Day 4: How To Make SBD When Starting Out (30 Days Of Steemit Success)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When you are first getting started it is hard to grow your SBD and STEEM Power, but here are a few ways you can do it.

I have been delegated 1,000 SP to help new Steemonians find Steemit Success. Over the month of September I will be posting daily about different strategies, tips and tricks to help you become the best Steemoninan you can be. You can start at the beginning if you want.


When you are first starting out, there are a few great ways to earn some SBD. Here are a couple suggestions.

Contesting

When I first got here, I competed in a bunch of contests and even won the ability to do these posts with a bonus $1,200 in allocated SP because of a contest. When I first got here I won a few of them and got some SBD. I lost some, but had a great time doing it. 

Here are few accounts to follow if you want to try a contest.

  • @Papa-Pepper - This guy rocks. He runs some of the best and highest paying contests on Steemit. You have to give him a follow. 
  • @ArbitraryKitten - She and I started around the same time and she has grown into a powerhouse on Steemit. You need to follow her because she does all kinds of cool contests.
  • @steemitlotteries - Want to try the lottery, check out this account. I won a lottery a while ago and got some SBD. It is worth a shot!
  • @nanzo-scoop - I am a huge fan of Nanzo Scoop and if you like Soccer, he has some great contests that he runs himself. He is just a great person to follow and I highly recommend him.

These are just a few people and accounts if you like contests or want to give one a try. When you first getting started, it is a great way to get to know people and possibly win some SBD. Keep an eye out for contests when you see them! 


Replying

One of the very best ways to make some SBD and get your account growing early is to reply to some of the more established Steemonians. 

Search for people that have a rating over 60 and give honest feedback and add value and you will likely get a vote in return. Not only will this help you build up your account, but it will get you noticed by some of the bigger dolphins and whales on the site. You can't fake it though, you have to give good replies and actually read the posts. 


It's Not All About The Money

When you are reply and posting, it isn't all about the money, but making SBD and STEEM is important to growing your account and power on Steemit. The more Steem Power you have, the more your votes are worth. When I first started out, I converted almost all of my SBD to Steem Power to help grow my account. 

(All gifs from www.giphy.com)

I didn't focus on making money, but just got involved in things that had the potential to earn more for my time.  If you do the above things, you will see your earnings increase early and give you a jump start on building your STEEM Power.

Today's Question

Who puts on the best Steemit contests in your opinion. List them in the comments below.

The best comments will be 100% upvoted and added to the eBook for 30 Days of Steemit Success.Thank you for reading Day 3: Be Cool.  

This blog is part of a project that @dragosroua and @alexvan are supporting. I am deeply appreciative of their support for my project. The 30 Days of Steemit Success will be a series of blogs posted daily on Steemit to help new Steemonians. All of the blogs will be put together to create an eBook that will be available for download in October for all Steemonians for free.

To my followers, you are the roots to my growing Steemit tree. Thank you!

Sort:  

Dig it!I just won a contest from @papa-pepper. He just started a season 8 of his Wild an Strange contest.
There's a lot going on when you dive into the community open mic is a great one for musicians.

Papa puts on the best contests in my opinion. Great call with the open mic. I'll add that to the book for sure.

Papa kills it! :)

If you're collaborating for another post, there are some other music ones that are more spread out if you're compiling. @vegancap does some in his Music League.

Also, @bambam808 does Steemit's got Talent

I don't think I've even scoured #contests yet

Absolutely, getting involved. Spending time on Discord and interacting with people that have a common interest are the best ways to get going. Nothing gets the writing juices going more than a good picture... I liked @Gmuxx's Art prompt writing contest. It does two things. Brings attention to a Steemit Artist and brings out all those closet writers. Here's a link to his latest Contest. Check it out and encourge more cross community contests like this one.

https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/art-prompt-writing-contest-2

Great suggestion. I will make sure to add this. thank you for sharing!!!

@stellabelle, she ran a contest for steemfest 2, a very generous contest. Not just one winner either, it was 2 winners. She showed great respect for steemit, and a very willing and helping heart/hand to people interested in attending steemfest2 in Lisbon. Country of origin of entries no factor.

Submit your video describing why I should choose you to win an all expenses paid trip to Steemfest2. You have one week left, as the August 31, 2017 deadline is fast approaching.

Very very generous class act, el numero uno with a bullet, Lady of steemit.

Great and informative post thank you so mush 👌 of course i will follow you 😊

Thank you! I'll follow you too. I appreciate you reading. Welcome to Steemit.

One of the first contest that I tried was @literature-trail and it's fifty word contest. It is weekly contest and allows you win to some sbd. Here is a -> link. This is a great way to focus your creative poet energy. Basically write less than 50 words and make it fit a theme.

I like the contests that @maarnio puts on.

Each daily contest post shows a chart for a crypto currency and a projection of future value based on a financial theory. Then he has three ways for you to vote in the comments

  • agree with the projection
  • think the projection is too high
  • think the projection is too low

Then he does summary posts to lets us know trends.

I like these because I am new to crypto and at least I am learning the names of these crazy things as I go along.

He has been doing them daily since April or so - dedication!

I like contests and you have some I do not know about so I will go check them out. Thank you for doing this big effort. Much appreciated.

Thanks for all the recommendations of contest organizers.
I had not really found interest in contest,but i am now in because of you.

Worth reading post it is, indeed! i am very thankful to you sir for showing me the path to progress. I wan not aware about the contests and the people who run them I am going to follow them to fight with myself for sublimity. Your all post concerning 30 days journey of Steemit Success are superb and motivating.

Interesante lo de los concursos, me llamo la atención el concurso de fotografía de @ Papa-Pepper , este personaje me hizo acordar de Crocodile Hunter , con la diferencia que este no comía larvas :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62