Day 20: The Art Of The Steemit Reply (30 Days Of Steemit Success)

in #steemit7 years ago

When starting out, your replies to other people's blogs and comments is your fastest way to making some steady rewards, but there is an art to it.

I have been delegated 1,000 SP to help new Steemonians find Steemit Success. Over the month of September I will be posting daily about different strategies, tips and tricks to help you become the best Steemoninan you can be. You can start at the beginning if you want.

30 Days Of Steemit Success

Commenting can be very rewarding when you first starting out and trying to catch the eyes of some dolphins and whales. There is a trick to it, but there is only one true rule... be authentic.

Don't fake a comment. Don't talk about stuff you don't know and don't comment if you don't read.

If you are authentic and actually read the post, then you if you follow these steps you should find your rewards increase from your comments.

1. Look For A Unique Perspective

When you are reading a blog, look for something in the blog you can relate to or you have experience with. Try to find a way to relate to the writer and it will bring more validity and perspective to your reply.

2. Complement The Writer

Generally if you take the time to read a blog post and then take the time to make a comment then you most likely liked part if not all of the blog. Make sure you complement the writer for something that they did that impressed you. Don't kiss ass though. Nobody likes a kiss ass. lol

3. What Did You Learn?

If you learned something from the blog post, then let the writer know. If you gained knowledge and the blog added value to your life then make sure your reply is equal to to the value that they offered. 

4. What Can You Add?

What else can you bring to the conversation that would add value to the writer or other people reading the blog and the comments? Look for ways your unique perspective and your experiences can add something maybe somebody else missed.

5. Engage In Comments

If you read a post and then see a great comment, make sure you let the writer know that you appreciate their comment. You should always do this on your blogs, but people who take time to write a solid reply on a blog post will always appreciate you think they did a good job.


Overall, look for ways to add value when you comment. If you find ways to add value by following the above steps, you will see a dramatic increase in your rewards.

Today's Question

What kind of replies do you like to leave on blog posts?

The best comments will be 100% upvoted and added to the eBook for 30 Days of Steemit Success.

Thank you for reading Day 20: The Art Of The Steemit Reply.  This blog is part of a project that @dragosroua and @alexvan are supporting. I am deeply appreciative of their support for my project. The 30 Days of Steemit Success will be a series of blogs posted daily on Steemit to help new Steemonians. All of the blogs will be put together to create an eBook that will be available for download in October for all Steemonians for free.

To my followers, you are the gallery to my Steemit art.

Sort:  

Just stumbled upon your series and it looks like i'll have a lot of catching up to do. Thanks for the large font, it's getting tougher to read the older i get. I like to leave encouraging and often funny replies on blog posts. Something to help remember me. Of course i thought i was the most interesting man on steemit...... lol

yes, yes, and yes. I actually really appreciate comments on my page very much. It's quite rare but I love the personal touch. I don't think people should be on steem completely for the money.

I really enjoy it for the innovative ideas and its productivity.

Hope all is well man!

I respect your persistence, the reply depends on the topic if I find it interesting then I leave commentary relevant to the post or a reference to the series joke or picture in question.

So true, I first started out with commenting and getting my first payout. My posts just cannot get any upvote (not even 1 cent). I did my best to comment and did what you mention too and it did work out! It is about engaging the people and of course, I cannot expect them to do anything in return. Nevertheless, when I make a consistent move which I did, it really raised their attention. Now, at least I am lucky enough to have some upvotes from them :) Gonna keep Steeming and create value. Thanks @walkingkeys for the great advice as well.

What kind of replies do you like to leave on blog posts?

I think you covered it quite well in your write up, To sum it all up be Honest people value that, they know if you are being a suck-up, you may as well just type f4f if you suck up. Make the comment usefull to yourself, the other readers, and especially to the Author of the post.

Definitely, I like to post constructive replies, trying to maintain a conversation.
Have a nice day and keep posting!!

I tend to only upvote comments that add value/content to the blog entry and community (clarifications, error corrections, pointers towards other relevant content, ...)
A mere, "thank you, great post!" or even the lengthier versions don't get my upvote. This is my personal opinion but I have noted most people reason like this. This is not facebook. Our vote is worth something to the votee. I rather spend my vote on a good blog entry than on a contentless comment.

Thanks for this advice. It'll go a long way in helping the minnows - like me.

Thank you for supporting the community, and making sure that you want it to grow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45