Grain free porridge or grits recipe (Paleo, GAPS, SCD, can be Dairy free)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

It’s winter in New Zealand, and we fancied some porridge for breakfast. So I dug out this recipe from the dark recesses of my kitchen diary… Suitable for most whole food diets.

cashew-porridge-top.jpg

The cashews (or other nuts) give this some texture but it’s the egg that thickens up it when cooked, rather like a custard. I experimented with using extra eggs this time, which is why it’s extra yellow. But it came out rather eggier than intended, so for the recipe here, I’ve gone back to the basic 2 eggs.

Basic recipe

• ½ cup (70gms) cashews (nuts such as almonds or macadamias should also work fine)
• 1½ cups water
• 2 pastured, free range eggs
• 2 Tbs coconut flour OR 4 Tbs collagen hydrolysate OR 4 Tbs arrowroot or other starch (to help thicken)
• 2 Tbs butter, ghee or coconut oil

cashew-porridge-1.jpg

I used a blender to mix it. If you don’t have a blender, use a food processor, or a stick blender. The texture might be a bit different but it should still work.

Blend ¼ cup cashews, ½ cup water, eggs, coconut flour or other thickener till smooth. Add the rest of the cashews and another ½ cup water and pulse a couple of times, till the cashews are mostly chopped up but still have some texture. Pour into a saucepan. Use the last ½ cup of water to rinse out the blender and add to pan. Mix all together. Cook over a medium heat till it starts to bubble. Then turn down the heat and continue cooking, stirring often, till thick. Stir through the butter, ghee or coconut oil and serve.

cashew-porridge-2.jpg

Variations

Before cooking, add your choice of:

• Flavourings such as cinnamon, mixed spice, vanilla, carob or stevia
• Dried fruit
• Fresh fruit eg finely chopped apple or pear, banana, berries
• Shredded coconut for extra texture

To serve, top with your choice of:

• A little natural sweetener such as honey, coconut sugar or maple syrup
• Chopped fresh fruit
• A dollop of Greek or coconut yoghurt, or a drizzle of cream or coconut cream

In the photo below, you can see one dish with no topping and one with some sprinkled cinnamon and some diced persimmon.
cashew-porridge-3.jpg

If you prefer savoury

• Serve Scots style with a sprinkling of salt
• Add a handful of grated cheese with the butter or ghee, for something a bit like cheesy grits

EDIT, 2 days later - today's version had mixed spice, vanilla, and apple, and was topped with yoghurt. I put the peeled, chunked apple in with the second lot of cashews so it got "pulsed" into small pieces.

Thanks for reading. Enjoy!

Photos by me. Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Some of my previous RECIPES AND KITCHEN TIPS:

Choc Blackcurrant Smoothie
Paleo Cottage Pie
Feijoa Pear Smoothie
Grain free, dairy free Pumpkin & Cashew Bread
Tip for storing ginger & tumeric
Grain Free Banana Cashew muffins
Warming winter soup
Breakfast ideas
Healthy Chocolate & Fudge
Jerky with vegetables
Choco-mallow protein bars
Equipment for the real food kitchen
Carrot Almond bread
Grain free Fruit & Nut bar
Vegetable muffins
Finger food for a gathering
Real food ideas for snacks and road trips
Grain free cheese muffins
Best ever (and easiest) Christmas cake
Orange Cranberry Xmas Breakfast Muffins
Festive smoothies for Xmas morning
Crisp & crunchy Xmas cheese stars
Xmas menu ideas
Planning your holiday eating to be a bit more balanced
I judged the Steemit Culinary Challenge: Paleo
Happy birthday to me! with birthday cake recipe…
Paleo Easter Buns (coconut-almond flours, gluten and starch free, lowish carb)
Even yummier Paleo Easter Buns
• For MORE RECIPES and my 15 step Whole Food cooking course, see my recipe website.

Sort:  

You never told me you started posting again! I used to check every several days, now I've missed a few! Well, I missed reading them, but not voting. The reason I checked right now is because I stopped my autovoting, so I'm going to all of my friend's pages and sticking posts up in the browser to vote on tomorrow. My voting power tanked today, I was running around like a giddy kid with the newfound money I could give people and whoops! Now I have to wait.
This recipe is awesome, so I have another reason to have it up in the browser ;)

All this $ is awesome isn't it? - I got carried away too and have rationed it down to 10% now

I thought about scaling down the percentage, but there are certain people I want to give the full benefit of my around thirteen-fourteen dollar vote! Or at least ten dollars of it...I'm going to have to do some experimenting, see how many full votes I can do in a day without dropping below 85%. I might have to start voting on a scale, which I'm trying not to look at as a downside, after all, even at fifty percent I'd be giving way more than I was before.

You have sprouted forth as a frolicking dolphin today.

And I am now a well fed goldfish

An awesome day on Steemit!

Sorry! I think it was while you were away. I started going mad with my upvote too, but realised before too long that it was dropping rapidly. So I'm voting at quite a low level for a few days to share it about and see how much I'm using up.

Lol, I just talked to Ian about this--see the comment under his on this post :) I'm actually refraining from voting all together just for tonight, though I'm making sure to keep track of the posts I want to upvote. But yeah, I am definitely going to have to figure out some kind of system-my vote when I'm at full power at 100% is around fourteen bucks!

Makes me hungry

I can vouch for this - it was delicious!

No kittens were harmed in the making of this recipe, and no kittens got to taste it either. We ate it all ourselves!

I've never quite known what porridge is. It's always been this food mentioned in stories like the Three Bears. lol. I do like coconut flour. I'm intrigued. I really love grits. If it is similar I'd probably like it.

Porridge is made from rolled oats. Grits are made from corn. So this doesn't really taste quite like either of them, but is a substitute for those who can't eat grains.

Looking yummy, there, @kiwideb. This is exactly like something I would make. Gotta try this one. :)

You don't eat eggs though, do you? You would probably need to thicken it with chia seeds. I haven't tried chia and cashew together, but there are probably heaps of recipes online.

I'm a BIG user of chia. It gels really well. Mashed banana is another egg substitute that is good in baking. An egg substitute can also be made by combining arrowroot and water to make a paste. I've got tons of options. :)

Keep me posted on how they turn out!

I will. :)

Beautiful, I shall give this a try.

Hiya - its been a while since we've chatted. Must go look at your blog and see what you decided job wise.

Looks really delish. I haven't had porridge for years. I'll have to get back on the bandwagon. You've brought back a few memories too. We had the same glass leaf bowls when I was growing up.

Aaaand the glass leaf bowls are still around, lol. Nothing like a warm breakfast in winter.

haha, yeh one of us would have been given them when we went flatting.

Ahh a fine recipe that I'm fortunate enough to do! You always make such great accessible meals, my friend! Perhaps I would try it tomorrow, seeing as I just opened a pack of macadamia nuts earlier :D Awesome sauce!

Let us know how the macadamia version works out. Being a slightly harder nut, the custard holding it together might be even more important. But I bet it tastes goooood. They are my favourite nut.

It was hard to puree! But yeah, it tasted great :D You might be right that the custard is the key. If only I saw this comment sooner, then I could've made adjustments there. It wasn't pretty to look at, so no photos, but it was very tasty. First time I tasted a nut-based porridge, and it definitely won't be the last.

nice post.......

followed, upvoted and resteem

Thanks for your comment.

Your welcome.......

Great way to get some sweetness in there with the bananas. Thanks for sharing

Yes, I always like to get my sweetness from fruit rather than added sweetener if possible. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58