Part THIRTEEN: Working For Yourself

in #business6 years ago (edited)

Ahhh... Lucky Thirteen! Silver Efex Pro from NIK
... and post number 1001 for me!

We've peeked at my workflow and seen Color EFex Pro 4 and Viveza 2 in Photoshop.
Now, let's look at NIK's Silver EFex Pro 2. Basically, converting your images to Black and white, with much more control than a simple color channel change.

For this filter to really pop, images should be dramatic, dynamic, or have stark contrasts.
As an example, I'm working on a Powerful Thunderstorm offshore.

steem Logo.jpg

Open an image in Photoshop.
Go to FILTERS> Nik Collection > Silver Efex Pro 2

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.16.28.png

This is the screen for working on Color to Black & White conversion:
Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.17.30.png

On the left, scroll and see dozens of treatment types for color to B&W, from harsh, to smooth, pinhole camera, to antiquing, high key, low key, and more. Play. Try all, and find ones you like as a starting point.

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.20.34.png

I start with what they call "normal" and will use some manual adjustments.


As with Color FX Pro, and Viveza, on the right are the finer controls for manipulating the filter. I can play with structure tones, mid tone, high, shadows, etc, pick which color to base my conversion on (bottom color buttons), etc:

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.21.46.png

In the image I've chosen, there's a fair amount of blues, so, I'll chose there, and work with manipulating how the filter works with those blues into B&W. After using the global adjustments (Right side, top), I'll fine tune a bit, with using some control points, to pick specific colors or tones, to change.

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.22.51.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.22.15.png

Place the control point on the part of the image that needs finer tuning, and a few more sliders appear. Sliding Brightness, Color, Structure allows more fine tuning.

Once happy (is any photographer really happy with there images?) click OK, bottom right.


After you make adjustments, it's time to decide HOW MUCH color, or Black & White you want.

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.23.25.png

Note, right side, back in the main Photoshop window, you see the two layers (original and the one you created in Silver Efex Pro). Decide if you want a completely B&W image (100% Opacity above)

... partially B&W and mostly color:

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.23.52.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.24.35.png


Or? Maybe almost a Duotone?

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.24.03.png

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.25.21.png

Not happy still?
Open Photoshop History, and find the step where you went wrong:

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.25.48.png

Click on the step, and hit the trash button. Remember, once you delete a step, all steps AFTER that point are also removed.


Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.25.26.png

After you are finished making changes, click the three horizontal lines above layers, and flatten your image.

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 10.25.26.png


Which do you prefer: The Tinted Duotype image?

a2 Storms.jpg

Or the strict Black & White?

a3 Storms.jpg

By the way, after I went flattened the image, I went through my standard noise reduction, and despeckle, added a slight blur, and this is what I finished for a print:

a4 Storms.jpg


I'll keep saying it over and over: I'm not you, and you're not me. Each photographer has their own style.
Find your style! You never know, you might find when something new works for you.
Some of these tips are updates and come from my Studio Blog.


Previous in this series:

Part 12 WORK for yourself: NIK’s Color Efex Pro Filter
Part 11 WORK for yourself: NIK’s Viveza Filter
Part 10 WORK for yourself: High Pass Filter
Part 9 WORK for yourself: Photoshopping’
Part 8 WORK for yourself: Go To The Light…room!
Part 7 WORK for yourself: From Here To There, My Workflow!
Part 6 WORK for yourself: RAW?JPG? Add Copyright Note
Part 5 WORK for yourself: My Machine, My Hardware!
Part 4 WORK for yourself: More Stuff? More Money!
Part 3 WORK for yourself: Camera? What Camera?
Part 2 WORK For Yourself: Wait? You Charge HOW Much?
Part 1 WORK for Yourself: How Much Can I Make?

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 4 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Release the Kraken! You got a 1.47% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @bluefinstudios!

This post has received gratitude of 1.83% from @appreciator courtesy of @bluefinstudios!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66177.69
ETH 3483.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16