Day 8: The 5 Steps To Finding A Steemit Mentor (30 Days Of Steemit Success)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

One of the best things you can do to help your Steemit career is finding a good whale mento.  Don't kiss ass... can't do that. Here are some tips to help you navigate and find a Steemit Mentor.

I have been delegated 1,000 SP to help new Steemonians find Steemit Success. Over the month of September I will be posting daily about different strategies, tips and tricks to help you become the best Steemoninan you can be. You can start at the beginning if you want.

30 Days Of Steemit Success

Step 1 - What Is Interesting To You?

When you are looking for a Steemit mentor, or someone that has a lot of influence that can help you get your feet on solid ground, the first step is to start by searching a topic you find interesting. Don't just find the biggest whale and start praising them in a post... they get that all the time. 

Find one that is posting content about a topic you really like. Once you pick a topic, then look through the trending feed. Find a whale that is putting out content that you like and engage with that person.

Step 2 - Read Every Word

Once you find a whale's post that you like, read it. I mean really read it. Like you have to take a test on it. Read with the intent on writing a great reply. Read with the goal of providing unique value to the whale. 

Do not skim and comment, "Wow, great post. Thanks!" or "Amazing... can you follow me"

First of all don't ever ask anyone to follow you... under any circumstances. Really spend time with their post. If it is a video, watch it all the way through. If it is a picture, stop and take a few minutes to look at it and find something unique to talk about in your reply.

Step 3 - Vote and Reply

When you reply, you should have a lot to say about a whale's post because they are all really good and you spent a lot of time reading it. When you are replying, take your time and think out what you are going to say. Really try to add some unique perspective or some really strong supporting statement in your comment. If you can, ask a really great question if you have a legitimate one. 

Don't ask for anything, just give a great reply with some creative or useful insight. Maybe even a personal experience that you have in common with the writer. Just be yourself and post a great reply.

Step 4 - Do It All Again

Just because you left a great reply, don't think this person is going to stop everything they are doing and upvote you, follow you and vote on all your posts. That isn't how it works. You have to be consistent and bring a lot of value to them or to Steemit in general. Most of the active whales want Steemit to grow and want to engage with new fish. You just have to get their attention.


Step 5 - Write A Post About Them

One of the best things you can do to get noticed by a whale and get taken under their wing is to start writing about them. Now, you don't want to be creepy and you don't overdo it. Find something they talked about and had some great insight, then write a blog about it and add your thoughts on the topic and get other's to engage in comments.

When you are writing a blog about a similar topic, tell your readers if they liked your blog, they would really like this similar post by...

Find ways to incorporate the hard work the whale is doing into commentary and content that you are providing. Don't steal, but just show respect. You can't fake this. There are so many great people on here, and so many talented and friendly whales, it is easy to find one that you really respect. Really don't over do it.  

When you write a blog that mentions a whale, go share the link in the comment section on the post that inspired it. Remember don't ask them for anything... just say something like... "I enjoyed your insight on this post so much that it inspired me to write one on the same topic. I mentioned you and wanted you to know. Thanks for all you do."

That is so much better than just saying... "Go read the blog I wrote about this blog..." 

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

The main thing is keeping up the honest feedback and effort and you will see the whale start to reciprocate the respect. 

The key is to watch what the whale is doing while you are going back to read the new ones. See how they formulate their content, headlines and pictures. Notice the tags. See what ones are getting a better response than the others? Really take the time to learn from that Steemonian. Think of them as a mentor and you will see them start supporting your work more and more... as long as you are putting out good content.


On a personal note... a person who I consider my whale mentor is @nanzo-scoop - without a doubt he has helped me out so much and I deeply appreciate his support. He is a great guy to follow. Thank you Nanzo!

Today's Question

Do you have a dolphin or whale that you look up to? Who is it and why?

The best comments will be 100% upvoted and added to the eBook for 30 Days of Steemit Success.

Thank you for reading Day 8: The 5 Steps To Finding A Steemit Mentor.  This blog is part of a project that @dragosroua and @alexvanare supporting. I am deeply appreciative of their support for my project. The 30 Days of Steemit Success will be a series of blogs posted daily on Steemit to help new Steemonians. All of the blogs will be put together to create an eBook that will be available for download in October for all Steemonians for free.

To my followers, you mentor me through the Steemit waters. I appreciate you.

Sort:  

I'm following @alexvan and @dragosroua. Not that I need to get their help or attention, but because I like how they contribute to the success of the steemit community. That's the same reason for reading you, and I'm convinced that steemit can be really different, if only 10% of users will be like us..

Two great ones. They will be added for sure to the "Great People To Follow" section in the book. Thank you for the kind words.

Another GREAT one, @walkingkeys! Good that you added the links to the previous posts, as I read the first one, and then got overwhelmed with other stuff. I think thee concept of "whale" is an elusive one. I personally would consider YOU to be a whale. That is, a Steemian may not have a super-huge following, but STILL be a "whale" in terms of the QUALITY of information, and their general style of communicating, etc. This is why I think that people ascend to "whale" status at different paces. Regardless, you are making great progress with this series, and I am reading each one. Keep it up...

Boom! And that is how it's done!

Would you like to see my bunghole?

Thank you so much for the kind words and the long-time support.

You have really done a brilliant job. Hats off to you for this noble cause. You know, i made account on steemit before two months and i was keeping observing the whales and trying to seek their attention through my comments on their posts but unfortunately i was failed again and again , may be because i was not going to the height of relevancy or may be, i was lacking that all steps you suggest through this post. As i am new and i have no mentor/guide to show me real path to grow mature on steemit. I am going to follow and read your this 30 days course to learn a great deal to survive on Steemit with positive gestures . You are right at the point that one will have to be very much original here with a better criticism.

Thanks for the kind words. I'll help you out. Just give me a link to something you want me to read and I'll do it and give you some pointers. I check out your profile and offer some suggestions. I'll be happy to do it. I may not do it immediately but within a day.

I am delighted to hear such the beautiful/mind consoling and encouraging words from you.. Sure, i shall send you the link of my post for the analysis with suggestion for the wanted writing/posts. Blessings!

That is a tough one for me, There are two people that I really look up to on here and to try and pick one over the other would be really hard. I guess the first one would be @stellabelle, I really don't know how I found her, saw a post I guess, left a comment, promoted someone, @greenrun, who I found to be an exceptional writer, for one of her contest.

I don't know if you or your followers know about her but she has a heart of solid 24 carat gold. The contest that she just finished, an all expense paid trip to steemfest in Lisbon. Not for just one person, but for two. That is only one aspect of her. Her blog/post, and the stuff she resteems are top notch. They make you think, make you see, that we all are important, that everyone has a voice.

I would urge everyone to go over to her page and click on some of her comments, just randomly pick 5 comments, read them, then you start to get an Idea of why I follow her. Humanity, wrapped in Humility, that lady is one tough act to follow.

Two awesome people to follow for sure. I'll add them to the book. Thanks for adding them.

very informative post @walkingkeys, well i love to read @crypoctopus articles because his articles contains so much knowledge about steemit and it's really beneficial for newbie and by reading his posts about minnows i really gained good knowledge to get started in steemit, thanks for sharing.

Great suggestion! I'll add him to the list of great people to follow in the book!!! Thank you.

I couldn't agree more with step two. You're doing so good with the thirty days series. Looking forward to see more.

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it. Yeah if we don't do number 2, then it isn't really authentic. Thank you.

You are working good for the giving information

Thanks, man. I appreciate it. I am running a little late with this post, but I got it in. lol Thanks for the support.

lol this is a great post, the gifs really make it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45