Part TWENTYFOUR: Working For Yourself

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Part 24 of 20.... and counting!

OK, time to let it all hang out there.
Time to see what people really think of your photography.
This will be geared towards those who are interested in selling their images, not as much geared towards work for hire (Wedding, Portrait, Studio, Boudoir, Product Photographers)

steem Logo.jpg

For weeks now, we've covered some business aspects of photography, and some tips and techniques with camera, and software. Now, it's time to see what people actually think of your images. Time to go out there and let total strangers see your work, and judge you!


After some feedback from friends and family, I chose three dozen of the best images I have, and decided I would try it out, offering them for sale. I did a little research, and found some local craft fairs. I booked a booth, and got some tables. I decided to offer my prints unframed, framed, as note cards, and I had my images printed on coasters and cutting boards.

Time to try it out. For real. WITH total strangers!


 a Bluefin-CuttingCoasters.JPG

^ Here's a close up of the coasters and cutting boards for sale in my booth. ^

 a BluefinBooth.JPG

BluefinBooth.jpg

And a few shots of my booth as it has evolved over time.


Lessons learned from me:

• First, and foremost: It's not personal.
Well, it is, but it isn't personal towards you. It's a personal decision, and people either like your image or don't. That's hard to get past for some photographers. Someone will like it enough to buy, or they won't. Convincing someone isn't a matter of selling a car to them. Art is different.

• Price according to the market, and also, according to what you are worth.
If you are at a craft show, chances are, there are a few different photographers, so, check out there work, and their prices. Be competitive.

• Be selective in where you sell. Try anything first, but after you are familiar with it, be selective, and chose only shows that are juried. Only shows where you have to prove your work, before you sign up. this gives you a better shot at being in a show that has paying clients. Shows that let in Home Repair, gutter cleaning, hot tub sales, etc, are NOT going to have clients that make your time worth while.

• Always show new images in new ways, as well as some of your best sellers.
Experiment with new images. Experiment with new sizes, or frames. BTW, don't spend time or money on different colors for frames. People want Black frames. If they truly want something else, let them pick it out.

• Don't tie up your money on inventory that isn't turning over.
Don't fall in love with images that you like, but no one else wants. No need to print out a dozen copies of images that only you will want.

• There are some basic truths in Photography For Sale.
People will spend for Art the truly love. But not everyone will.
Most people will have a price point they can afford. For some, it's $5 (offer your images as note cards), for some it's $35, offer prints at 5x7inches, or 8x10 inches. For some, it's hundreds of dollars (offer large framed images at 18x24 inches).


I've sold matted, and un-matted images. I've sold framed, and unframed. I've sold my images on coffee mugs, on coasters or cutting boards, on magnets, on canvas prints, on cloth bags, aprons, etc. I have sold my images on metal prints, too. Everyone is different, and offering choices will more likely get you a sale than not.

For some images, I have sold only one or two. Some haven't sold at all (including some of my favorites). Some images have sold thousands of times.

Until you try, you never know what people really think of your images.


Part 23 WORK for yourself: Develop and Library Module, Import Dialog
Part 22 WORK for yourself: White Balance
Part 21 WORK for yourself: Steemit Resources
Part 20 WORK for yourself: Marketing Online
Part 19 WORK for yourself: Are You Any Good?
Part 18 WORK for yourself: Geeky Camera Talk
Part 17 WORK for yourself: To Delete, Or Not To Delete
Part 16 WORK for yourself: Rules Are Made For Breakin'
Part 15 WORK for yourself: Long Exposure
Part 14 WORK for yourself: Creating A Panorama
Part 13 WORK for yourself: NIK’s Silver FX Pro Filter
Part 12 WORK for yourself: NIK’s Color Efex Pro Filter
Part 11 WORK for yourself: NIK’s Viveza Filter
Part 10 WORK for yourself: High Pass Filter
Part 9 WORK for yourself: Photoshopping’
Part 8 WORK for yourself: Go To The Light…room!
Part 7 WORK for yourself: From Here To There, My Workflow!
Part 6 WORK for yourself: RAW?JPG? Add Copyright Note
Part 5 WORK for yourself: My Machine, My Hardware!
Part 4 WORK for yourself: More Stuff? More Money!
Part 3 WORK for yourself: Camera? What Camera?
Part 2 WORK For Yourself: Wait? You Charge HOW Much?
Part 1 WORK for Yourself: How Much Can I Make?

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Just starting to create some content, taking shots of my town and writing some small history pieces and poems to go with them. I'm going to make a point of going through the series. Good stuff.

Many thanks, @damianjayclay
Always happy to answer questions, too

I love photography and I collaborate with my partner @hedac he makes his own landscape photography, and I love fantasy photoshoots, but this is useful also for me as an illustrator, I want to find a way to have a little well presented short run prints in mats, I really struggle how to do short-run affordable prints. I see there are some stores that print and sell on demand but still would like to have my own (small sized) prints and maybe coffee mugs too. I need to catch up with all the previous episodes. Thank you. !

There are always options.
Finding someone who has a local print shop and getting to know them is a good first step.

A relationship with them will be good for print on demand.

This is excellent advice! I haven't sold any of my photos in person, so to speak, but I've sold some of them through Fine Art America and such. I completely agree - you won't know if people will buy your shots until you try!

I sell my higher end prints via my website, and offer many options (size, finish, glass, framing, etc)

A friend does use FineArt America, though

Yeah, I haven't gotten to that point (if I ever will). Only so many hours in the day, so the print-on-demand stuff works best for me. Thanks for the info, though!

That's the beauty of me using Zenfolio for my website.
They do the print on demand, framing, etc.
I don't deal at all.

Excellent. 😊

You have shared some really great info! I'm going to have to read the rest of your series. I've been exploring around World of Photography and really enjoying the information and the photos! Thanks for all you're doing.

Thanks.
Happy to see you around WoPhoto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71