to let it go, I double my silver holding. Although a recent attempted sell of a sweet bar showed me how hard it is to let go of some of vintage stuff, no matter how many times I tell my wife I going to flip this stuff.

I will keep unboxing the binge below, next up is an America the Brave Round. Follow along for some more vintage rounds!

Please consider signing up for @dustsweeper to avoid losing upvotes to dust. (Currently capped at two dustsweeper votes per day)!

Stack on!!



SttemSilverGold.jpg

image (1).jpg
(^^ made by Willsparks88)![IMG_0309.JPG]

Sort:  

The binge continues!

I am starting to get low, 2 more posts for the big buy, then down to the final 8 oz..... Good thing I have gone crazy while I have been posting. Cheap silver is impossible to resist.

Good! How many more ounces?

No idea - I need to go back and check....

Don't count, just buy!

Why do you call it Iowa Hawkeyes?

It's based on the Iowa city sports teem, University of Iowa, called the Hawkeye's

Yup! @darkmrmystic nailed it. College sports mascot the University of Iowa.

Nice Hawker round! I live in the middle of Hawk country, so it's interesting to see silver rounds based on all of it, instead of every article of clothing imaginable lol

Ah nice - I know what you mean, when I walk into Shields they have two types of clothing, UNI & Hawker gear... With no pro teams to split the interest they are deep in to the college sports

Exactly, and then when the wife and the twins walk around in their Raiders gear they get weird looks 😂

Another great addition to the binge @senstless! It is going to be a really cool picture when the entire binge is in one picture.

I know!! I did't take that pic the first time around, so I will need to get it all back out for a glamor shot!!!! My wife always gives me a funny look when I walk outside a arm load of silver!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44