More experiments with grain free breads – using the stove topsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipes7 years ago

The challenge was – to cook some grain free bread without an oven.

The experiment was – make up one of my usual batters and see if it would cook in the frying pan.

The question was – would it be like a flat bread or a pancake, a crepe or a pikelet, a wrap or a fritter?

grain-free-pancakes-0.jpg

This is for @jedau and anybody else who doesn’t have an oven, but who would like to try out breads that are not just gluten free, but also grain free and starch free.

So I started with my Grain free, dairy free Pumpkin & Cashew Bread recipe using pumpkin that had been baked in the oven.

The first experiment was to have another try at using the blender (see my Carrot Cashew Blender Bread) instead of the food processor. I can report that it didn’t work this time. I think because baked pumpkin is quite dry, and it needs a wetter mix to work in the blender. Boiled pumpkin would have worked, or half pumpkin and half yoghurt. Or even half something like coconut cream would have made it interesting and kept it dairy free.

But all was not lost. Into the food processor it went and it mixed up fine. Most of the mixture went into a loaf tin and into the oven and cooked up just like normal. But I reserved a few spoonfuls to try frying pan cooked flat breads.

Tip 1

Make sure the pan is very well oiled. You could also use a non stick frypan, but the coatings are not good for health, so I avoid them. A very well seasoned cast iron frying pan would be good, but still oil it well. I used a stainless steel one covered with coconut oil.

Tip 2

Have the pan at quite a low heat. It will take a while to cook through, and you don’t want the outside too dark. I set the temp to about 1/3 of the way round.

Tip 3

When you spoon in the mixture, don’t make it too big and smooth it out to as thin as you can get it. Not too big, so you can flip it. And as thin as possible so it cooks all the way through.

grain-free-pancakes-1.jpg

“How is this different to a pancake?” you may ask.

The process is just the same, except that you will probably need to cook it a bit longer on each side, maybe 3 to 5 minutes.

Like a regular pancake, you could top it with butter and syrup, but the aim is more for it to be a bread substitute and be topped with a sandwich filling.

How it’s different to a flour based pancake:

• There’s no gluten to help hold it together, so be careful flipping
• This mix was thicker, so the texture was more like a vegetable fritter. If you make a wetter mix, you could make a thinner flat bread.
• It was more nutrient dense, and so more satisfying – so you can’t eat a stack!

grain-free-pancakes-3.jpg

Was the experiment successful?

Cooked as a pancake / flatbread / fritter, it’s more fiddly to make, and it doesn’t come out as soft as the bread cooked as a loaf.

But yes, I did create a bread substitute that will work for someone who wants to avoid grains and starches, and who doesn’t have an oven.

Could it be improved?

Yes. Tweaking the components of the bread, choosing from the alternatives in my last post, will give different textures. Some will be better than this. But this is a starting point for myself, @jedau and anybody else who wants to try and create even better pan baked flat breads.

Thanks for reading and let me know if you try it out

Photos by myself.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Some of my previous RECIPES AND KITCHEN TIPS:

BREAKFASTS –
Choc Blackcurrant Smoothie
Feijoa Pear Smoothie
Cashew Porridge
Other Breakfast ideas
BREADS & BAKING -
Grain free, dairy free Pumpkin & Cashew Bread
Grain Free Banana Cashew muffins
Carrot Almond bread
Vegetable muffins
Grain free cheese muffins
Happy birthday to me! with birthday cake recipe…
Grain Free Apple Cashew Walnut Muffins
Carrot Cashew Blender Bread
SOUPS & DINNERS –
Warming winter soup
Paleo Cottage Pie
I judged the Steemit CulInary Challenge: Paleo
SNACKS & FINGER FOODS –
Healthy Chocolate & Fudge
Jerky with vegetables
Choco-mallow protein bars
Grain free Fruit & Nut bar
Finger food for a gathering
Real food ideas for snacks and road trips
FESTIVE –
Festive smoothies for Xmas morning ~
Orange Cranberry Xmas Breakfast Muffins ~
Crisp & crunchy Xmas cheese stars
Best ever (and easiest) Christmas cake
Xmas menu ideas
Planning your holiday eating to be a bit more balanced
Paleo Easter Buns (coconut-almond flours, gluten and starch free, lowish carb)
Even yummier Paleo Easter Buns
KITCHEN TIPS & MENUS –
Tip for storing ginger & tumeric ~
Equipment for the real food kitchen
For MORE RECIPES and my 15 step Whole Food cooking course, see my recipe website.

Sort:  

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

This comment has received a 0.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

they look nice - avocado might be nice on them

Yes, indeedy, if you can find a decent avocado that doesn't cost half your weekly wage, at this time of year ;-) What about some nice lamb mince?

this looks like something i would like to make. awaiting 1st round of pumpkins. does it matter which sort of pumpkin? some are softer and more wet, and some are already dry like a bread when baked.

The recipe is quite flexible. In my last post, I talked about different combinations of ingredients to make the bread, including other vegetables. With a wetter pumpkin, it might just take a bit longer to cook the whole loaf, or you might be able to make a thinner flatbread. So you should be able to make it work either way. If its a really dry pumpkin, I'd add something a bit more liquid and reduce the pumpkin a bit.

well i suggested the idea to my wife, and its already gone to adding melon as moisturer, and making a desert out of it lol . well se where it will end, but i really like the original stuff from your pic

Never thought of melon. But I've used banana or feijoa or apple and made muffin versions, from the same basic recipe, so it should work. You can see some recipes in the links at the bottom of the post.

Hi @kiwideb I've Written An Article About You Please Check it If You Can Thanks.

10 Best Food Bloggers To Follow On Steemit If You are a Foodie

https://steemit.com/food/@jzeek/10-best-food-bloggers-to-follow-on-steemit-if-you-are-a-foodie

Innovation right there :)

I like to innovate ;-) Thanks for stopping by and sorry to be so long replying.

welcome :)
Looking forward to upcoming innovations from you XD

@kiwideb

you are a master in your cookery...you simplified it for me..thanks for sharing this...

Thanks for your kind comment, and sorry to be a few days late replying!

ahh..not to worry..better late than never
seems so sweet ma'am as such, read up my short story on family versus office and mal and femae brin efficiency...hoping for your support and comments
thanks

This is good to see, as I am trying to avoid grains. Thanks for sharing.

Pretty much all my recipes are grain free. Watch out for coconut flour & carob apple muffins coming soon. :-)

Well that is good to know. I will keep an eye out for your posts. See if I get a chance to view your older ones too.

See links to the previous ones at the bottom of the post.

i don't have an oven but i have an airfryer. i think this could work.thanks

I don't know anything about airfryers. Let us know how it goes!

Hopefully, I can figure out to get to it. :-)

I would love to get back into cooking and baking, every time I come to one of your posts that's the thought I have :)

Yeah, cos you don't have enough to do already, lol.

Looks alot like omlette and I wonder what the taste feel like. Would you recommend the recipe for lunch or for dinner? This is something that I'll try.

Sorry to be so long replying. The nuts make it more solid than omelet, but there is a bit of an eggy taste. We would use it at lunch or even breakfast. Any time you would use bread or toast.

It looks so creamy and delicious!
How long did it take for you to do this?
If it is not too long I'll have a go at it

The prep doesn't take too long. If you make a loaf, it cooks for an hour to an hour 20, but the flatbreads you need to stand over at the stove.

@arckrai
good question however for me, i must give it a try...she did well by sharing this recipe...thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56