Day 12: The Art Of Resteeming (30 Days Of Steemit Success)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Resteeming a blog is a great way to let your followers see great content they may have missed, but there is an art to it. 

I have been delegated 1,000 SP to help new Steemonians find Steemit Success. Over the month of September I will be posting daily about different strategies, tips and tricks to help you become the best Steemoninan you can be. You can start at the beginning if you want.

30 Days Of Steemit Success

Resteeming someone's blog is a great way to support Steemonians, share good content and sometimes even a prerequisite for entering a contest. When resteeming, there are three things to remember.

1. Don't Do It Too Much

You don't want to resteem too much if you are posting regular blogs. If you are here to just read content, then it is completely fine to resteem often. If you post content and want people to see it, then when you resteem too much, people may miss your content.

When people visit your blog and scroll down they will see a ton of resteems if you do it too often. You won't be able to make your content stand out.

This is especially important if you enter a lot of contests and must resteem to enter. If your followers see tons of contests shared by you it could make them disinterested in your content and they stop noticing you in their feed. Just be careful to not resteem too much! Space out when you enter contests and be aware that if you resteem too much, it will make your content harder to standout.

2. Don't Do It Too Little

When you resteem it says something. It says that you respect what the author wrote and in some ways it is the highest complement you can give. Especially if you have a lot of followers. Resteeming is something that you want to do, but not all the time. You also don't want to be one of those people that never resteems. 

People remember when you resteem them and they greatly appreciate it, so it is important to do it at least every once in a while. It is the right thing to do.

3. Resteem The Best Or Most Helpful

When you resteem, your followers will appreciate it if you share the very best of Steemit or the most helpful blogs you find. Not only will your followers appreciate you adding value to their feed, but Steemit becomes more valuable the more we share the best content.

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

There is an art to resteeming. You can do it too much, you can do it too little, but there is a fine line in the middle. Find the right amount for you, but always share the best of Steemit.

Today's Question

How often and why do you resteem?

The best comments will be 100% upvoted and added to the eBook for 30 Days of Steemit Success.

Thank you for reading Day 12: The Art Of Resteeming.  This blog is part of a project that @dragosroua and @alexvan are supporting. I am deeply appreciative of their support for my project. The 30 Days of Steemit Success will be a series of blogs posted daily on Steemit to help new Steemonians. All of the blogs will be put together to create an eBook that will be available for download in October for all Steemonians for free.

Sort:  

Great series and title ! This way you get to provide a detailed insight in each post, unlike many I've seen before. I will be going back to the ones I've missed and see if any of your tips might work for me.... I just need to begin posting something, if only I had the time to just write...

I have only been on steemit for 42 days and probably have at least 42 resteems, so i guess on average I resteem once a day. Most of them have to do with stories, or writing. Some of them I just found fun and or interesting, and thought that other people might like them also. I did wonder why on some days thinking that I should do something, but for a few days all I did was re-steem. When I have nothing to day, I know someone out there wants to spread their thoughts. Still though I would like to see the Blog/Post, and Resteems broken and moved away from each other, It is time for re-steem to have it's own tab

To answer to you question, I've only been resteeming since the day I opened my account. Except for one initial 'test post', I have only been resteeming posts I found provided me with an insight on the Steem platform and the way it is being used. I also resteem any post I found really provocative or posts that I needed to bookmark because they were so long and I needed to read again. Up until 14 days ago I was resteeming very regularly. A lot of my resteems were from the new feeds and from members that I am now following. Over the weeks, I've resteemed posts from my following and then added more posts from the 'new' feeds. I try to comment on all the posts that I resteem as well because clearly they have grabbed my attention in one way or another that inspired me to reply with some hought. I try now to minimize the resteems because I wish the platform had a separate place on my blog just to place all the resteems. I have over 100 posts there now that are not my own and it doesn't feel right somehow. I did notice however that since, I haven't gained as many followers. I've gained over 400 followers so far just commenting and resteeming. It is interesting how all this happens naturally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 63222.17
ETH 3486.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53