Part TWELVE: Working For Yourself

in #business6 years ago

Color EFeX Pro 4 filter from NIK

Last post, I looked at my workflow and Viveza 2 in Photoshop.
This is another dive into some filters within Photoshop. Today, I look at NIK's Color EFex.

In my workflow process with NIK's Color EFex, sometimes, the entire image needs a certain treatment. For me, there are some less than perfect images, ones that I won't offer for sale, but might post on Ello, or GooglePlus, I try and fix some of the shortcomings of the image.

I know that some images with Trees can be enhanced by some really judicious use of the Foliage filter: an overall green enhancement. Sometimes, some will use a filter to warm an image, or some give a small graduated filter to an otherwise flat, plain blue sky. Here, I will take us through my workflow using Color EFex Pro.

steem Logo.jpg

Open an image in Photoshop.
Go to FILTERS> Nik Collection > Color Efex Pro 4

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 13.45.13.png

Here's what you are looking at:
Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 13.46.36.png

Click on the top left, ALL, to see all choices listed in Filters Available.

Screen Shot 2018-03-04 at 10.26.47.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-04 at 10.27.02.png

I've marked my two favorites (the Yellow Star): Detail Extractor, and Tonal Contrast. They get the most use, from me.
Only a few images will get a few others: Foliage, Graduated Filters, sometimes Dynamic Skin Softener, sometimes Indian Summer


Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 13.46.40.png

Here's a look at the sliders for Detail Extractor:

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 13.47.16.png

Add a little more Detail crunch and look at the Wolf's fur!
... and the snow in the background.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 13.47.44.png

For comparison below, I have chosen Tonal Contrast:
(not as effective at enhancing the image)

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 13.51.17.png

As with NIK's Viveza, Color EFex works on a new layer, too.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 13.52.39.png

I usually chose to blend the old and new layer with Filter but almost always pick less than 100%.
Here: I chose 79% to blend the two.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 13.52.57.png

Click OK in lower Right, and wait for Photoshop to mix the two layers.
Again, I flatten the image: (see image above, three little horizontal lines on the right, below the trash can)

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 11.54.51.png

Once the image is flattened, I do a Save As and rename the image.


There are dozens and dozens of Filters within Nik's ColorEfex. My describing them will only scratch the surface. I strongly encourage you to open an older image of a person and try using Dynamic Skin Softener Open a scene with trees and play with the different green points and the trees. Try a boring sky, and add a Graduated Filter


Don't just follow my boring old examples... give a few of your own a try! I'll keep saying it over and over: I'm not you, and you're not me. Each photographer has their own style. Find yours!


You never know, you might find when something new works for you.
Some of these tips are updates and come from my Studio Blog.

Past in the series:

Part 11 WORK for yourself: NIK’s Viveza Filter
Part 10 WORK for yourself: High Pass Filter
Part 9 WORK for yourself: Photoshopping’
Part 8 WORK for yourself: Go To The Light…room!
Part 7 WORK for yourself: From Here To There, My Workflow!
Part 6 WORK for yourself: RAW?JPG? Add Copyright Note
Part 5 WORK for yourself: My Machine, My Hardware!
Part 4 WORK for yourself: More Stuff? More Money!
Part 3 WORK for yourself: Camera? What Camera?
Part 2 WORK For Yourself: Wait? You Charge HOW Much?
Part 1 WORK for Yourself: How Much Can I Make?

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71