Day 9: Finding Your Voice On Steemit (30 Days of Steemit Success)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

There is one thing that all new Steemonians face, and that is finding their voice. Finding your niche and how to match what you want to say to what Steemit wants to read.

I have been delegated 1,000 SP to help new Steemonians find Steemit Success. Over the month of September I will be posting daily about different strategies, tips and tricks to help you become the best Steemoninan you can be. You can start at the beginning if you want.

30 Days Of Steemit Success

What Do You Know?

When you are first getting started on Steemit, one of the best ways to get active is to just start blogging. Introduce your self and then start trying to blog on a regular basis. The hardest part can be trying to figure out what to write.

Start with what you know. If you know architecture, share pictures of famous buildings and give your insight to why they are so wonderful. If you are a teacher, talk about great lesson plans and tips for learning. If you are a doctor, give home remedies and talk about other things that people should look out for. If you are a stay at home mom, talk about raising children and give tips that you have learned. If you know how to cut trim Christmas trees... share it.

When you are starting it is easiest to write about the things you know. We all have life experiences that would be beneficial to other people.  Just don't be afraid to share them.

What Are You Learning?

A lot of people on Steemit talk about things they are learning and give good suggestions or tips to readers. There is a growing crypto community and on Steemit a lot of those people are witting blogs about what they learn and share pitfalls to avoid. 

If you are learning to paint, then post a series on how you are learning and take the lessons you are getting and translate them into blogs for the Steemit community. If you are in college and taking a business course, do the same thing. Translate what you are learning in class to something you can write a blog about.

When you get stuck and don't know what to write about, just learn something news and share that process online with you Steemit followers. 

Grow From What Works

When you write a blog and it gets a better response than your other ones, try to explore topics related to the one you wrote. For example. If you wrote about canning pears for the winter and it did very well, then do another one on canning apples. Then do one on canning meats. Then do one on long-term food preparation.

If you take steps and expand from where you know you got a good response you could find a topic that you know a lot about and you can keep growing from what works. Build on a foundation that you know gets a response.

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

This is a great tactic that I use. When I write something that gets a good response, I try to find other topics around that one that Interest me and I could write about. 

Don't Be Afraid To Try

Just because you are not an expert in crypto, doesn't mean that your experiences are not valuable to readers.  If you used a website and had a good or bad experience, that could be a good blog. Just don't be afraid to try out different things. If you wait until you are an expert, we'll be waiting forever. 

If I waited to talk about Steemit after I was and expert, I still wouldn't have written a single page. I have written on Steemit to both solidify my understanding and to help other new people. Notice I am not writing blogs on how to help Whales... because I don't have that experience. I do write about how to start and grow a solid Steemit profile in a couple of months. I'm not claiming you can make millions, but I'm claiming you can make $50-$100 a week writting blogs because that is what I am doing. I have that experience. I'm not an expert, just a guy sharing his experiences.

If you do the same, you'll be fine. You'll find your voice if you explore the above strategies and you can grow. Your voice will emerge as you are not afraid to explore new things or as you explore deeper into thing that you already know. Your voice will come out as you talk about how you learn and what you are learning. Most importantly, your voice will become heard if you allow yourself to speak... now get writing!

Today's Question

How Do You Decide What To Write?

The best comments will be 100% upvoted and added to the eBook for 30 Days of Steemit Success.

Thank you for reading Day 9: Finding Your Voice On Steemit.  This blog is part of a project that @dragosroua and @alexvanare supporting. I am deeply appreciative of their support for my project. The 30 Days of Steemit Success will be a series of blogs posted daily on Steemit to help new Steemonians. All of the blogs will be put together to create an eBook that will be available for download in October for all Steemonians for free.

I was a little late on yesterday's and will catch up tonight. Sorry for the delay. Had a friend that needed my immediate attention.

To my followers, you are simply... AWESOME!

Sort:  

nice post come check my articles out sometimes @crypto-pro haha
I followed you :0 :)

Most of what I wrote was just off the cuff ramblings. I did not really sit and think about what I wanted to write at the beginning. Now I try to think about what I want to write a little bit more.


I enjoy reading, a lot, one of the things I had a problem with was lack of TOC for some of the Authors, so being the selfish individual I am I made a couple of TOC, so that I could get to the stories easier. Then I learned that well, you can not edit beyond a few days. So that was an effort in futility.
So now I have decided to do a small steemmag, I will be linking them all together, that way I have a ready source for myself to go back to and see if I missed some new work by an Author when I have a hard time finding something new to read. A purely selfish Idea, but one that others can use also.

"How Do You Decide What To Write?"

I don't really make a clear decision, I rather get an idea. If the idea grows and I get a vision of what I want to pass on to others, then I start to take action and write about it.

I'm writing about places that I'm visiting and about the new things that I learn and worth being shared.

Being new on steemit, I find your posts really helpful,so a big thank you :) https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@lizelle/hi-steemit-this-is-lizelle-from-laid-back-city-of-durban
I'm still trying hard to write a post that appeals to steemians, not into crypto although I find it fascinating!
I generally enjoy sharing good positive stories of encouragment or funnies.
Run my own guesthouse, so shared my knowledge of that & did a howto four part series on setting up a guesthouse but did not get much response to that, so I guess not too many steemians are interested in that. Some did like the post about our monkeys - https://steemit.com/wildlife/@lizelle/monkey-mischief-at-lily-s-cottage
Then decided to do a post on my job in the corporate world as a GIS Technician, as someone asked what that was, got a slightly better response - https://steemit.com/steemit/@lizelle/what-is-a-gis-technician.
Love cooking and wrote about chicken multiplied 3 ways (almost like a story)
https://steemit.com/food/@lizelle/one-chicken-multiplied-three-ways
Did a post on direct debit fraud, as a warning to others to watch their bank accounts, by the way, wish we could do away with banks and only use crypto currencies!!! https://steemit.com/money/@lizelle/rogue-direct-debits
Although I'm still a lone voice in this world of steemit, I'm really enjoying blogging, reading, sharing opinions and making new friends, so will keep on steeming and learning.

What an insightful post, I tend to add humor in everything I write about, because laughter is the best medicine, and even a serious topic goes down a little better with humor...that's just me, but I also try to chose topics that are current, and of course as you mentioned something I can relate to and share. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59