Day 10: Three Ways To Say Thank You (30 Days Of Steemit Success)

in #steemit7 years ago

When people do something nice... say thank you. Here are three of the best ways to say thank you on Steemit!

I have been delegated 1,000 SP to help new Steemonians find Steemit Success. Over the month of September I will be posting daily about different strategies, tips and tricks to help you become the best Steemoninan you can be. You can start at the beginning if you want.

30 Days Of Steemit Success

1. Look Through Who Voted On Your Post

When you are getting started, one of the very best ways to get new followers and to get the attention of higher ranked  Steemonians is to go through the people who voted on a post of yours and go thank them. 

Next to the vote count on your post you will see a drop down arrow. Click on that and see the people who voted on your post. Next click a name starting at the top. Then follow and read their latest post. Reply to their post and say thank you for voting on one of your recent posts.

2. Thank With A Follow

One thing that has really helped me is to follow all the people that reply to my posts. Well, almost all of them. People that say "follow me" or just, "nice post" I don't. But generally anyone that adds a comment that contributes to the conversation,

Following the people that engage with you is a good idea. These are people that already are familiar with you and your writing and they took the time to comment. They are the most likely to stay engaged with you. It is important to reply back to them and thank them with a follow.

3. Thank With A Vote

When you are starting out, you don't get a lot of curation rewards. One thing that really helped me when starting was voting on the people that replied to my comments. I try to read posts and I always read the posts of the people I follow first. I try and use my voting power to help the people that follow me and reply on my posts.

Don't be afraid to vote and vote often when you are starting. Give them to the people who are following you and replying to your comments and you will see people become more engaged with you content.  Thank them with a vote.

(all gifs from www.giphy.com)

Today's Question

What are some of the ways you thank people who support you on Steemit?

The best comments will be 100% upvoted and added to the eBook for 30 Days of Steemit Success.

Thank you for reading Day 10: Three Ways To Say Thank You.  This blog is part of a project that @dragosroua and @alexvan are supporting. I am deeply appreciative of their support for my project. The 30 Days of Steemit Success will be a series of blogs posted daily on Steemit to help new Steemonians. All of the blogs will be put together to create an eBook that will be available for download in October for all Steemonians for free.

To my followers, you are the cinnamon on my Steemit bun. (Don't make that dirty)

Sort:  

I try to always upvote a pertinent comment, and I try to respond to that comment. A vote is after all just a vote, I can go and upvote a lot of comments or blogs or post, but if I say nothing, what does the person think about that vote? I know I appreciate the vote, but I also think to myself, "it would have been nice if they said why they up-voted me". So I try to say why. I also (as a means to say thank you) try help people find similar content if they enjoyed my post, or comment.

I agree, it is always best to leave a comment. I sometimes vote for people that I follow, but don't always have time to read their post. I try to get back to them, but I forget sometimes. I do like it better when people leave comments, but I deeply appreciate the vote too.
Adding to book

Thank you for all the great articles you have written about steemit. I have learned so much!

my man! Welcome to Steemit, homie. You are more than welcome my friend.

When someone leaves a comment that shows me they actually read (and hopefully enjoyed) my content, I always reply to their comment with something that tries to extend the dialogue -- in other words, something beyond "Thanks for stopping by and reading," etc. Twice I also tried to point them to past content I thought might interest them. One link -- although I might consider two at the most -- because I know the past content on my own blog far better than anyone. (Plus it's a lot to expect people to mine down through the links for very long looking on their own. Time for everyone is so precious!)

Also, I'd only put a link in a reply on my own blog, never on someone else's. In a perfect world, putting a link in someone else's blog would be a legitimate way to "add to the conversation." To me though, it always looks like an attempt to hijack the commenter to the link-dropper's benefit. Someone well-known to the community might be accorded more latitude for than than a newcomer. I'd like to hear how others feel about this.

