Day 5: How To Make Your Posts Stand Out (30 Days Of Steemit Success)

in #steemit7 years ago

When you are getting started it is hard to get traction, but here are some ways to get attention and make your blog posts stand out on Steemit.

I have been delegated 1,000 SP to help new Steemonians find Steemit Success. Over the month of September I will be posting daily about different strategies, tips and tricks to help you become the best Steemoninan you can be. You can start at the beginning if you want.

It is hard to get people to notice your blogs in the beginning, but if you do these things it will help. I will explore some of these in more depth later, but knowing the basics when you start can really help.

Headlines

One of the most important things to focus on is the headline. The headline is the single most important factor when people decide if they are going to click on your post. Your headline should not be rushed. Think about it. What is the best way to draw people in to your article.

Many times when I write, I start with a great headline and then work backwards. Other times I write it last and go through several drafts of headlines. Make sure it is captivating, but not clickbait. It needs to talk about your post.

One thing you don't want to do is.... My Day At The Market

You can make it better by adding intrigue or importance. Or ask a question...

Good Example: The Best Little Farmers Market In Montana

Good Example: Do You Know Where You Can Find The Best Little Farmer's Market?

Take your time and put thought into writing the headlines. Writing a good headline can make or break a post. 

Tags

Do not undervalue the tags on your post. Take the time to really research and use the best tags possible. You want the highest ranked tag on Steemit that is still relevant to your blog first. Here are the topped ranked tags on Steemit today.

Make sure when you add tags, you use as many of the above tags that fit your content. You only can use five so make them count.

DO NOT ADD TAGS THAT HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR POST

Pictures

Always add a picture and credit each picture you post. It is very important. If you post multiple pictures it is always the first one. If you embed a YouTube video, your picture will be the video thumbnail pic. 

A good picture will help get people to click on your post. Try and use custom images where you can. I've made them in Photoshop. I've used PowerPoint and other tools to create custom images. I don't do it on every post, but I have similar images for each one of this series. It can be important and people can get used to seeing your pictures and look for them. Especially if they are easy to spot ind distinguishable. 

First Sentence

When you post your blog, the first sentence is used as a preview. Like the headline, this is important. You don't want to give away the whole blog in the first line, you want to draw people in. A lot of people overlook this key concept, but you don't want to. 

Make sure that you are paying attention the the first sentence in your blog and make it captivating. Make it an extension of your headline and get people interested. Don't overlook this step.

So there you go, a few things to really make your posts stand out. If you put some thought and care into writing good headlines, using good tags, good pictures and an exciting first sentence, you will succeed.

(www.giphy.com)

Today's Question

What is the headline to the post that got you the most votes? 

The best comments will be 100% upvoted and added to the eBook for 30 Days of Steemit Success.

Thank you for reading Day 5: Be How To Make Your Posts Stand Out.  This blog is part of a project that @dragosroua and @alexvan are supporting. I am deeply appreciative of their support for my project. The 30 Days of Steemit Success will be a series of blogs posted daily on Steemit to help new Steemonians. All of the blogs will be put together to create an eBook that will be available for download in October for all Steemonians for free.

To my followers, you are the sunshine on my bright Steemit day. Thank you!

Sort:  

I am really enjoying this series, I have been recruiting friends and family to join the Steemit world and I will be definitely sending them to your posts, great advice for starters! Also, my most upvoted post yet was "BABY Nursery Prep! DIY" :)

You rocked it with that post. Well deserved. One of the reasons I want to put all of these into an eBook is so we all can send to people who just get started.
Thanks for the reply.

Another great post! My highest voted headline was A Peek Inside (22 Upvotes). I shared a picture of my latest WIP. Finished that today. Highest paying headline was The Caterpillar Speaks: My Shroomcation ($10.32). A bucket list experience that I decided to write about due to interest in a comment I had made.
Thanks for your help as always, @walkingkeys!
See ya next time!
Mo

Two awesome examples. Great stuff. I'll be adding these to the book.

YAYYYY! Glad I could be helpful! Tonight's headline is The Bones Of Partridge Park - My First Flash Fiction. I'm anxious to see how the voting goes.

great post, thank you for the information.

you are more than welcome.

Unlike molovelly, I have one headline that made it to double digits,"Hello, already found somethings, now saying Hi", My introductory post. But not too concerned with it, votes, views and comments will come in time as I learn, and then put into use what I have learned. Like "Include" a picture. I think you are doing wonderful on this project so far, and it is helping me, so many good comments.

@walkingkeys The titles of your topics sound really good, inspiring and helpful for newbies:))

Upvoted and resteemed!

@steemit.global motive is encouraged to steemers from {Resteemed and Upvote}.

Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate it.

Thanks! I'm going to bookmark this post....:)

Did you know about this app? That allows you to bookmark posts?
https://steemit.com/steemit/@julzee/how-to-get-steemit-comment-upvote-reply-notifications

That is cool. I'll check it out. Thanks for bookmarking.

The title and first sentence are really important in the blogging world.
We are in a noisy world where so much info is churned out every second.

We need a a catchy title.
My headline with the highest votes of 33 is here(wrote it 17 days ago)

4 incredible Guys who have made Steemit Grow Massively in the last 3 months! You must thank them.

¿Cuál es el título para el post que le dio más votos? ahora no puedo responder quizás mas adelante se lo haré saber, voy a tomar en cuenta su guía para hacer mis artículos y comentarios, he aprendido cosas muy importantes y despejado algunas dudas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59