Sadly, I have to say this practice hasn't returned the results I was hoping for. IMO, Steemit doesn't make it easy for people to find replies to their comments -- and the replies I made to comments, both on my blog and on others, went so consistently and resolutely ignored, I got a little paranoid after a while. (I honestly began to wonder if I were somehow invisible ... or if I were violating some unwritten rule about replying to comments.) But to date, I have no indication anyone ever saw, let alone read (and certainly never acknowledged) what I wrote to them in reply.

In theory, it sounds like a great idea ... but in practice, YMMV.

Tw, G+ and even the dreaded FB make it much easier for a person to leave a quick word of thanks without having their motives questioned. But then there's also no incentive there for spamming the comments section.

Apart from replying to comments, I also do check out the person's blog, UV anything I find there worth having and resteem it if there's something really nice. (Also, that lets me find their post again on my own blog -- another issue Steemit needs to address!!) I acknowledge that none of this does them much good. My UV doesn't even register yet, even at 100%, because I'm so new. And I'm resteeming to less than 100 followers so far who don't even engage my content, let alone someone else's. So I feel pretty helpless when it comes to expressing gratitude, but that's about all there is -- or all I've found.

Again, I'd love to hear useful suggestions, because the issue of proper courtesy here does trouble me. So many people feel unseen and neglected. But that's what I've come up with so far ... and it sure doesn't feel like "enough." I hate to think how long it will take to grow my status enough to make a difference.

I'm not really as cranky as I sound in this comment. It's that your subject really hit a nerve tonight. I've read the posts and headlines of many people desparing over the lack of visibility and the grossly unbalanced relationship between effort and "reward" in many cases. I also know a moment of genuine appreciation can be an incredible morale-boost, and since I do spend time reading and I do find marvelous undervalued posts, I wish there were a way I could do more.

(I've given this matter some thought and my husband and I are working on our own project to "be the change we want to see in the world." We haven't launched it yet, but again, your subject rattled my cage tonight big time. Thank you for the chance to answer. Thank you especially for listening. And, oh, Dear Lord, @walkingkeys, thank you for doing this series!! Y'know, anyone else dubbing himself "the most interesting man on Steemit" might be considered anything from full of himself to downright delusional, but after some weeks of reading you and your antics, I must admit, you make your point. And the idea of cinnamon on your buns ... Mmmmmm!)

I upvoted your reply because it's a well thought out, and well expressed reply...

Hi, @randykrafft -- thank you very much for your kind words, etc. I cruised on over to your blog -- 'cause that's what I do -- and found your introduction. You have some interests that would make nice content. A lot of people, myself included, have started to agree with you about the need for self-sufficiency / self-sustainment. Your bee-keeping project sounds especially intriguing.

I understand why blogging efforts now wouldn't be real appealing, but I've put you on my Follow list in case that changes. The Steemit community is an curious collection. I'm glad you decided to check it out. I hope your interest continues.

No need to respond to this (especially since we're on somebody else's blog.) But thank you again for the encouragement. Have a lovely day.

I've been upvoting comments that add value and attempt to continue the dialogue on from the content in my posts. Also, gives me an opportunity to look at folks that I have not engaged with yet. Seems to be working and has introduced me to a wide variety of content and Steemians.

That is great! Thank you for sharing. I'll add to the book for sure.

I would follow, read the person's posts and certainly upvote and/or resteem if I think it is truly valuable to me.

Good stuff. Thank you for your input. I appreciate it.

Thank them by upvoting and resteem...upvoted

Thank you for the reply!

Exactly the way you wrote. Sometime I resteem too :)

Good call with the Resteem. Thanks for reading. you have a new follower. nice to meet you.

Thanks for becoming my 250th follower :) Nice to meet you too, @walkingkeys!

I believe that the best way to thank the people who support us on Steemit is to create quality articles and bring more value on the subjects we choose to develop.

I try to do all of the above!

Excellent strategies that work and make your time here a lot more fun and profitable.

I agree. Thanks for the reply and you have a new follower. Nice to meet you.

Appreciate the follow. I started following you about a week ago. Nice to meet you, too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43